We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and helpful, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very clean and helpful, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

For a few seasons we rented rooms at this hotel. We liked that it was on the beach and if we booked early we could get a little bit of a discount. Our room had two double beds and a mini fridge and sink, a whirlpool tub and a balcony. We were not ocean front, but ocean view. For our family we always had adjoining rooms and it was great. If you want a central island location, this is it! Just over the bridge and you find yourself at the hotel. The hotel staff was always ready to provide whatever we needed and the rooms were very clean, especially compared to some of the other hotel rooms we saw on the island that had that run down beach feel to them. We now rent a house on another part of the island, as our family has grown and it better meets our overall needs.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are bigger than the ocean front rooms and I believe the outdoor seating area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feetinsandforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding. Our rooms were very clean and the mini fridge in the room was a great bonus. The staff was very helpful. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our second trip to this location. Our stay was split between two rooms on the same floor. My one complaint would be about the number of bugs that were in our room. These source seemed to be the baseboard heater vents but not sure. We did complain but can't be too sure that they did anything about it. The shower heads could be replaced.
On the plus side the jacuzzi was great after long hours at the beach. You cannot beat this place for the convenient location and beach access.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank eguy_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Needed a place on short notice too stay on business. They were accommodating in avery possible way. The room was clean and the beach was 20 steps away and good food and excellent shopping was a short walk. As soon as I can afford it the family and I will be going!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Clean, courteous (really!), and in the ocean block. And reasonable prices.

We like how it's central on the island. That makes it easy to go to either end in the least amt. of time (because we do things on both ends). Also, if we need to leave the island for an emergency trip to WalMart we are right there at the causeway to leave the island.

The first year we went to LBI we rented a house sight unseen. It was dirty, expensive, etc. So we toured the Drifting Sands' and figured out where we wanted to rent the next year. We have stayed in two different buildings, and this year we are trying a suite in a 3rd building.

If you want to stay here MAKE RESERVATIONS IN WINTER for best choice, but that's pretty much true of any shore site. Also, as someone said, rooms on the bottom floor that face the ocean have sand piled that obstructs your view. They have had to add sand to the beach due to erosion and now it blocks your view. We stayed there last year anyway, knowing in advance we would see sand out the window. We were just a few steps from the beach and ocean, so what the heck. And there were fewer steps by being on the bottom floor.

Happy vacay!

Room Tip: The next time you visit LBI pop in to check out all the buildings, see the lay out, and see what mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I booked my reservation I was told, "...all we have left is an Ocean View Room..." Since we always like to see the ocean from our room I thought for $240 including tax it was worth it.

When I checked in I was shown a map of where our room was located. I told the desk clerk that I had booked an "Ocean View" room and the room she pointed to was nowhere near the ocean. She said the "name was deceptive” but that is what they call an ocean room view room and it was the only room they had left. TAKE IT or LEAVE IT!

When we got to the room we had a view of a Condo parking lot and a fish market. Not what we thought we had paid for when we reserved.

On the bright side the room was clean and spacious with a welcome coffeemaker.

The point is be sure you know what room you are getting and in my opinion the Drifting Sands should stop their deception

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

as far as motels go, it was very nice. very clean. very nice. a few steps to the beach and parking right in front of the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pati1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
22.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,045 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Brigantine Beach
1.5 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing