We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for Breakfast”
Review of Lbi Pancake House

Lbi Pancake House
Ranked #24 of 38 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I have wanted to stop at this place for years and finally had the chance to stop in. We came here for Mother's Day and had a great breakfast. This restaurant was recently updated due to Hurricane Sandy by Restaurant Impossible. After watching that show, we had to stop in and really glad we did.

We all enjoyed our breakfast, I am very picky when it comes to eating pancakes at a restaurant but I enjoyed everything we ate. Even our 4 year old daughter finished up her food.

Some of the downfalls of this place is they only except cash however there is an ATM on site. Even though their OJ is fantastic, it comes with a price.

We will be back to this place again in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Grade: Incomplete”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stopped in for breakfast and it wasn't crowded (~ 4 other tables had customers). This is a cash only restaurant (strike 1). They do offer an ATM, but its out of operation (strike 2). You can order a soda, but the soda machine wasn't working either (strike 3). You could be the customer next to us and have your order include 'egg-beaters', but they were out of that (strike 4). You could order the Texas-style French Toast (like one of our party did), but only get the smaller French Toast instead (strike 5). You can have your order come out, and the waitress ask if there is anything else that you need, as we stare around looking for the non-existing silverware - I guess you are suppose to eat medieval times style (strike 6). The next table down- we overheard the waitress apologize for another issue (strike 7). When asked how everything was while paying our bill, we explained politely most of the above. We received a tepid apology (strike 8). If we decide to come back, we will wait until very late in the season when all the kinks have been worked out and will probably have the 3rd strike out then - strike 9.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worst Pancakes Ever”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Our favorite breakfast spot closed so we thought we give the LBI Pancake House a try. We figured Robert Irvine must have turned them around. I got a short stack of blueberry pancakes. The were the worst I have ever had. They were so gummy I could not eat them. The blueberries were frozen and had no flavor. My husband got scrambled eggs. They were cooked so hard you almost needed a knife to cut them. The waitress didn't ask why there was so my food left or if there was a problem, instead she asked if we wanted it wrapped up to go! We should have left when we got the wrong check because our bill for breakfast was $30.71 without a tip! This restaurant is out.

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Stop for Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've been to this island over the summer and always wanted to come over the winter just to see what it's like without the crowds. Not many restaurants open after Labor Day. This is a very good stop for breafast. Loved the pancakes. Liked that the OJ was fresh squeezed and toppings like blueberries were fresh. Service was good. Prices a little high-thought maybe prices over winter would be cheaper but after all it is Long Beach Island.

Visited January 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maho, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice little place for breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

While in ship bottom you may want to enjoy breakfast. This is a nice little place that you can relax and have some of the best pancakes around. Sip on freshly made oj. As you'll find it's a packed place which makes it a little discomforting it is still a great place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lbi Pancake House also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing