We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little shops”

Historic Smithville and Village Greene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Quaint little shops”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were really pleasantly surprised when we went there on a Saturday night. The Christmas tree light and music show that plays continually on the lake was so neat to watch. Beautiful. The whole shopping village looks like something straight out of Currier and Ives. I had to keep telling myself that we were in New Jersey. What a magical experience that is sure to get anyone in the mood for Christmas. People were walking about, bundled up with their kids and walking their dogs, with holiday music piped from outdoor speakers throughout. There was a merry-go-round and a train ride for kids. The shops looked so fun and cute and interesting to go in and explore. They had the crafty, country, homemade feel to them. A really special place. We went back during the day to shop. There were so many things that were hard to resist. Of course, I bought a large wooden mantle clock from Mrs. Duff's Gift Shoppe and we enjoyed coffee and cookies inside the Smithville Bakery. We would love to return the next time we visit Atlantic City.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank naj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    127
    36
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Village!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lovely old fashioned village with little shops and restaurants set beside a small lake. Very pretty spot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willma44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fall visit to Smithville”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Smithville is one of our favorite places to visit in the area, at any time of year. In the summer it has the feel of a carnival atmosphere in the back section with the ice cream shops bustling with people and the train ride around the village. It has very old buildings from the 1800's that serve as shops of every kind. From Little Egg Harbor Soap company, to a cheese shop that you can sample before you buy , to sea shells, doggie bakery, candle shops, clothing, a Christmas store, a kitchen utensil store that has all kinds of sauces, dips, coffees to grind, pottery place, The Irish Store, antique stores, handbags, tarot card reader, a candy shop, lots of lawn ornaments of all kinds and for all seasons at a couple of the shops, little arcades for the kids, bakeries with awesome pastries, and on and on. It is beautiful at night when the lights come on. There is a bridge that crosses over a lake with ducks floating in the water. They have lights on the water too. There is the famous Smithville Inn that had a wedding reception going on and it has accommodations for everyone. There are several eateries, like Fred and Ethel's. We went with 3 teens and a baby and you can park you coach outside of any store without worry. There are also bed and breakfast places within Smithville. There is lots of parking in the area, but also across the street in front and on the side of Smithville. Well worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mommomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice little town”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This historic site is divided by two little shopping areas separated by the lake where paddle boats and remote controlled boats are entertainment. The two sides are slightly different where one side is like a maze of shops and the other side where the shops are much more neatly laid out.

There are restaurants by the lake, but the view of the lake is much nicer on the other side. See pic. There are many kids friendly activities such as train ride, which was out of service the day I was there.

The shops sell clothes, baked goods, pets products, sports merchandise, candles, crafts, antiques, wine, etc. The restroom, ladies room, looked like a little house blending in with the rest of the shops. It is decent but smelled bad.

My favorite things are the walk around the area and the chickens and ducks that are running loose. My little dog loved chasing the chickens.

The Smithville Inn is there and the garden in the back is pretty.

I highly recommend spending about 2-3 hours there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Irish festival and lots of fun!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My friend and I went to the Historic Smithville Village on Sunday (Columbus Day weekend). Several very good live bands were playing and lots of beer available to drink. The shops were fun to wander in and out of. I would definitely consider returning in the spring with my husband for a second visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Smithville and Village Greene also viewed

 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Historic Smithville and Village Greene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing