We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Bottom Beach

Ship Bottom Beach
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“a little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd year at Ship Bottom Beach! Love it!

Family-oriented-- just a great place to be!

$5.00 per day or $20.00 per week

Helpful?
Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    30
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth to Me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

There is no where else I'd rather be than on the beach in Ship Bottom. We have been spending a week or two there every summer for 25 years, and no--we never get bored! Lifeguards are on duty from 10AM to 5PM for swimming, and there are designated areas for surfing, skim boarding and fishing too. Very family friendly! There is no boardwalk, but the ice cream man will ring his bell at the dune entrance all day long. Great for beachcombing--this year there were an incredible number of sand dollars and shells washed up on the shore--must be due to the stormy weather we've been having. Super clean and a great place to unwind from the world.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Stretch of Sand and Beautiful Sunrises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

They do a lot to keep the beach up, cleaning and replenishing sand, life guarding, the result is a beautiful stretch of sand with nothing but happy, pleasant people having agood time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pompero F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent beach for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Enjoyed a recent trip to Ship Bottom. Lots of families and friendly people on the beach. Felt very safe on the beach and walking around Ship Bottom to/from the motel and restaurants. The beach at Ship Bottom was much quieter and less crowded than the beach we drove to in Beach Haven.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PA_Hoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always there , my Real Estate office is a few hundrd feet away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Clean , not too crowded close enough to go during lunch

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Bottom Beach also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Ship Bottom Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing