We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I've Stayed in in years!”
Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Short Hills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Bedford Hills, New York, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I've Stayed in in years!”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is an extraordinary hotel. I travel in the US every week and have stayed at all the major chains and this hotel surpasses them ALL. They are a step-above the pack in every category -- decor, service, food, ambience, amenities and staff. I am not a highly critical person, but I travel a lot and expect certain things - promptness of service, peace and quiet, an attractive room, a good shower, clean towels and good lighting the bathroom and decent food. This hotel is beautiful, with staff that is faster at every request. The rooms are more like your home than a hotel -- the chairs and bed are very comfortable. I'm glad I have a client in this part of NJ so I have reason to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephoneteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    322
    144
    82
    43
See reviews for
277
193
58
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Was here during a blizzard and the area was shut down. This hotel has old-style charm without a worn-out look. I think it would be a great place for a special occasion event. While the staff was harried trying to find anyway for anyone to get to the airport, they maintained their dignity, civility and helpfulness.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

As the owner of an event planning firm, 6 Degrees of Celebration, I recently planned a wedding for a client at the Hilton Short Hills in Short Hills, NJ. Thanks to their amazing staff, notably Catering Manager, Mary Vale, Maitre'D, Chris Shaprio and Chef, Kevin Felice, it was a wedding I am happy to say was as close to perfection as possible. My clients and their guests have not stopped raving about the food, service and stunning decor of this event. I would wholeheartedly recommend this venue to anyone planning a social or corporate function and would be pleased to discuss my specific experience with those of you who may have questions: jglenn@6degreesofcelebration.com .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberDubiny, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you for posting your review. I was delighted to read that your clients’ event was a wonderful experience. It is always a pleasure to hear that a fellow professional within the industry has positive feedback about our outstanding service, staff and property.

I also appreciate you recommending us to other clients and hope that we may have the pleasure of working with you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Amber Dubiny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My family and I live in South Orange, New Jersey, in which there are strangely no hotels available. Because of a minor fire combined with significant water damage that occurred at our condo building on June 18th, we were placed in this hotel by our insurance company (State Farm). We ended up staying there for a total of six weeks, so we intimately came to know the ins and outs of this particular hotel. As one might imagine, it's difficult enough to be away from home for such an extended period of time--especially with two young children in tow. But the entire staff at the Hilton Short Hills consistently made us feel welcome and valued, and they were always kind and lovely to us. We were also favorably impressed with the hotel's decor and cleanliness, as well as with the breakfast buffet, pool and hot tub facilities. It is also easy to understand why people regularly book their wedding receptions, company meetings and other large-scale events there. We had a completely wonderful, positive experience at the Hilton Short Hills, would certainly recommend it to anyone, and we look forward to staying there again sometime--hopefully for sheer pleasure reasons, though--no more disasters! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjatwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberDubiny, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you very much for posting your review. I am sorry that a house fire caused you to stay with us for 6 weeks but I am delighted to learn of your positive experience. Your wonderful feedback only depicts how dedicated our staff truly is on providing excellent guest service. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy every aspect of our hotel, especially when their visit is an extended one such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully on a leisure basis.

Kind regards,

Amber Dubiny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed here about 3 times this past summer, purely for weekend getaways and to enjoy their pool.

As has been said, the service has been great; almost the entire staff is very friendly, attentive, and ready to please their guests. It was very nice at our last visit to be welcomed back by the management.

As a GOLD, I have always been on the 5th or 6th floor (I believe there is an EL(?) on the 7th floor, maybe not) in a good king room. No upgrades to a suite, but on the last stay we were upgraded to a larger king room complete with sofa and mini-kitchenette. Rooms have a classic feel with lots of gold/brass fixtures and lamps, but do have LCD TVs (some HD channels). Beds are fine, if a little hard.

The outdoor pool area is great, relatively large, lots of lounge chairs, helpful and attentive pool attendants, and the weekend patio bar is great for drinks and snacks. Prices are about what one would expect at a property in Short Hills.

As a GOLD, we received complimentary continental b'fast on all occasions. You can upgrade to the hot breakfast for $5 per person, which is decent (both the price and the hot breakfast). Didn't really eat in the hotel otherwise.

While not the 5-diamond property of days past, still a nice suburban hotel, not far from NYC/EWR, and across the street from the high-end Short Hills mall.

If any complaints, they would be that the A/C is just tolerable, not very strong, and it takes a while for rooms to cool down. On our first trip, we had to switch rooms because the AC was so poor. The last 2 times, no problems, but still could be stronger.

On the weekends, self-parking is free (not sure about weekdays as the parking garage is shared with some office buildings nearby).

All in all, a highly recommended hotel.

PS. A sign next to the spa states that they plan to reopen in Oct 2010. I believe the spa has been closed since January 2010 or earlier.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLater01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review after staying with us numerous times over the summer. Its nice to hear such positive feedback from a regular guest.

I can confirm that the spa will re-open in late September and will be operated by the Hotel. I can also confirm that self parking is complimentary 7 days a week.

Again, thank you for the positive feedback and i look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here 1 night. Previous reviewers have described accurately the amenities so I won't duplicate what they said. Wwe were impressed with the service by the staff. Every person, from the front desk, concierge, housekeepers, pool staff, dining room staff, and a manager we shared an elevator with, was friendly and outgoing. This abundance of service made up for the rather expensive prices at the restaurant and bar. Parking in their garage was free though.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here for a week in a standard room. Good size with nice bathroom, plenty of hot water, Crabtree and Evelyn shampoo, gel, etc. Lovely soft towels and plenty of them, always had fresh towels whatever time we got back to the room. Usual mini bar, coffee maker, TV. Internet was pretty much standard price …….seems a bit poor to have to pay nowadays for wi-fi.
The beds are so comfortable with soft pillows, we slept like logs. The room had individual aircon which worked well and was needed as the hotel is so hot but it’s very drying and the vent was noisy so we couldn’t have this on at night. The room was located on the road side of the building but I heard no noise unless the window was open (for some fresh air).
The hotel is just opposite the Short Hills Mall which we found really handy for alternative eating venues.
The pool is tucked away in the basement/car park level. The hours chopped and changed during our stay and closed usually by 8pm which is a bit early particularly for a business hotel.
I found the staff very helpful and courteous, just about the right level for us, not in your face and over-friendly. Would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannabeAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you slept well and enjoyed the quietness of our rooms.

Regarding internet, we have a business center with free internet and we also do not charge Hilton Honor Gold & diamond guests as of 1st September.

Again, thank you for the positive feedback and i look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards

peter webster
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Short Hills
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Property: Hilton Short Hills
Address: 41 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Short Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel and has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey community of Millburn, this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options includes standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands; our 36 one bedroom suites provide residential-like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge, providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts. Enjoy the recently renovated dining room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the Eforea Spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel. If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space, the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision. Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing