We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Rip Off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Drifting Sands Motel for one night as we were in town for a wedding. We opted for the ocean front room thinking that it would be some what nice. Well we were wrong. The room was dirty especially the bathroom -ick! The TV was very old and the picture was fading in and out. The linens were very worn and air conditioner was very loud and clunky.

The porch was nice and the view was pretty of the beach. Other than that this is for sure a Motel quality hotel and the hotel owner should be ashamed for charging 5 star prices. Next time we will rent a house or stay at another hotel. The on-site beach was not worth the unpleasant room. Some of our family stayed in the efficencies and they were apparently in even worse condition. They too were charged a fortune for a crappy and smelly room.

Save your money and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Just stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsh010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first time to the area, and we had a very nice time. The beachs were clean and water was fantastic!! the stay at the hotel was nice and quiet, just what we wanted. We had an oceanview room, would have like to have a better view of the ocean, but the room was clean, and staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions to local places to eat. We enjoyed LBI and even though we will try other hotels, we will come back to this one again! Only suggestion would be to have breakfast bagels all week, instead of just on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place to my dog. We stayed here for a baseball tournament and it was the most horrible place I have ever seen. It was filthy and overpriced. I thought I was in a taping of the show "Cops."

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tebowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

For a few seasons we rented rooms at this hotel. We liked that it was on the beach and if we booked early we could get a little bit of a discount. Our room had two double beds and a mini fridge and sink, a whirlpool tub and a balcony. We were not ocean front, but ocean view. For our family we always had adjoining rooms and it was great. If you want a central island location, this is it! Just over the bridge and you find yourself at the hotel. The hotel staff was always ready to provide whatever we needed and the rooms were very clean, especially compared to some of the other hotel rooms we saw on the island that had that run down beach feel to them. We now rent a house on another part of the island, as our family has grown and it better meets our overall needs.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are bigger than the ocean front rooms and I believe the outdoor seating area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feetinsandforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding. Our rooms were very clean and the mini fridge in the room was a great bonus. The staff was very helpful. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our second trip to this location. Our stay was split between two rooms on the same floor. My one complaint would be about the number of bugs that were in our room. These source seemed to be the baseboard heater vents but not sure. We did complain but can't be too sure that they did anything about it. The shower heads could be replaced.
On the plus side the jacuzzi was great after long hours at the beach. You cannot beat this place for the convenient location and beach access.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank eguy_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Needed a place on short notice too stay on business. They were accommodating in avery possible way. The room was clean and the beach was 20 steps away and good food and excellent shopping was a short walk. As soon as I can afford it the family and I will be going!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
173 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range: $112 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifting Sands boasts LBI's most convenient location in Ship Bottom, NJ. Our array of accommodations offers everything you need for a romantic weekend getaway or a family, fun-filled vacation. Comfort, friendly service, beach access, and stunning ocean views. make Drifting Sands the best value on Long Beach Island, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing