We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and fabulous take out”

Ship Bottom Shellfish
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh and fabulous take out”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Scallops - sweet as candy. Crab cakes - full of crab, little filler. Mussels - like butter. Consistent, fresh and flavorful take out. Fried items are never greasy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19mrpb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    72
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sparta, nj
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great local seafood and much more in quaint little restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy but the food is terrific. About 15 tables/booths with nautical motif. Attached to seafood market. Even for weekday lunch we waited 30 minutes.....but worth the wait! Had local sea scallops with two sides at market price $27.99. Got cole slaw and onion rings (3). Kinda wish I had selected fries after seeing chunky fries with skin on.
Next time. Daughter had garlic clams $9.99. And side Caesar salad with homemade Caesar dressing. Yum. Son had six raw clams and bucket of mussels. More than three dozen at $9.99. Many choices. Everything was really good and fresh. Will go back. Best of all they take credit cards : )

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous clams”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The clams in wine and garlic were outrageously good. The fish is fresh and well-prepared. We waited almost an hour but the clams made it worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food here ranks in the top ten on my list .It is a small restaurant but very nice . They accomadate children .They also sell fresh fish in the same building. The service was excellent and quick . My wife loved the lobster roll . I had N.E. Clam Chowder that was great I also had the Garlic Clams with jumbo lump crab meat ...also excellent . I also enjoyed the blackened scallops ! I almost always find that if the cole slaw is good ...then someone is paying attention to all the food. So many places view the side dish as just an add on ...not here ..it was delicious . We would definitely go back .Parking lot is very small but street parking worked for us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 15Larry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Fish on Island”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is take out and casual restaurant. They owe several restaurants on the island. However, I have NEVER had a better meal than at the restaurant Last week bought swordfisdh and bought it home. It was moist and so tasty. Coleslaw is good too....can not go wrong.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Bottom Shellfish also viewed

 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Ship Bottom Shellfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing