We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hilton Hotels are becoming tiresome!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Short Hills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Hilton Hotels are becoming tiresome!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ok, yet another Hilton Hotel that have inexperienced reception staff and need a lesson in peoples skills.T
This hotel was booked by my company and confirmed that my company would pick up the bill 3 days before my arrival. On arrival the receptionist took my card and immediately took £6,400 of of my corporate card, she then looked at the confirmation she had from my company, AFTER debiting my account and realised she made a mistake.
I then got hold of my credit card company who informed me it would take 48 to process this and credit back to my account, because of the system that the Hilton have in place. I was there for 3 days and already a large amount had been debited from my card. The next day reception said they needed a fax confirmation, other than the confirmation they had already received from my company to re-confirm that the bill would be picked up by the company and until they receive that we had to leave our credit card details, even though they had already taking the full amount of £6,400, before we had even slept the first night at the hotel!!!!!!
The receptionist at this Hotel were completely inexperienced and caused no end of inconvenience to me and my colleagues, it took the entire 3 days for their finance and receptionist to try to fathom out what they were doing... wrong, I might add!!!
Other than that, the rest of the staff, waiters/waitresses/maids/bar staff/door man, were very accommodating.
Reception and Finance of this hotel need to clean up their act, they are letting down the rest of the hotel, which is such a shame, as Reception are the people that form the first impressions... and in this case it was very poor!!!
I stayed at the Hilton in Chicago and the receptionist there were poorly trained in people skills and now Shorthills in New Jersey... a pattern seems to be forming here!!!
I now have to return to New Jersey on a regular basis, but sadly, will not be using this hotel, to me first impressions really mean a great deal.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you commit to taking the room on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with our Front Desk during your stay and the service you received in response to the issue. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. We strive to provide each guest with an unforgettable experience, and we are so very sorry that we were unable to do this for you. We would like to take this opportunity to look into some of these issues further, in order to make improvements for future guests. Should you have a moment, please email me at Indriani.susanto@hilton.com with the confirmation number from your stay as well as your Tripadvisor username. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality accommodations you deserve should you return to the city in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    312
    142
    77
    41
See reviews for
267
191
57
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Hilton at Short Hills gave us an excellent vacation trip. The staff was always friendly and helpful from check in to check out. The food in the restaurant was well prepared and beautifully presented. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We loved the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Claretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, and for choosing to spend family vacation with us. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience! We hope to welcome you back for future special occasions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel has had a beautiful renovation to the lobby level. The staff is consistently outstanding and dedicated to customer service. The Fitness Center is well equipped and it being open 24 hours is a real plus. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and very upscale. The executive lounge has wonderful service and offers delicious appetizers and desserts and a good continental breakfast. I have stayed here many times over the last 9 years and intend to come back several times a year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience and certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Short Hills again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Hilton in Short Hills, NJ. The hotel, lobby, rooms, and bar were awesome! (We didn't try the spa yet). The staff were very friendly, courteous and went above and beyond to help and accommodate us with everything and anything. The outdoor pool was glamorous! We spent many hours at the pool, and met lots of awesome people there too. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback from your most recent stay. I was delighted to read that you were well looked after by our team. Next time please make sure you make an appointment for our beautiful eforea spa. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This Hilton, located directly across from the spectacular Short Hills Mall, has more going for it than just its location. It is a very comfortable hotel with a gracious and helpful staff. The breakfast buffet, which was included as part of our package, was awesome. I was, however, disappointed with the executive lounge as its hours of operation were limited and the food offerings were meager and quickly consumed by the crowd of people who were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuttyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback from your most recent stay. You are correct we do have limited hours for Exectuive Lounge. I am sorry that some of our policies were not to your liking and apologize for any dissatisfaction this caused. We value your feedback, and hope that this did not mar your entire stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The quality of service has gone down hill to a point of being un-professional. The pool area did not have enough seating, no separate outdoor area to have lunch, insufficient # of staff, and the staff that was there was not experienced and not professional. The rooms did not have sufficient HVAC Empty room service dishes lingered outside doors for what seemed all day No firm pillows. I could have stayed in a Hampton Inn and have had better service and facility

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whenever we have some free time we head over to the Short Hills Hilton. The hotel is 5 star. The outdoor and indoor pools are great. The best brunch in New Jersey. The surrounding towns are lovely with fine restaurants. The only hotel we stay in in New Jersey

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ssuds3121054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indriani S, Sales Coordinator at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guests' feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Short Hills
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Property: Hilton Short Hills
Address: 41 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Short Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel and has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey community of Millburn, this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options includes standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands; our 36 one bedroom suites provide residential-like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge, providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts. Enjoy the recently renovated dining room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the Eforea Spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel. If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space, the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision. Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing