We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kincaid House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kincaid House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed one night and had a pleasant experience. Although the hotel is old and the rooms could use a few upgrades, we enjoyed our stay and would go back. Our room was very large. We arrived at lunch and enjoyed lunch by the fire with a few cask ales and good food. Dinner was fine and the breakfast was an excellent full Scottish. The atmosphere and ambiance in the bar and the hotel was great, and most of all, the local staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice and quiet and the grounds made you fell you were in the country.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberlour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
31
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a former home of the 'laird' and has been refurbished with Historic Scotland funding.

The rooms are well equipped and fairly spacious. Views vary from fields and trees to the back of houses on a neighbouring housing estate.

There are only a few rooms so they do not bother with a reception desk, you just go into the bar.

breakfast is great if somewhat quiet with only the two of you and the waitress. Lots of food well prepared.

Meals can be in the conservatory or in the Stables Bar . To reach the latter you have to go through the function suite, past the kitchens or go outside into the Scottish rain. I don't know what you do if there is a wedding in the function suite.

The food is well-prpared and tasty with a good choice and good prices. Bar staff are helpful and friendly locals and all seem to be students.

Great place for a visit to Glasgow with an Express bus every 30 minutes at the end of the drive (40 minutes to city centre) or for touring central Scotland, Loch lomond, trossachs, Edinburgh Rail station a couple of miles away) etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Good food with a varied menu, pleasant gardens, comfortable room and excellent staff. For residential visits, though, it's best to avoid Saturday nights when there will almost certainly be a wedding party happening in the function suite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMortality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Had it not been for a half decent meal, we would have rated this terrible. On booking the room a few weeks ago, the hotel had neglected to let us know that there would be a wedding function directly below the sleeping accommodation. The wedding disco went on into the small hours and the guests screamed and shouted well beyond that. The sound proofing in the hotel was non existent and the walls were so paper thin we could hear the intimate details of the occupants in the next room's ablutions (which seemed to go on throughout the night).
The staff did try to offer solutions to the problem, none of which were feasible or appropriate but at least they didn't make us pay for it.

Room Tip: When booking this hotel check to see if there's a function booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank matilda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmains
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

My partner and i visited Kincaid about having our forth coming wedding there in Jan 2012 greeted by Victoria Thomson, who was the wedding planner at that time. She was so helpful, So after having a indepth look at all the bedrooms, and the full house, we decided to book for our wedding. A couple weeks later we decided to go through for a meal and an over night and again was greeted by Morag Thomson, she again is very helpful, our room was lovely and our breakfast was fab and our dinner was also fantastic. Wether I need info on the wedding by phone or email they always help and keep me up to date about anything, nothing is a hassle. And now I cannot wait until our wedding rolls round in 2012. Fantastic plan to have a wedding, Fantastic place to have a over night and a lovely meal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AilzNewmains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed three nights in a beautiful spacious room (superior double) with a full Scottish breakfast each morning and we also dined in the restaurant and had a pint in the bar. This is a special place set in large grounds, with very helpful management and staff. Everything we requested was given graciously. There is no lift up to your room but help for luggage was offered. If you are touring Scotland by car as we did, this is a lovely stay on your way to the highlands.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMountaingoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Kincaid while visiting family in the neighborhood. The hotel was the "laird's manor" and has the feel of someone's lovely home. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, although the shower is tiny by US standards. The staff is warm and incredibly helpful. We ate in the Conservatory restaurant two nights and the food was excellent. We all enjoyed the pub which has a warm fire, good food and cold lager. It spills with folks from the village. There is no lift. There is no business center but they loaned a laptop upon request.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KimMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton of Campsie
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincaid House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid House Hotel

Property: Kincaid House Hotel
Address: Birdston Road, Milton of Campsie, Milton of Campsie G66 8BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Dunbartonshire > Milton of Campsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Campsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kincaid House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kincaid House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing