We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“back again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Restaurant

Gateway Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 38 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“back again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stopped for a quick bite after a trip from Bordentown. Their claim to fame is New England clam chowder, having won the annual chowderfest contest 8 years in a row. It is by far the best chowder on Long Beach Island. The food is fair, but it is conveniently located and open is all year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great stop after the beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we love to stop in for a cool one and great pub food ...the new England chowder is one of the best....it's so loaded with clams it's a meal.....great friendly staff too...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jude4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visited in the Past, going again for Jammin Janice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We vacation Ship Bottom each September, and would always participate in Karaoke each Friday and Saturday while there. I agree that the Food is mediocore (at best) and that the Drink Prices are HIGH. However, the Karaoke was the only reason that we would frequent Gateway; certainly NOT for their Food. Happy to read the Jammin Janice is there on Tuesday nights. Hopefully, she will still be there in September during our visit. Last year's Karaoke went a bit downhill whenever Weird AL's replacement(s) were there. The Girl was good; but the Guy who would always say "Here we go" every other sentence, was completely horrible. Good luck Janice. Where else is there that has Karaoke in the area?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtissWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After having to deal with the terrible service at Surf City Hotel, we were happy to be greeted by a professional and friendly bartender at the Gateway. Had a blast and there was great music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Cool Place, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went there late with ten people. The wait staff was awesome and the food was good. There was a performer Matt something, handlebar mustache. Guy is a true talent! Was hilarious and entertaining as hell. Check it out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanNY718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Restaurant also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Gateway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing