We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Place to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castine, ME
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We like this bed and breakfast because it is located in a quiet, quaint village. Our room was nicely furnished, very comfortable, and staff members went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook a small lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer2Castine_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
138
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We just celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary at the Colonial Inn in Smithville. Wow!!! We had a wonderful time during our 2 night stay. The staff was wonderful and very gracious. We felt like we never left home. We now call the Colonial Inn our home away from home. We visit Smithville a few times a year but never stayed over. We have already booked our room in December to see the light show. Can't Wait!! Looking forward to staying again next January for our 24th! Should have done this years ago :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Chris M,
Thank you for thinking of us when celebrating you 23 wedding anniversary! We love to be a part of peoples special memories. Our customers are very important to us and I'm glad that you could tell! Coming back in December to see the light show is a great idea, as you know the 120 Christmas trees made out of 50 thousand Christmas lights floating on lake Meone are truly spectacular to see. I just wish we didn't have to wait so long to see you again ;O). Thanks for taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Colonial Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family and friends stayed in 20 of the 24 rooms and suites in this lovely bed and breakfast last weekend for my daughters wedding at the Smithville Inn. The staff, from my first contact with them last June until the time I checked out yesterday were extremely helpful and attentive to every detail. Sherry at the front desk, and Tracy, the manager, helped me coordinate the room assignments, put welcome baskets in each room for me, and even set up a group breakfast for me in "The Barn". Every phone call I made to them was returned promptly and every request was attended to. My guests had nothing but glowing reports about their rooms and the service. The Colonial Inn is family owned and operated, and they take pride in providing their quests with top notch service. Thank you Colonial Inn for helping to make my daughter's wedding weekend a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have been going to Smithville for years and never considered staying at the Inn because we live only miles away. When my husband suggested a quick night away for just the two of us, I was right on top of that. I thought hard about where to go and looked up the Inn. After viewing the website and pics of the rooms I knew I found a place.

We stayed in room 201, The Johnson Suite and sweet it was. As you walk up to the suite there is a front porch with rocking chairs overlooking the Greene and shops. This is a two room suite with a fireplace in the sitting room and one in the bedroom. Inside the closet of the sitting room is a coffee pot (including coffee, mugs and sugar), microwave and fridge; excellent amenities to have.

The bedroom has a king bed and is sooooooo very comfortable. Both rooms were beautifully decorated.

The bathroom was huge and has a multi-spray shower with a separate tub for two. The bathroom is very large and again, beautifully decorated.

Included in the nightly rate is an afternoon snack, which we missed, and a breakfast basket with a nice choice muffins, croissants, coffee, juice and yogurt. Perfect to start your day of shopping.

As we were checking out I looked into the Carousel Room located in the main Inn on the lake. This room was also beautiful and with water views.

The staff we spoke with were so very nice and eager for us to enjoy our stay....and that we did!

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c02152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Colonial Inn last November for our anniversary.The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean and very cozy. We enjoyed the afternoon tea and cookies.They were very good.The breakfast basket of muffins and yogurt were perfect. We loved our stay so much, we are going back in a few weeks with out children and staying at the Barn. They will love the afternoon snack and enjoy all the shoppes.The staff was very helpful in finding a room that would suit our family! Can't wait !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Janice, we can't wait for you to return with your family! We have the hot chocolate and whip cream already to go with a side of cookies. :O) I am sure you are going to love the Barn, w took the same attention to detail and used the same luxurious linens and bedding. The garden filled grounds there are beautiful even in the winter. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed in room 204 and it was wonderful! Location was perfect. The room was great with plenty of space and a nice feature of a steam room/shower!! Continental breakfast was picked up in the lobby and brought back to the room...Location can't be beat!! Already booked for the Irish Festival next year!

Room Tip: Most rooms anywhere will be most centrally located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchero59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for booking for next year's Irish festival (glad you got it early). Next year the festival is going to be 2 days so you'll be kicking back and listening to music all weekend long. Thanks again for taking time to let everyone know you likes your stay. We'll have to sneak a treat in your room before your next stay to thank you:O)
Tracy, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Nice rooms, breakfast and a helpful friendly staff in the middle of the Smithville shops. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the water with comfy king size bed and a cute breakfast nook. Every detail seemed to be "just right'. The price was reasonable for the location and the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tompa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thanks for staying with us and I am so glad the quaintness of our village rejuvenated you! Remember any time you need a little stop and calm in your life we will be waiting here for you :)
Your friend at the Colonial Inn, Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
8.2 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 53 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 11,473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Property: The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing