We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Crabcakes”

Ship Bottom Shellfish
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Crabcakes”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

had the crab cake sandwich and loved it. prices a little high but isn't everything on LBI in the summer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Breanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    72
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and homemade”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Delicious recipes with fresh seafood, fish, side dishes, and soups. Their New England clam chowder is to die for! Brought some home with us!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tvalenteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“best crab cake sandwiches in the world”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Simple - you get the jumbo lump crab cake sandwiches at here or Black Whale or Mud City - they are simply the best in the world. I rent at LBI once and year and during that week I had 3 sandwiches there. i also love the dungarees crab in the garlic sauce. If I lived closer, I would go once a week to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My favorite scallops on LBI”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

SB Shellfish has been our 'go to' place for seafood for the last few years. We have never eaten in, tho. We are usually a group of between 5 and 7 people, the dining room is small and the wait normally long.
So we take out, and it's on that basis I judge the service. Our order are generally large and varied, but we've never gotten a wrong or incomplete order.
The scallops, which is my fav seafood are perfect-big, fat, soft, sweet and juicy. Not over-cooked or over breaded, so you can really taste it without being 'fried out'.
You can save a bit by ordering 'al la carte' by the pound. It's also worth noting, for the non-fish lovers, that the honey fried chicken is also pretty good, and make make going to a seafood place a good choice for the landlubbers in the family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish Market take out only review”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Place is always packed so inventory moves.

I stopped for the take out market several days...after being dissapointed with 2 other fish markets. Limited selection but quality of clams here was the best...

Only thing was they shorted a few each order....other markets had half dozen dead/mudded on each order - so they just need to pay attention to the counts for their customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Bottom Shellfish also viewed

 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Ship Bottom Shellfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing