We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMMY, FRIENDLY, LOVELY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Box Cafe

Sand Box Cafe
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUMMY, FRIENDLY, LOVELY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family spent the last week of August in LBI and visited The Sandbox for breakfast three times. The wait was worth it each time. On our first visit I ordered a 'small' pancake that was so big I couldn't finish. On the next two visits, I had the stuffed french toast and it was fabulous.
Vinny, the owner, was gracious and accomodating. His wife Dana checked on us when we finished our meal. And the entire waitstaff was incredibly friendly and charming and cute. My only regret is taking a vacation so late in the season as we have to wait until next Summer to visit The Sandbox again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    31
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westampton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The wonderful owners of this little gem have a great team and fantastic original food. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment and we will tell all our family and friends to stop in this place on their visit here! Outdoor intimate eating in a very fun environment. Get there by 8 as it is a very popular place and the wait can get long, also is cash only.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mustached Manager Lacks Manners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

The manager/owner (mustached man) at the door was extremely rude and does not know how to deal with patrons. We tried to get on the breakfast list at 11:10 AM when apparently they switch the kitchen over to lunch at noon. Although there was only one party of four waiting that got there a millisecond prior to us, he refused to seat us. There were tables getting up, so we inquired further into his logic. There was no logic there. Although we were looking forward to trying this place, I would never give my business to a place managed/owned by such an ill-mannered individual.

Helpful?
12 Thank PapiChulo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
photodogVinny, Owner at Sand Box Cafe, responded to this review, August 7, 2015
PapiChulo10. You were told there would be at least 1/2 hour wait until a table became available. We do not sit breakfast past 11:30am which is what I explained to you. BTW your party arrived at 11:25 when I sat our last breakfast table. There were no tables getting up when you arrived. You became very agitated and left in a huff. I was not ill mannered. You were clearly angered because you arrived too late to be seated for breakfast. My advise if you want fast food all day, go to a local diner where you can sit anytime of day or night for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad: Fresh, not Frozen Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Really good waffles, pancakes and French toast! I was very disappointed with my omelet however. Frozen spinach and mushrooms ruined it for me.

Also, I ordered the chicken Caesar wrap for lunch earlier in the week and they used the chicken-steak-um type chicken rather than real sliced chicken breast. Another disappointment.


  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kns3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast in a key west atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Try the pancake sizzlers,tor the crepes or stuffed french toast these are superb. If you tend to want more savory for breakfast the parm eggs are a must...go early, bring cash and enjoy...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauthehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Cafe also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Surf City, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Surf City, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Sand Box Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing