We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel/Great Price/Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Motel
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motel/Great Price/Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this motel for four days this week (last minute booking) and couldn't have made a better choice! The completely renovated decor was lovely and it was perfectly clean throughout. We had an efficiency room with a great little kitchen, comfortable bed with seating area and spotless bath. The owners, Joe and Anne are so warm and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home at all times. That is a rarity in this day and age. Location is so convenient for beach or bay. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. But the thing that is amazing is that for all this, you also get an extremely reasonable price. This motel is an example that all other motels/hotels down the Jersey shore should follow. A+ Joe and Anne! Thank you.
Note: If you call for a reservation and you get the answering machine, just leave a message. Joe will call you back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garnerville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently spent a few days at the Islander in Ship Bottom. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean and the decor was very pleasant. The owner Joe is wonderful and very accomodating. The prices are reasonable and we can't wait to return! Bernadette & Ronnie

Room Tip: Best hotel on LBI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure to spend a few days at the Islander in Ship Bottom. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean and the decor was very pleasant. The motel is just walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. The owners are two of the nicest people we have ever met. Will definitely be returning! Nora and Barbara

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We only spent one night here but will definitely be back! Great place! Large clean newly remodeled rooms at awesome prices. Comfortable beds, Coffee maker, microwave and fridge in king rooms. Convenient location, WaWa close by, walking distance to beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend when my bf came down from Canada. I stopped by a week before to ask some questions about the room and Joe took me into one to check it out. He was more than happy to answer all of my questions and so very nice. The time we spent there was comfortable. The room was clean and everything was new. The little kitchen was perfect for making a couple of quick meals and everything you need to cook was provided. A block away from a Wawa for your morning coffee and right across the boulevard from the beach. Best prices for an off season stay on the island. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to the area for a visit. ^_^

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Found this lovely spot on trip advisor for my weekend stay in south Jersey. Knew I picked the right place after meeting Joe. Great friendly guy, who's there to make sure your stay is a comfortable one.
I heard they had done a lot of renovations after the storm, and the work shows. Great bathrooms, with big sinks, lots of room, and in ours, a large fridge, and hot plate (which helped in saving money on food!). It's steps from the beach and a Wawa is right close by.

I'll have to come back when the summer season is in full swing, and I'll definitely be staying here. Just Bee-ooo-tee-ful :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mquinn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel was in a very convient area for us the only downside was our room was across from the office n a horrible spot light shined in our room the whole night making sleeping impossible. Very clean tho which is always nice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.4 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
5.5 mi away
Spray Beach Inn
Spray Beach Inn
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#5 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
6.8 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Property: The Islander Motel
Address: 1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Islander Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing