We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Daddy O Hotel(Long Beach Township)(Great Value!)
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Inn(Beach Haven)(Great Value!)
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
$263
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spray Beach Hotel(Beach Haven)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
97
59
36
20
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
59
36
20
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontoceanfront roomroom was cleanfirst floornice balconycorner roomlong beach islandfront desk staffoff seasonwet barthe jersey shoreocean view buildingfavorite spotcoffee makerking bedconvenient locationrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 239 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I highly recommend the Drifting Sands Hotel!! The rooms are VERY clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. They even have security during the night just in case you are in need of help. We have stayed at this hotel several times and it NEVER disappoints us.
TRY IT ~~YOU WILL LIKE IT!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The accommodations were absolutely amazing, rooms were impeccable and the employees at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnas1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was surprised to read the negative reviews here. My wife and I have stayed 5 or 6 times over the past few years and never had a problem. Cleanliness is most important to us and the Drifting Sands is the cleanest motel we've stayed in. The ocean front and ocean view rooms are the biggest and nicest and they're new. The view is spectacular, especially from the 2nd and 3rd floors. We prefer them to the buildings off the ocean. Those buildings are a little older but they're clean and they keep updating them with new carpets and beds. We always found the staff friendly and helpful especially the regular staff. The college kids/summer help are pretty much the same all over but they're friendly and try to be helpful here. We also appreciate the no smoking policy and the security guard in the parking lot. Our first time here was to a wedding a few years ago and a bunch of us came back on a bus around 2am after partying all night and the guard did ask us nicely to keep it quiet which we did. On our next visits however, we were glad there was someone around to keep it quiet. So, all in all this is our favorite spot on the Jersey shore. We'll be back. Bruce M

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

room was okay - ocean front - all new and clean
but had forgotten my sons rashguard and when I called to see if it was there (the next day) I was told, yes, and also a ds player and a towel. needless to say, I was excited that they had found something I hadnt realized was missing yet (my bad!!) however, when my sister in law, who has a house nearby went to pick up my belongings, they were nowhere to be found and have not since been located!!!?????)-: very upsetting!! will never go back

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel was musty and had both my husband and myself sneezing all weekend. Friends staying in different rooms had the same problem. The beds were uncomfortable and sheets were gross. It was oceanfront which was nice but too cold for the beach so it really just felt like a motor inn that you just come to sleep in.
The people from the front desk to the security guard outside need to take a lesson in dealing with people. They were rude, obnoxious, and condescending. We were in town for a wedding and just briefly talking in the parking lot at 11 pm when we arrived back to the hotel and the cops were called on us for no reason. I understand that they might have problems with wedding parties but we are all in our early 30s with kids at home and were nit being disrespectful to the property in any way. My husband and I are teachers and we are taught to never treat our students this way I wid like to give the management a course in how to talk to people. I found it to be very offensive.
I would never stay here again. The room was gross and we were treated like children.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess82011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews