We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there anytime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Needed a place on short notice too stay on business. They were accommodating in avery possible way. The room was clean and the beach was 20 steps away and good food and excellent shopping was a short walk. As soon as I can afford it the family and I will be going!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Clean, courteous (really!), and in the ocean block. And reasonable prices.

We like how it's central on the island. That makes it easy to go to either end in the least amt. of time (because we do things on both ends). Also, if we need to leave the island for an emergency trip to WalMart we are right there at the causeway to leave the island.

The first year we went to LBI we rented a house sight unseen. It was dirty, expensive, etc. So we toured the Drifting Sands' and figured out where we wanted to rent the next year. We have stayed in two different buildings, and this year we are trying a suite in a 3rd building.

If you want to stay here MAKE RESERVATIONS IN WINTER for best choice, but that's pretty much true of any shore site. Also, as someone said, rooms on the bottom floor that face the ocean have sand piled that obstructs your view. They have had to add sand to the beach due to erosion and now it blocks your view. We stayed there last year anyway, knowing in advance we would see sand out the window. We were just a few steps from the beach and ocean, so what the heck. And there were fewer steps by being on the bottom floor.

Happy vacay!

Room Tip: The next time you visit LBI pop in to check out all the buildings, see the lay out, and see what mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I booked my reservation I was told, "...all we have left is an Ocean View Room..." Since we always like to see the ocean from our room I thought for $240 including tax it was worth it.

When I checked in I was shown a map of where our room was located. I told the desk clerk that I had booked an "Ocean View" room and the room she pointed to was nowhere near the ocean. She said the "name was deceptive” but that is what they call an ocean room view room and it was the only room they had left. TAKE IT or LEAVE IT!

When we got to the room we had a view of a Condo parking lot and a fish market. Not what we thought we had paid for when we reserved.

On the bright side the room was clean and spacious with a welcome coffeemaker.

The point is be sure you know what room you are getting and in my opinion the Drifting Sands should stop their deception

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

as far as motels go, it was very nice. very clean. very nice. a few steps to the beach and parking right in front of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pati1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

stayed overnight for a wedding 2 weeks ago.very noisy rooms. toilet and shower from next door echoed through our room. by far nothing modern but the direct tv. room was very clean though. i would not stay here again due to the high room noise levels. by far not worth the money.

Room Tip: rooms were very noisy. i was in room 5. flower pots had no flowers but very large weeds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justal0cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We recently stayed at the Drifting Sands for one night while in LBI for a wedding. My husband and I stayed in an efficiency in a rear building on the third floor. To my surprise we could actually see the ocean from our balcony, between the main building and a house across the street! Not a full view...but the ocean nonetheless! I am happy to report our room did not have a "musty" smell...upon entering the room it had a scent of the seashore! The room was clean, the towels were thick and soft, and the beds were comfortable. No flatscreen tv, but we didnt need it. We could walk to the beach, Wawa, CVS, Ron Jons, and a cute little restaurant for breakfast. The front desk personnel were pleasant at check-in; and told us about free coffee and bagels in the office the following morning. The only problem with our room: it was not soundproof. The television and conversations next door were easily heard through the wall. But this would not stop me from staying here again. Remember...you can watch the sunrise over the ocean, then have a wonderful, refreshing walk on the beach! Priceless!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CroydonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Not only is the view amazing from an ocean front room and just a short bike ride away from many wonderful restaurants, but this oceanside getaway has superior service. The office staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming. The rooms are fully equipped with every comfort and the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBumJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
176 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
20.1 mi away
La Sammana Resort
La Sammana Resort
#1 of 4 in Brigantine
207 reviews
23.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 E 9th St, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4600
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range: $136 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifting Sands boasts LBI's most convenient location in Ship Bottom, NJ. Our array of accommodations offers everything you need for a romantic weekend getaway or a family, fun-filled vacation. Comfort, friendly service, beach access, and stunning ocean views. make Drifting Sands the best value on Long Beach Island, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing