We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW MENU??” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guillermo's Italian Cuisine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guillermo's Italian Cuisine
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Mantua, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEW MENU??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We tried to go here the week before thanksgiving but there was a note on the door saying they were closed Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday and Thursday because they were changing the menu .We stopped there to eat after not being able to get in the place on the corner as they were full.Well the menu has changed,the prices are increased very much and the selections are less than half. The sunset menu is no longer available either. The chicken parm. use to be 13.95 is now 18.00 with smaller portions.My wifes meal had to be sent backtoo. Now I know why the place on the corner was full and we were able to walk into Guillermos and be seated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ron z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We too have been frequent and loyal customers...until now.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ok, so we forced to try the Pitman location since the Washington Township location closed its doors without warning. Went in two weeks ago on a Friday and they were busy with what we came to find out was the "show rush". Hostess tells us that we are lucky to get a table because normally we would not be sat without a reservation. Totally different from the oringal location already, we never once needed a reservation to get a seat. We sit down, another girl comes over (turns out to be a hostess), she takes our drink order, a busboy brings them out, with what we hoped was the same good bread from the TWP location...WRONG again. The bread was cold, mushy, and stale. Finally after about 10 minutes, our server comes over. She was nice but you could tell her and everyone else was running around. We tried to have Todd, but his section was full. We were sat in the smaller of the two rooms and the place itself was nice. Much newer than the older location. We were near the door to the kitchen...well needless to say the owner was there. As soon as we heard his voice we wanted to leave. Yes we could hear his voice at our table from him in the kitchen. We stayed...soup meh, not much taste, salad was good and fresh...but had dirt all throughout the romaine. Dinner, we have always loved the chicken parmigiana, well the portion was small, there was what looked like water all over the plate and the sauce is TOTALLY different. Sauce tasted like I was eating the leftovers of a pepper stew or a cacciatore. I was told this was the only sauce they had since it was easier with the "show rush". We finish our meals, meaning we ate less than 1/2 each, and hostess comes back to wrap our dinners...waitress never came back to ask how things were...we dont wrap them and tell her everything was just ok. She takes the plates and comes back with the dessert tray. We declined because now we were going to stop at Wawa to get a chicken parmigiana sub since it is better than here, and ask for our check. Waitress quickly drops our check off and thanks us and tells us to pay up front. Nothing was asked about our meals or service or our stay. We go up to pay and a second hostess is on the phone crying her eyes out, telling the person on the phone she had to leave because she got screamed at by the owner for smiling in the kitchen...really smiling is an offensive to yell at what looks like a 17 year old girl to make her cry????? What a shame...

All in all we will NEVER be back to this restaurant...we will make sure everyone one of our friends and family members will not be back either...it is a disgrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In response to "check this out" review below”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

First of all we have been going to both of these restaurants for many years, and know the owners. They could not be more wonderful people. Obviously not every experience such as your soup incident is common but get your facts straight - pitman has a huge parking lot in the back of the restaurant. In addition our economy has taken a dive making owning a business very difficult. If they did have to close a location I am sure it was a last resort, as they have been there for over 20 years. They obviously did not put that sign on the door, the landlord did. It is sad they had to close their doors, and we will continue to support them in Pitman !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katienmike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“check this out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well, the last time we visited this restaurant in Sewell NJ my husband found an open sweet and low wrapper in his soup, the waiter did exchange it for another. After that I had sent an email to the owner Bill Leahy and he apologized and stated he would send us a gift certificate if we considered going back, we never received the certificate and then we noticed that the restaurant in Sewell is closed with a note on the door that says, No Trespassing. What the hell! So I called the other Guillermo's in Pitman and they stated that the owner just wants to concentrate on this one. I think that stinks, what kind of note is that? Thats what you think of your customers all these years. And the Pitman Restaurants is horrible, there is no parking lot, just street metered parking and the area is horrible with some stores boarded up. Chow Guillermo's!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stowee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went for dinner tonight and the restaurant was closed down. No trespassing signs on the doors and locked up tight

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guillermo's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing