We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
103
65
37
24
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
65
37
24
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontoceanfront roomroom was cleanfirst floornice balconyassigned parkingcorner roomlong beach islandfront desk staffoff seasonwet barconvenient locationthe jersey shoreocean view buildingfavorite spotcoffee makerking bed
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 259 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was surprised to read the negative reviews here. My wife and I have stayed 5 or 6 times over the past few years and never had a problem. Cleanliness is most important to us and the Drifting Sands is the cleanest motel we've stayed in. The ocean front and ocean view rooms are the biggest and nicest and they're new. The view is spectacular, especially from the 2nd and 3rd floors. We prefer them to the buildings off the ocean. Those buildings are a little older but they're clean and they keep updating them with new carpets and beds. We always found the staff friendly and helpful especially the regular staff. The college kids/summer help are pretty much the same all over but they're friendly and try to be helpful here. We also appreciate the no smoking policy and the security guard in the parking lot. Our first time here was to a wedding a few years ago and a bunch of us came back on a bus around 2am after partying all night and the guard did ask us nicely to keep it quiet which we did. On our next visits however, we were glad there was someone around to keep it quiet. So, all in all this is our favorite spot on the Jersey shore. We'll be back. Bruce M

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

room was okay - ocean front - all new and clean
but had forgotten my sons rashguard and when I called to see if it was there (the next day) I was told, yes, and also a ds player and a towel. needless to say, I was excited that they had found something I hadnt realized was missing yet (my bad!!) however, when my sister in law, who has a house nearby went to pick up my belongings, they were nowhere to be found and have not since been located!!!?????)-: very upsetting!! will never go back

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel was musty and had both my husband and myself sneezing all weekend. Friends staying in different rooms had the same problem. The beds were uncomfortable and sheets were gross. It was oceanfront which was nice but too cold for the beach so it really just felt like a motor inn that you just come to sleep in.
The people from the front desk to the security guard outside need to take a lesson in dealing with people. They were rude, obnoxious, and condescending. We were in town for a wedding and just briefly talking in the parking lot at 11 pm when we arrived back to the hotel and the cops were called on us for no reason. I understand that they might have problems with wedding parties but we are all in our early 30s with kids at home and were nit being disrespectful to the property in any way. My husband and I are teachers and we are taught to never treat our students this way I wid like to give the management a course in how to talk to people. I found it to be very offensive.
I would never stay here again. The room was gross and we were treated like children.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess82011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is Great! Pay the extra money for the 3rd Floor Oceanfront room! Picture Perfect! Each room has a sink/fridge/microwave right in the hotel room. The balcony is very nice and private. Walk down the stairs and you are on the beach, Fantastic. The hotel is clean, not fancy, just there for a place to sleep for when you are done on the beach. Outside shower to rinse off. Definately stay there again! Short drive to restaurants, kind of in the middle of two towns so it is quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephmark08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful oceanfront room. Very clean and nice balcony overlooking the ocean. Very clean bathrooms. The grounds are kept very nice. Very efficient service upon check in and check out.

Wish we could have stayed a few more nights!

Only change I would like to see would be to have more comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews