We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just got back from our third annual February trip and stay at The Colonial Inn. As usual, we were not disappointed. In fact, this was the best trip yet! Stayed 2 nights is the new Wolf Suite (Room 205) and it was more than amazing. Room accomodations are wonderful. Just a short walk from the main inn, but have your own private "cottage" with private entrance. Entire suite was so fresh and so clean. The staff at The Colonial Inn sure know how to make a getaway perfect. Of course we will be back next year to try another room, but it's going to be hard to top the Wolf Suite!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had been to Smithville before, but just for the day. We had said we should come back and stay the night. We stayed this past Saturday night, just for one night. We arrived right around 3pm and were greeted by 2 very friendly women in the cafe. Check in was very easy. Then we went to check out our room (Barn 312) and put our things away. Right after that we walked back over to the cafe for the afternoon snack of cookies (chocolate chip shortbread - DELICIOUS) and coffee. It was just what we needed since it was freezing outside and snowing a little bit. We also filled out our card of our choices for breakfast the next morning. I think all the towne shops were open but the village was pretty deserted that day most likely because of the frigid temps. We relaxed in our room for awhile. We loved the room. Very cozy and private - it was around the back part of the barn with a little sitting area outside on the porch. I wish it was a little warmer so that we could have sat out there and enjoyed the beautiful view. But inside, our room was gorgeous. We loved the country decor, the built in daybed and the super comfortable bed, pillow & linens. Everything was very clean too. We ventured out later for dinner at Fred & Ethel's Tavern. We were very impressed with the food but the service was a little slow. Overall, we absolutely cannot wait to come back again. But book soon, they told us that just about every Friday and Saturday is booked for the rest of the year :( You might luck out and be able to get one in the off season though. We want to go back when it's a little warmer and we can enjoy the shops and the scenery.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, the barn is your only option. Choose 310, 311 or 312 if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristenJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Due to driving through a snowstorm, my friend and I arrived late and missed the 3PM serving of hot chocolate and cookies.Although most of the shops had closed early because of the weather, the innkeeper had suggestions for where we could dine, made phone calls to confirm hours and had even saved a delicious bag of cookies for us! We had a cozy room in The Barn - if you like antiques this is the setting for you! But don't be fooled - the bathroom is modern, there's a microwave and frig and 2 forms of heat (one a faux fireplace) so you are nice and toasty!
Once you park your car, you really don't have to move it again. Everything (shops and dining) is within walking distance; you are provided with a little map that allows you to plot your course for the next day, and a sweet Continental breakfast (with your choice of selections) is waiting for you in the morning. Holiday decorations, a lighted lake, and shopping discoveries (some stores offered freebees or discounts to Inn guests) made our stay a delight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a special that they offered and could not be any happier with the stay. Snow had begun before our arrival and with that in mind, the innkeeper suggested we stay in the main building instead of one of the exterior rooms which we booked. This made the experience better due to not having to face the weather to communicate or enjoy the afternoon beverage and cookies they offer free with a stay. The staff was very helpful in every respect. Being in the holiday time frame, it allowed for a beautiful view of the singing trees on the lake with the freshly
fallen snow. We shall return again!

Room Tip: Having seen many, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a night in the Inn in a room that faced the lake and the Christmas light display. It was the perfect getaway for us in the middle of the Christmas madness. We parked the car when we checked In and didn't move it until the next day. The room was nice and clean and the employees very nice and friendly. We shopped in the stores and everyone was very friendly and seemed happy for our business. We did a wine tasting with a really friendly saleswoman. And we ate a very nice dinner at the Smithville Inn that had a nice view of the lake. Walking around was just magical with all the lights and we fell asleep with the blinds open so that we could look at the trees on the lake. Bonus was the delicious basket with our breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stay at the Colonial Inn every year while driving down south for our summer vacation. Historic Smithville is a very quiet place with a relatively nice selection of restaurants. My two sons especially enjoy the carousel located at the center of the village and the little train going all around. Personnel at the Colonial Inn are welcoming and friendly, rooms are comfortable and very clean. For about the same price as a standard highway-side hotel, this place makes a much nicer place to stop for a one-nighter. It also makes a nice romantic getaway for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Colonial Inn at Smithville is a great place for a break from the crazy busy world. The Inn has so many great rooms and the village so many places to eat and shop. Thank you to the awesome staff for our great stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great Ours had a lake view but all are right in the Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
14.0 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
18.6 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
La Sammana Resort
La Sammana Resort
#1 of 4 in Brigantine
203 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
18,643 reviews
17.1 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range: $132 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing