We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Inn and Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sergeantsville Inn

The Sergeantsville Inn
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic Inn and Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had been wanting to dine at the Sergeantsville for quite some time and finally had the chance to go. I had wanted to take a family member ther - and so happy that I did. I LOVED the atmosphere - this quaint, old historic inn with the old brick walls, fireplaces - it was just filled with warmth all over. We ordered the "famous" - by what our waiter told us - Tomato Bisque and the soup of the day which was a Clam Chowder. Both soups were amazing - but right on the money about the tomato bisque - may be the best tomato soup I have ever had. We ordered the venison london broil and the pheasant. I can't tell you how happy we were with the menu selections. Where else can you go these days that has game selections on the menu! Both were incredible! Cooked perfectly. The pheasant was not gamey at all which when not done properly can do that - no it was earthy in all the right ways. the venison was beautiful. I can't wait to go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peeps23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    19
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
solebury, pa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time here and had lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first visit to the inn. Live fairly close and have never been. The lunch I had was open faced pastrami and corned beef. Very good and big. I'm a big eater but could not clean my plate which is rare. The bartender Cindy was very helpful with ordering and I was satisfied. There dinner menu looks great and I will go back for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norman r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Food almost worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We came into the inn after a bit of an absence. The food is as tasty as I remember. Our waitress had a great, easygoing sense of humor and guided us in making our decisions (save room for the tomsto bisque and tirimisu). HOWEVER, food seemed to take an excessively long time. The table across from us talked of ladleing his own soup into the bowl if it would come faster. Also, the place is looking a little worn. I noticed stains on the carpet and dingy curtains and the place in general could use a good paint and dust.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinoveritas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delightful, romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by after a delightful afternoon walk on the old canal by Frenchtown. We had no reservation, but we were accommodated in the old library in the Inn. The service was wonderful, attentive but not overbearing. We were able to get a half a bottle of 2006 Cabernet from one of our favorite wineries in CA. It tasted terrific at a reasonable prize. Had a terrific mushroom soup for starters and my wife had a wonderful Caesar salad. We ordered Venison Fillet Mignonette and stuffed quail. Both were best ever. The sauce with the venison filets was incredible, as was the quail dish. We closed with sharing a wonderful tart, almond raspberry with a fabulous whipped cream, fresh and extremely tasty. It was a wonderful meal, much better than we expected. Recommend strongly


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“local for nice night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

we took our daughter out for graduation- each ordered something different to try- from pheasant to free range chicken to kangaroo - owner chef stopped by to check on us - tasteful presentation and nice for a special occasion for about $50each

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vero1313m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sergeantsville Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Sergeantsville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing