We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Place of Elegance, Luxury , and Superior Service !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Short Hills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Nutley NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Place of Elegance, Luxury , and Superior Service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I try to stay at the Hilton in Short Hills New Jersey at least 3-4 times per year if for just a relaxing weekend. The Hotel is the very best in New Jersey with no doubt. The staff is excellent. The Hotel
is maintained meticulously! The service and staff cannot do enough for you. They are all pleasant and friendly . The food is excellent. They serve a wonderful complimentary cold buffet in the evening and a wonderful Breakfast in the morning. The 2 Pools and Jacuzzi are clean and the water comfortable. There is a small but sufficiently equipped fitness center! All salon services are available. The price is more than reasonable for what one receives. I strongly recommend the Hilton to anyone. The Rooms are well maintained and immaculate! For a vacation, or a short getaway it is the best! The location is perfect as everything is within driving distance such as Morris Township , NYC, Jersey City, etc. The Short Hills Mall is across the Highway if one wants to shop or browse.
You owe it to yourself to spend time in this elegant wonderful Hotel!
Stephen G Nutley NJ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Stephen -

Thank you for your feedback! If you think it is great now, wait until March when we reopen the Dining Room after a million dollar renovation.

Hope to see you back soon.

Thank you -
Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    292
    133
    70
    35
See reviews for
244
183
52
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was entirely pleased with the quality of service and services provided by this hotel. I had previously visited for a business event, which made the hotel seem dreary in the middle of Northern New Jersey.

This time, I was there for a family event and couldn't have been more satisfied. The rooms are very carefully appointed, and don't feel as dated as the hotel exterior might suggest they are. Service and attention to detail were also very good. The only negatives were spotty wi-fi and proximity only to the Short Hills Mall.

There are no city views, and you can't go downstairs and instantly find yourself at a coffee shop in SoHo. But if you find yourself in Short Hills for the weekend, definitely check out this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us! I will share your feedback with the wifi situation with our IT team.

Thank you!

Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Short Hills for the New Year. I was very happy with my stay and the staff. Everyone greeted us with a hello and a smile. This Hotel was clean and close to NYC. The drive to Manhattan is about 20-30 mins without traffic and I was near two malls, Livingston and The Mall at Short Hills. The hotel is across the street from the Mall at Short Hills. The Mall at Short Hills is a high-end mall with boutique and high-end stores like Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Tiffany’s, Montblanc, and stores of that level. Before I booked this hotel, I read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Some reviewers said the prices for the food at the hotel were high; I agree. Even though the items on the menu sounded mouth watering, the hotel’s dinning services is not one’s only option. There is Cheese Cake Factory and Legal Sea food across the street at the mall and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the mall. I did not use the shuttle because I had a car. Due to the hotel’s location one will need a car to get to the hotel and get around. The views from the hotel are of an office building, the mall and NJ woodlands. There isn’t much to do around the hotel. This hotel is best suited for the corporate business traveler but again, close enough to NYC to allow the option of going into the city without having city life and noise outside the hotel doors. For a few additional dollars, the hotel offers valet parking as well as free parking. I saw the spa and the pool. I didn’t use either but the personnel at the spa were very friendly when I walked in asking about their services and directions to the pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and in the conference rooms but not in hotel rooms. There is a $9.99 charge for Wi-Fi in the hotel rooms.

As another reviewer said, the walls are thin. I was able to hear my neighbors’ TV, but this was not a future deal breaker. This hotel is great for the corporate business traveler but if one uses their imitation, the hotel’s location, spa and pool is a good landing spot for relaxation after a stressful week or weekend getaway with high-end shopping and a NYC option. Turnoff work mode, shop, party in the city then rest and recuperate at the Hilton in Short Hills.

In the end, the rates were reasonable for its location. In the past I’ve paid more for less service and quality. I travel to New Jersey often and I plan to stay at the Hilton in Short Hills again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gee009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! I am pleased that you had such a great experience and were able to enjoy some of the areas amenities and attractions.

All the best!

Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a Hilton Diamond and I have just returned from a long weekend at the property. The staff were friendly, helpful and competent.

Unfortunately, the place delivers EXACTLY what you pay for. I checked in Friday. I had reserved a Jr Suite. I requested an upgrade -- none were available. Okay, fair. I then mentioned that we were looking forward to enjoying the HHonors Lounge. I was told it was "closed." Had I known this I would have gone to another property. I told the clerk this and she apologized and asked "wasn't that lounge closure on the website?" No. As a matter of fact it was not. Later I asked for a late check-out for 4pm. "Sorry. That is not possible." If you hold status with Hilton, DO GO elsewhere!

Also, we noticed that there was a white-ish drip on the headboard of the bed. Gross!

No plans to return anytime soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerAround23666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed that we did not deliver what you expected while staying with our hotel. I would like to discuss your situtation further so I can fully understand your experience and review with our team. Please reach out to me at your convenience at paul.holden@hilton.com.

Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stay here when visiting friends in Summit, NJ. It's a great location. The staff is always kind and efficient. There is a nice shopping center across the street. Free parking, fitness center and pool are a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnerny2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for this positive feedback, we hope to see you back a the hotel soon! Enjoy the remainder of your holidays.

Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Though my son was getting married at a nearby synagogue, I felt like I was away on vacation at this five star hotel, which we used as the base for 200 overnight guests. Hands down, everyone enjoyed an excellent rehearsal dinner buffet in the beautiful completely new Mendham Room, situated right next to a fun bar and then breakfast in the stunning Salons B & C. We weren't the only wedding party in the hotel as the staff was handling another full wedding, including the wedding service and Saturday night dinner. Everyone of the guests that I spoke to raved about the hotel service, food, amenities, spa and trolley transportation to and from the synagogue. The bridal suite on the executive level is huge and amazing! We started planning a year earlier with catering manager Lauren Rabinowitz and Christopher Shapiro; Rooms Reservation Managers Lauren Maddox and Emily Wassick. You couldn't ask for a more attentive, caring group of wedding planners. The Short Hills Mall across the street within walking distance of the hotel is a bonus added, with excellent shopping at boutique and high end stores.

Room Tip: A couple of people expressed concerns about the heating system with some rooms being too warm. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Junket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Short Hills for this special event. I can't wait to thank my team for the amazing experience they created for you and your family!

Such positive feedback will be celebrated!

Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

When I was younger I remember this being quite an amazing place. My grandparents live about 30 minutes away so we would come here sometimes. It seems as though the staff still thinks that this place is as elegant and high-end as it used to be, and they have the attitudes and superficiality that comes with that.
The nightly rate was very high both times I stayed this year (over $280) and there wasn't anything to show for it. Check in was bland and they don't follow the Hilton Honors program. The bellmen were too busy talking to themselves to acknowledge me and the girl at the desk never made eye contact with me either, very unpleasant. No genuine welcome or care existed. How can you work at a hotel and not have a personality?
The rooms were old and dingy..had a stale smell and the decor was very worn down. The room wasn't that clean, you can tell the housekeeping team rushed through. Either the walls are thin or the housekeeping staff is just that inconsiderate, or possibly both are true. The staff loved to yell down the halls to each other in different languages. Again, rude.
One time I had an issue with my room and called down to the operator one morning. She mumbled something into the phone and clearly didn't listen to me when I spoke to her. Was I interrupting her from something? I got a fake "sorry" and no real solution. Again, no care or genuine concern.. for $280+ a night. Rudeness everywhere!
I had the misfortune of meeting some of the managers on a few occasions and it explains quite a bit. The two men I spoke to in the lobby lacked a lot. The tone of their voice was very superficial. It's as if they memorized a script and didn't really care about the person they were actually talking to. It's quite offensive to be spoken to in such a condescending way. It makes sense that the staff is so awful when the management is even worse. How do these people keep their jobs?
I didn't eat here or use the spa, so I can't comment. I heard the spa was beautiful so it may be worth a look. Nothing else is worth your time. The management here have a very superficial attitude and there is clearly no true and genuine passion for their jobs and their hotel guests. That attitude is quite evident in the staff as well, except they didn't memorize a fake script, they just don't care.
Maybe as a consultant, I am quite harsh in this review, but professionally I would consider this management ineffective. There were a few "diamonds in the rough" that work there, but the other staff are so bad that it doesn't even matter. This place absolutely suffers from delusions of grandeur. I hope one day it earns a return to the great status it once had.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lot of suites to spare. Always ask for an upgrade before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the stay with you personally so that we might make adjustments to our services to better meet and exceed the needs of our guests in the future. We look forward to speaking with you and hope to have another chance at show you the quality experience you look for should you return to the area in the future.

Speak with you soon,
Paul Holden
Director of Sales & Marketing
973-912-7959
paul.holden@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Short Hills
1.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
17.7 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Property: Hilton Short Hills
Address: 41 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Short Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel and has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey community of Millburn, this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options includes standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands; our 36 one bedroom suites provide residential-like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge, providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts. Enjoy the recently renovated dining room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the Eforea Spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel. If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space, the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision. Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing