We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Motel(Secaucus)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveler rating
459
387
102
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
387
102
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport authoritythe busnew yorkfree parkingacross the streettimes squarebagelswithin walking distancefree breakfastinto nycthe holiday innmini fridgesleeper sofaroom was largefamily vacationhot breakfastlincoln tunnel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This Hotel is an excellent value in Secaucus and those who are frustated about the hotel situation in NYC. BUS 320 connects Port Authority Terminal with the hotel at minimal cost and quickly. The free breakfast is innovative and not only"continental".Our two fullsize beds room with seperate sleeper sofa sitting area was double thesize of a $350 plus room in mid town NYC. The lobby could be a little more attractive as it is very, very basic,but apart from that: A rating of 5 is deserved, also for the very friendly and more than helpful staff we met for two night last week.We will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Wolfgang P,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many people who are visiting New York City prefer to stay with us in Secaucus not only because of our reasonable prices, but also because of the spaciousness of our rooms, the many dining options available in Harmon Meadows Plaza, the convenience of nearby public transportation options into Manhattan, and the tranquility of this safe, suburban setting that we call Harmon Meadows.

It's true that Hyatt is renowned for having grandiose lobbies. Hyatt Place is a new concept that came out just a few years ago, and in place of the traditional lobby, we offer our Hyatt Place Gallery - a cozy place to lounge, enjoy food and beverage, socialize, read a book, or surf the Internet on our complimentary wifi. Newer Hyatt Place Galleries have nuances, and each property's Gallery will vary a little in its design. We do appreciate your feedback in this regard. Our Gallery was designed with convenience, simplicity, and elegance in mind.

As a staff member myself, I am very pleased that you found us to be friendly and more than helpful. We always strive to provide extraordinary service and I'm thrilled to read that we've exceeded your expectations. Your rating of 5 stars is our biggest compliment.

Best Regards,

Elliot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stained carpet in room. Clearly been there for sometime. Didn't want to complain.. Having arrived in the night from London , too much hassle.
Ironic thing is , the room was serviced on Sunday, I did request no need to change sheets, but stain on carpet remains... Hmm..???
Some staff are friendly and accommodating, tho not a nice experience whilst calling for a pick up from Union City, having travelled to jersey gardens outlet mall... Somewhat abrupt reception on the phone!
Still have 2 days, I plan to update further... Not happy my card details was taken at check-in ( for incidentals they call it ) , however had paid in full upon my arrival???? Shall watch out for that. Part 2 tomorrow !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randomne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Randomne,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experiences at our property with the online community. We take your feedback very seriously, and we work very hard to keep our carpets as clean as possible. Our carpets all undergo a regular deep-cleaning, which might have been what was needed for the stain on the carpet in this room. At the same time, some stains are permanent, and we would have to wait until the carpet can be replaced.

Jersey Gardens is a very popular destination for great shopping. A taxi ride to Jersey Gardens would cost about $60. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle which can take you to the Union City bus station. As you discovered, from the Union City bus station you can get to Jersey Gardens on New Jersey Transit bus #111. Our shuttle is there for you from 7am to 10:45pm. All you have to do is block a time for yourself to use our shuttle, since it does get very busy sometimes. Many of our guests prefer this indirect route to Jersey Gardens over taking a taxi.
When you called for our shuttle to pick you up from the Union City bus station, we're sorry to hear that our phone reception was anything less than patient and pleasant. This is not the level of phone etiquette that we strive for at Hyatt Place in Secaucus. We value our guests' opinions, and I've shared your review with our other supervisors.

At hotels throughout the United States, it is common practice to provide a credit card (or debit card) to guarantee incidentals. Some hotels even accept a cash guarantee (typically $200 cash). Even when a hotel booking is paid "in full", a guarantee for incidental charges that may or may not accrue during the guest's stay is necessary in order to check the guest in. The term "paid in full" is then a bit misleading, and I apologize for that misnomer, and I further apologize that this custom was not made clear to you at the time of booking your reservation.
At our hotel, we hold $25 a night to guarantee a guest's incidentals. We accept credit cards for this guarantee, and will only accept debit cards if a guest is aware of our debit card policy.

If you would like to further discuss any of this, please feel free to call in and talk to me or another of our hosts or supervisors. Meeting a guest's expectations is a top priority for us, and it's especially important that we hear from our guests when something goes wrong. We hope that you'll give us a second chance to welcome you back to our area in the future.

Sincerely,

Elliot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location. 1 street away from Bus Stop to Manhattan. 20 minutes at night to get back from NYC. Spectacular free breakfast. Lovely modern room. Was not pleased with the lobby. It felt a bit small and congested. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear HarveyAs,

We're glad to hear that you appreciated the convenient public transportation options near our hotel. And indeed, New Jersey Transit bus 320 is right across the street. Traffic into the city can be heavy during weekday rush-hour traffic, but in normal traffic, the commute time is about 20 minutes, which a quicker way into Midtown Manhattan than taking the subway from many other places in Uptown Manhattan, Queens or Brooklyn.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our A.M. Skillet Breakfast, and also disappointed that our Gallery area didn't meet your expectations. Due to our proximity to Manhattan and many New Jersey convention and shopping centers, we are the busiest Hyatt Place property in the nation so far, and our Gallery can get packed at times. That said, many of our guests prefer to stay with us because we have some of the most spacious rooms in the greater NYC metropolitan area. We hope that your experience in our Gallery doesn't overshadow the rest of your stay here, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back for your next visit to our area.

As a staff member, I'm personally very glad that you found us to be helpful during your stay, and on behalf of all my associates here at Hyatt Place in Secaucus, I hope that you'll stay with us again for your next trip to our area.

Best Regards,

Elliot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice hotel, convenient access to NYC, perfect for families! Breakfast is awesome, great selection, big rooms and comfy beds. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. About 1.5 hr commute from JFK, but better to fly into a closer airport

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quatro4amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Quatro4Amigos,

We often hear enthusiastic feedback about the spaciousness of our rooms. In fact, it's one of the reasons that we are the preferred hotel of many travellers staying here in the greater NYC metropolitan area. We're delighted that you enjoyed our A.M. Skillet Breakfast. We cater to all kinds of tastes, from those who desire something richer like French toast and egg-patty sandwiches on buiscuits, to those with a health-conscious palate who enjoy our selection of fresh fruit, oatmeal and yoghurt.

Newark Liberty International Airport is the closest major airport to our hotel. A taxi ride these days should run about $50-$60, depending on the taxi. The ride should also take about 20-30 minutes depending on traffic. If you're travelling light, you can take Newark Airport's Airtrain to the Newark Airport Train Station, from where you can catch a NJ Transit train to Secaucus Junction. It's about a 15 minute ride from Newark Airport Station to Secaucus Junction. Once you're at Secaucus Junction, you can take a taxi to our hotel for about $15 or, between the ours of 7a.m. and 10:45p.m., our complimentary shuttle is available for our guests to book. Secaucus Junction is the most popular destination for our shuttle, so even if someone else has booked it, it very well may be headed for Secaucus Junction anyway.

Harmon Meadows is really expanding a lot. Many of our guests enjoy strolling in the pedestrian plaza right across the street, be it for restaurants, shopping, or to catch a movie at the movie theater. You'll be glad to hear that two new restaurants have recently open as well, including a Red Robin.

We hope you'll join us again for your next visit to our area.

Best Regards,

Elliot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a wonderful quiet haven for us. We could take the short bus ride to the city, enjoy the crowds and noise of Times Square and then return to this clean spacious suite.
The breakfast is nicely varied and well maintained.
Staff are friendly and helpful, and little coffee wine bar is a nice stop for cupcakes or a drink.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Sue L,

Thank you for going out of your way to write this review of our hotel. You've really summed our hotel up nicely. Many people find that the services and location of our hotel are just right. With convenient transportation between New York City and Harmon Meadows, you get the best of both worlds - bright, dazzling city life and peaceful suburban tranquility. Even though we're only a few miles away from Manhattan, you might see deer and other wildlife nearby.

Our bakery cafe is open 24 hours a day, and we serve beer, wine and distilled spirits until midnight. Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we do hope you'll join us again for your next visit to the area.

Best Regards,

Elliot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews