We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Like Hilton”
Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Short Hills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hyatt Like Hilton”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent two nights at this property with family for a wedding - very impressive. Walking into the lobby there is the feel of a more upscale property. Cookies and flavored water available in the lobby as well as coffee and tea in the morning. Rooms are large, comfortable with very nice bathrooms. Suites on the concierge floor are HUGE. There is a lovely indoor pool attached to their spa which is promoted to the locals - kids may only use the pool from 7-9am in order to maintain a sense of serenity. There is an outdoor pool for the summer season. The fitness center is much more than just a room - multiple machines, tv's etc. The service is probably what impressed me the most and lends an air of Hyattness to this Hilton. Finally, for shoppers, the Short Hills Mall, (very upscale with Bloomies, Saks, etc.), is right actross the street. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade ( you may get a suite!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for a such a wonderful review! It is so nice to read that you were able to take advantage of so many of our amenities. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    333
    146
    83
    45
See reviews for
287
194
60
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel with lovely rooms. Good bar with selection of sports showing, great food. Service in the bar was awful - waitress couldn't remember drinks orders, got them wrong regularly and took forever with any drinks (even coke so they weren't challenging). Wasn't too busy so just bad staff.
The food when it arrived was great for the price.
Reception area mobbed in the mornings due to the many conferences that take place here, just a bit disconcerting when you aren't expecting it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay overall, however I am very concerned regarding the service levels you received in the bar. As you can imagine, that is not the level of service that we expect of our staff. I will be sharing this review with the entire server staff during our training sessions. However, if you would like to contact me at the hotel to discuss further, simply call the main line and ask for me by name. I do hope that this experience has not marred your impression of our service and I hope to have you stay with us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed there for a wedding a short time ago and had a great experience. The room was excellent and the staff was great, arranging adjoining rooms for family, having portable cribs ready for the children, and delivering/picking up room service very quickly. There was a small issue with our A/C unit which was fixed promptly with a free movie offered. They were also great with directions, food recommendations, and parking assistance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review! I am glad that our staff made your weekend away an enjoyable one. I hope that you think of us again for your next trip to NJ and we see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My father was visiting the area from the midwest and requested a hotel so I thought the Short Hills Hilton would be a suitable spot for him. We were greeted by a Miss Rodelean Medeus upon entry and she was a world of help from the start. She was upbeat, personable, and completely patient with all of my father's questions. She escorted us to his room, clearly identified all the amenities that the hotel offers, and reassured me that he'd be in good hands while at the Hilton. I really do wish that all customer service professionals brought the type of dedication she displayed. 5 stars for Ms. Medeus and the hotel team that she works with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback from your recent stay. I was delighted to read that your father was well looked after by Ms. Medeus, I will be sure to share this review with our entire staff! It is so nice to hear from guests such as yourself, as we value your feedback tremendously.
We look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

In this day of hyperbole and self-promotion, my husband and I could not have been happier when we celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary at Hilton Short Hills and found that it lived up to its description -- a luxury resort/spa.
The hotel is beautiful and well-kept, the staff and management eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible, and our room with its great bedding, beautiful woodland view and lovely furniture was everything we hoped to encounter.
Because I'm very sensitive to cleaning agents, my husband called several times before our arrival to assure an allergen-free cleaning, and was always treated with professionalism and concern by the front desk. Heather and Richard were just wonderful, and were able to upgrade us to a magnificent suite which was sparkling clean with no hint
of any chemical smell. At check-in we also met Front Office Manager Joshua Heffler, who along with Heather and Richard was available throughout our stay, and who went above and beyond for any question or request we had.

Our beautiful suite opened into an entry area leading to a spacious living room. Even the flat-screen TVs were framed by lovely wood paneling! Double French doors with paned windows and curtains led the way into the large master bedroom and bathroom. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and outfitted with higher-end linens.
Although we did not get a chance to use the lovely Eforea Spa, indoor pool or fitness center, we were treated to a tour by Eddy who patiently explained everything and paved the way for our next visit.
The business center had everything I was looking for and provided a quiet well-maintained atmosphere.
The weekend far exceeded expectations, thanks to the amazing and friendly staff such as Tori and Odette, our great hostesses in the Executive Floor lounge, who made us feel so at home during evening appetizers and dessert, and the next morning a continental breakfast with fresh fruit and juices, croissants, cereal, toast, coffee, and hot chocolate....something for everyone. Very Clean, very classy!
At The Dining Room, Kisha gave us the tour of Sunday Brunch, which we'll certainly book next time, and Keshia sent us upstairs with a tray of coffee and fruit after the 7th Floor lounge closed at Noon.
We're so looking forward to returning in a few weeks for my husband's birthday weekend, and to making Hilton Short Hills our permanent weekend getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback from your most recent stay. I was delighted to read that you were well looked after by our team and that you were able to suitably celebrate and relax. It is so nice to hear from loyal guest such as yourselves, as we value your feedback tremendously.

I am glad that you have such great memories from this past stay and look forward to welcoming you both back in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I go to the Hilton specifically for the eforea spa. The spa has decidedly declined in quality. Both the indoor and the outdoor pools have filthy tile; the towels do not smell clean; the poolside food is inedible and the indoor showers are often unclean. I will not rejoin the spa after this year since my complaints go unanswered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the eforea spa, we appreciate all our members' feedback. First of all allow me to apologize for the issues that you have encountered with the cleanliness of the health club facilities. I assure you, I have since addressed this with the staff members responsible, as that is not the level of service we expect from them. We have just recently had our pools closed for maintenance and the jacuzzi is actually undergoing re-tiling as we speak. We hope that you get to enjoy the improvements we are making in our pool area and decide to renew with us next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was amazing. So professional and so friendly. The room is pretty large and comfortable. We are a party of three rooms and no complaints from anyone regarding comfort or cleanliness. There is a large lounge/bar area in the lobby area that has tv's and a bar and lots of seating if you want tojust relax. They also serve light food in there. And best of all, the Short Hills mall is across the street...very tempting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Short Hills
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
470 reviews
17.8 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
514 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Property: Hilton Short Hills
Address: 41 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Short Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel and has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey community of Millburn, this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options includes standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands; our 36 one bedroom suites provide residential-like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge, providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts. Enjoy the recently renovated dining room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the Eforea Spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel. If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space, the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision. Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing