We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant food”
Review of Arugula

Arugula
Ranked #56 of 85 Restaurants in Sewell
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greentree Road
Description: Arugula Restaurant strives to surpass all of your expectations for an Italian restaurant. We have worked very hard over the past three years to give our guests exceptional service, the finest of local ingredients and a unique atmosphere to dine in. Despite being located in a quiet, secluded area of Washington Township, we can bet you will be amazed. Providing our guests with an exceptional experience at our restaurant is what we live for. With that said, we have taken all of your suggestions and comments over the past few years and have decided to put something new on the table. With a lower price point in mind as well as an opportunity to take a journey through our menu, we have designed an entirely new concept. Grab your favorite bottle of wine and see for yourself! Nicholas Tomasetto (Chef/Owner)
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellant food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well worth the visit. Food and service is very good. It is loud but gets quieter as you get into your second BYO bottle. Even though the menu is all a la carte there is ample portions of the entree with starches to please all. Pan seared salmon was fabulous as was the sea bass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsaspacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    17
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loud, like being in an under 30s bar, food just ok”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very loud, bar like atmosphere. Not much space or privacy between tables. The prices were high for quality of food Now that I have been there I probably won't go back. The food was just okay and it was way too noisy. Crowded tables, small portions, no salad or sides with entree, not a good value for your dollar. BYOB Make sure you check out their menu and pricing on the web before you decide to give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Litttle Gem”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A wonderful experience in a modern, Italian restaurant. Great weekly special fixed menu (several choices for apps, entree and dessert). Fabulous service, excellent meats/fishes and delicious desserts! I had a filet and was dissappointed because it was over cooked. i asked for med. rare and got closer to med. well. They were so sorry they gave me a gift certificate for a future visit. That's the way to do business. Can't wait to go back! Oh..and BYOB!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmom0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, but noisy”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This small restaurant is in a strip mall and is easy to pass by unless you check for directions (reservations are a must). Nice small menu (which I like) so I didn't have to decide from many dishes but there are some specials also and the menu changes seasonally. The sauce in the mussel appetizer was to die for - I used many pieces of the delicious soft bread to sop up every last bit of the spicy garlic broth. Main courses were varied (meat, seafood/fish, homemade pasta) and since we were a party of 8 everyone ordered something different and we shared some bites of the others. All were very well done, tasty and filling (no room for dessert). Service was excellent even for our large group. My only complaint was that there were not 1 but 2 birthday parties going on this particular Saturday night and they were very loud for such a small place that it was difficult to have table conversation. All in all though it was an enjoyable place to have a great Italian meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great meal overcome by noise”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arugula is a BYOB in a strip mall. You could easily miss it if you didn't know where you are going. Fortunately, the friends who asked us to go with them had been there before.
First, let me say that we all had a very good meal. Nice combinations of flavors with good sized portions. Its advertised as "modern Italian cuisine." Their menu is seasonal, so we got to choose from their fall selections. We especially enjoyed the pork belly and the butternut squash tortelloni appetizers. Entrees were scallops with Jersey corn risotto and braised short ribs with smoked mozzarella polenta. Both were tasty, but we really could have done an app and a salad or soup given the size of the portions.
Unfortunately, the Saturday night crowd was a bit rowdy for our tastes. The table beside us translated bring your own bottle to bring your own cooler and they were well toasted before we arrived and were in no hurry to leave. And the open rafter ceiling was all too conducive to echoing the noise of all the patrons throughout the establishment. It was such a shame that we couldn't hear each other without rising our voices at our table for four.
We'll likely try Arugula again, but certainly not on a weekend. We hear its a calmer quieter place on a weeknight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arugula also viewed

 

Been to Arugula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing