We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

If you're on the fence about which room to book - don't be! Take the ocean front! The view from the room makes worth the price. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. Nothing special about the room - but it was very clean and comfortable. Being able to walk out right on the beach was the best part- especially with a 4 year old! Oh yes, and hearing the ocean at night.....what's better than that?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

my husband and I stay in a lot of B&B's. We used to be Bed and Breakfast people, but since saying at the Drifting Sands, we have changed our minds about motels especially this one. We had the ocean front suite, the room was immaculate, no musty smell. The service was fantastic. The view was amazing from the jacuzzi and from the bed. For all of you ladies, there are ledges in the shower to shave your legs. The best of all, everything was brand new.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank activenewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, DE
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 3-day weekend at the Drifting Sands Motel. We stayed in the "cheaper" rooms ($120 a night). It was the building behind the CVS. The room was very small. Tiny TV with cable. Limited lighting in the room. The bathroom was old and musty. And, the towels were pretty old.

However, it was good enough. The beach was wonderful. Very clean and easily accessible. You can rent chairs and umbrellas for $5.00 a day. Long Beach Island is still wonderful.

I probably would not go back, however, I'm not trashing the hotel. It was good enough.

  • Liked — The beach location
  • Disliked — Old, musty room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peenie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I booked the 2nd floor ocean front room solely based on the pictures on their website. The room was as pictured , spacious , VERY clean , and wonderful ocean front views from the room and private deck..Each room had it's own designated parking spot , A plus I appreciated.The three day midweek package , book two get one free , made price very reasonable for ocean front room . Housekeeping did an excellent job . Bathrooms were exceptionally clean . Only detractor was moldy looking caulk around bathtub. Towels ,sheets and bedding were fresh , no stale hotel smell . I can't speak for the rest of the buildings at the hotel, but the ocean front building fit all my vacation needs. Only thing lacking was a pool .

  • Liked — Ocean Front rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We just returned from our third stay at the Drifting Sands and it is by far the best motel I've stayed at on Long Beach Island. There does seem to be a significant difference depending on what room and building you book so do yourself a favor and pay a little more for a room in the ocean view or ocean front building. Both are newer buildings and have spacious, clean rooms with balconies and views of the ocean. The other two buildings, while cheaper and recently renovated, face parking lots and you can tell just by looking at them that they are musty inside. Not that there's anything wrong with that. I've stayed at plenty of musty motels on the Jersey Shore.

I would also highly recommend eating at Ship Bottom Shellfish down the street as well as visiting Lex Mex...we call in an order when we're on 72 and it's ready just as we pull in to the motel parking lot. Good stuff. We'll be back in late September when the weather's still nice and the crowds are gone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank err5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

We decided to return to the Drift Hotel after a great weekend during 2003.
This time we were located in to wthat is apparently a recently renovated location (behind CVS) that do not have the same quality and confort that the other rooms.

Rooms are older, you can see how the woodpanels were painted, the carpet replaced and the bathroom refaced (cheap renovation).

Room was clean however and definitly these rooms are overpriced.

  • Liked — Close location to beach
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank germanromero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Drifitng Sands is located in an ideal spot.....just as you enter the Island and close to everything. Nothing is more than a 10-15 minute drive. It is one of the only motels on the Island that is actually ocean front... The other ocean front motels are much older and far less appealing. The oceanview room was very spacious, clean...all that one would expect for the rate paid. The Ocean front and Oceanview rooms are a bit pricey....but well worth it. The hotel offers free beach tags and has an attendant on the beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas (for a nominal fee). No need to carry anything to the beach but your towel....the attendant does it all... Parking is also great....an assigned spot for each room so no need to worry about looking for a spot! Overall a great place to stay on LBI....well situated..within walking distance to several good places for breakfast and a CVS. All in all, a great experience...highly recommended. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGM812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
22.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,045 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing