We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!”
Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Short Hills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stayed in December 2007 for business and all charges were to go to the company I was consulting for. As usual I left a card imprint for incidentals and when I checked out I was reassured that there were no charges. To my surprise a small charge was billed to my card (about $7) the next month and although I had no idea why, it was easiest to pay. A bigger surprise was a month later when $300 was charged to my card for a "stay" in January 2008 even though I had only been there once in 2007. I called the property and they refused to help me. I wrote directly to the Hilton and finally the Front Office Manager, Mr Pisapia, contacted me but suggested that I was lying. Finally after collecting and sending all of the records the hotel agreed there was an error and someday the charges will be reversed (not as of Feb 2008 yet).

This property is very nice, the rooms clean and comfortable, however the front desk is snotty and apparently dishonest.

  • Liked — The property was very nice
  • Disliked — The attitude of the manager and concern for dishonest billling
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BKR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    322
    144
    82
    43
See reviews for
277
193
58
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stayed here for our niece's wedding. We had adjoining rooms, with us in one and the kids in the other. The rooms were lovely. The food was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — The total luxury.
  • Disliked — the rug between the two rooms needed repair.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank plumbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Yes, the hotel is a bit pricey, but for the area, it's a typical rate. Everything in Short Hills is expensive, mall, houses, food. heck even Starbucks charges more for their coffee. The restaurant isn't cheap but the food is prepared by 5-star chefs. The amenities especially the spa are among the best in the state. If you are lookig for an inexpensive place to stay, try some of the hotels on Route 10 in East Hanover (a few miles away). This hotel is if you want to pamper yourself or naturally someone else (like your employer) is footing the bill. All in all it's a great place to stay and I recommend it.

  • Liked — Accomodations and food
  • Disliked — The heat / AC isn't working too well
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicken_Carbonara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed there from Oct 18 through 22 (four nights). We needed to be near Livingston, NJ and this was the closest best hotel. The location was good for our purposes. It is a little too far with traffic congestion, etc. if you plan on going into Manhattan a lot - 45 minutes without traffic to midtown. Cab fares are out of sight - just under $100 each way. Cheaper to rent a car, but then the parking in Manhattan is cost prohibitive and the traffic.....

The hotel was great. We stayed on one of the tower floors (6 and 7). Highly recommend it. They have 32" flat panel TVs and access to the club room which provides a good continental breakfast, beverages, etc. and good hors deuvres from 5:30pm and desserts from 8pm on. On Sundays, the hotel has a very expensive brunch ($50/pp) and the extra food is available in the club room starting at 5:30pm. No need to go to dinner that night. We canceled our plans to go back into Manhattan. All this is included in the price of the room, which is a little higher than the other rooms, but worth it.

The room was very clean, new, beautiful carpet, furniture, etc. The bathroom was spacious, granite, etc. Very comfortable bed. That was one of the main reasons we picked this hotel from reading other reviews on this website. The service is excellent. Only problem we had was asking for a wakeup call for the first morning that never called us. Good thing we also set the alarm clock which was in the room already.

The Terrace Restaurant in the hotel can be excellent or so so and the same with the service. It is spotty, but convenient. The first night I had the salmon entree and it was great. The next night I had the halibut entree and it was awful. My husband ordered different entrees and again the first night was great and the second was bad.

Another plus is the Mall which is across the street sort of. The hotel offers a free drive back and forth in a limo. It is a beautiful mall.

All said, we would stay there again. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, mall across the street
  • Disliked — wakeup call reliability
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I was lucky enough to be staying on a company expense account, so can't really comment about value for money. However, the hotel is very luxurious in a traditional way. The restaurant is very good with a great selection of wines and the Spa and Gym facilities are second to none.

The interior is a bit overblown and flouncy but everything is clean and sparkling.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank traffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2007

We have family nearby and this is really the only decent hotel in the area. It is somwhat pricey especially since you wouldn't stay here for the amenities. It is clean, comfortable and pleasant.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, look of the hotel, comfort
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank islandtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

I stayed at this hotel earlier this week in room 214. It's a nice hotel with some expensive touches. I wasn't blown away by this place, but it is probably the nicest Hilton I've stayed at - except for the fact that my room was cold and I could not adjust the heat (I think that the HVAC was not working properly and, admitedly, it's partially my fault because I never said anything - just didn't want to deal with it). The food is very overpriced - many of the entrees do not come with sides -- you can get ala carte mashed potatoes for SIX DOLLARS though!! I found the employees courteous and helpfu, not at all rude. There are plasma TVs in the rooms, which might have been impressive a few years ago, but not so much now. The hotel is a little hard bit to find. There is a VERY nice, VERY upscale mall across the street with practically every store you could imagine. Bottom line, I had a few problems during my stay, but I'd stay here again (if I'm not paying for it) if I'm in the area.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Short Hills
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Property: Hilton Short Hills
Address: 41 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Short Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel and has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey community of Millburn, this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options includes standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands; our 36 one bedroom suites provide residential-like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge, providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts. Enjoy the recently renovated dining room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the Eforea Spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel. If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space, the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision. Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing