We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Nearby Hotels
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rest Inn(Absecon)
$58
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$209
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
181
45
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
45
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnatlantic cityyogurtsteam showerbreakfast basketlight showmain buildingcute shopsunlimited coffeebed and breakfastsoaking tubr rchristmas treebeautiful roommemorial day weekendmini vacationenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 250 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Always wanted to go to Smithville, NJ & then when the Free B&B for veteran's opportunity came up we decided on The Colonial Inn Bed & Breakfast. This entire place was so adorable! My husband & I did an overnight on Sunday to Monday, We actually stayed in Room 308, @ The Barn, the room was clean, inviting, comfortable, and spacious! The décor was modern country. We will definitely be back. The surroundings were so sweet, & the grounds were very clean & once the shoppers left it was quite & peaceful. What an amazing history it has to offer, which I love, & all the shops, absolutely loved also. The breakfast in the morning was very basic, coffee or tea, a muffin & yogurt. We ate @ AJ's which was delicious, priced a bit on the high side but very good. Great weather, a great appearance & Tracey @ check-in was very nice, helpful & accommodating!

Room Tip: The rooms @ The Barn are new, not sure about the other rooms @ the main building, but definately recommend!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goakhurst68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family of four stayed here during the Hurricane Sandy evacuation - We are south Jersey locals who appreciated the warm cozy beds and cool 'americana' style decor after being through a wet & cold week. Our room had an electric fire place and three beds - but somehow never felt cramped - very open & large room. Breakfast is simple - but delicious corn bread muffin, yogurt and unlimited coffee...which hit the spot (just like the Colonial Inn). Thanks - this local has found his local getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelDudeAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went to Smithville for Irish Festival. What a wonderful experience. From our initial greeting at the Colonical Inn check-in, to our clean, and spacious rooms. We travelled with another couple, and had rooms 106 and 107, that share a common hallway so we could close the outside door and go between our rooms. Both rooms have doors that lead to outside decks. Coffee was served right outside our doors at 7am, and our breakfast baskets (choice of muffin or croisant; juice, and yougurt, was ready at 8am. The Inn is located in the back end of the Village. There is also a small restaurant past the merrygoround, that serves a good breakfast if the basket isn't enough. This was a great place for our central location, which we were doing all wineries in the area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If travelling with another couple, take rooms 106 and 107.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newjersey1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband bought me a gift certificate to the Colonial Inn and let me tell you, it is very popular. It is booked months in advance for weekends. That is why we decided to play hooky and stay for a night mid-week. Our reception at the desk was warm, but I felt like the woman was a machine--giving her canned hello, here's what you get, etc. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom, too. It had a steam shower, which fascinated my husband, and I enjoyed a warm bath in the deep tub. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard. I loved that the room looked over the lake. It was the Leeds Room. We were offered tea, coffee and shortbread when we arrived and had a croissant and muffin for breakfast. Our only problem? We wished we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at the Colonial Inn numerous times and each time is better than the next. The property is lovely, the rooms are beautiful, each with tasteful, quaint country themes, and the staff are welcoming and wonderful. We can't say enough about Tracy Walsh--not only is she professional, accomodating and helpful, she is truly a delight to deal with. She makes the process of booking rooms so easy! The last time we arrived we were exhausted, and Tracy made sure we had plenty of cookies and cool beverages to take with us to the room (customer service at its best). The shops on the property are really nice (crafts, clothes, jewelry, etc) and the grounds with the view of the lake are beautiful. Most important, the rooms are IMMACULATE. I truly have never been to such a clean property in my life, and the bathrooms (modern and gorgeous). I would highly recommend this Inn to everyone. Whether you choose a room in the main building, a room amongst the stores or in The Barn (we've stayed in them all), you can't go wrong,they are all so "comfy" (anytime of year). Enjoy your stay!!! Stacy & Joe B, Whitestone, NY

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy11357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Stacy and Joe,
Thank you for taking time to tell others about our Inn and well...thank you for the kind words about me:O). Welcoming people to Smithville is such a passion of mine! I hope that in some little way I can help our guest getaway be just a little bit better! It was so nice to hear that I made a difference. It's great to hear that Smithville is your getaway place for fun and relaxation, can't wait to see you again!
See you in the Village
Your friend at the Colonial Inn,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews