We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand the ranking of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Don't understand the ranking of this hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I do not understand how this hotel can be ranked no. 1 of 17 hotels in this area. Across the street, is the much nicer Holiday Inn, where I went twice for dinner. Superb service, while Hyatt place was like a McDonald compared to the Holiday Inn.
The hotel did not give us twin beds untill the weekend was over, because we had booked trough a 3.rd party ( Priceline), which ment I slept on the sofa for 2 nights, and the only cover you get is a blanket, I had to call for sheets to use on this bed. Stayed for 5 nights.
The second room had stained carpet. The hotel was refurbished 3 1/2 yera ago; ehat did they refurbish, - outside paint maybe. It looks as if the hotel has not been refurbished for many years. The carpet in the the hallways, have a design I would think would fit a hotel in the very lowest priceclass. The colors were not very nice anywhere in the hotel, and the room looked dark, especially the 'bathroom'. You do not get a bathroom like in other hotels, the vanity top is within the room itself.
Noisy AC in the first room 821, 802 had a more modern AC which was more quiet.
Other guests were mainly schoolclasses. We asked for a quiet room, and got one on a floor with just 15-16 year old schoolgirls, and even with a connecting door. We were moved to another floor, with fever schoolchildren.
Wonder which airline uses this hotel for their pilots. Saw some pilots checking in and out.
Shuttleservice and breakfast was fine; - Breakfast if you could manage to find a table during the time the busloads of schoolchildren were having their breakfast.
All employees very polite.
The only reason for staying in this hotel was the price of $ 116 for a double incl breakfast. The shopping centers which you could reach by the free shuttle, were not very interesting. Do not go there if you are looking for famous brands, only Tommy Hilfinger and Calvin Klein brands in this huge area of shopping senters.
Spent 10 - 20 minutes on the 320 bus into 42 nd street. Bus runs often.
Getting to and from the airport involved 3 different means of transport. Taxi to Secaucus junction 12 - 15 $ if shuttle is not available when you like to go.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Hello Svien,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear our Hotel did not meet your expectations. When we are at full capacity we try our best to accommodate every guest request. You are correct, during your stay we did have a large student group in visiting NYC. Hopefully we have the opportunity in the future to give you a better impression. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    343
    80
    36
    19
See reviews for
388
191
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stay in this place in January 2011 and I recommend it. Excellent room and Lot off channel. Service was perfect even during the evening. You can buy alcohol if you're 21 and more. There is lot of channel on Tv, free wifi, room are good. Too bad there's not a pool but I'll come back here. The place is safe.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Nice hotel in good location. Staff was friendly and helpful. DBL Queen room was very large and included couch/kitchen/desk/microwave. Nice set up in the room. Breakfast was good as it included nice selection of fruit and pastries. It could have been better if there were eggs available. Location to bus stop is perfect. Very easy commute into Manhattan. Some chain restaurants are within walking distance of hotel if that is what you like. The room was quiet which was very nice. The only complaint is the beds and bathroom. They could use an update. Beds comfort level is OK. Bath is showing age.

Overall a nice hotel but not quite the top line of what you may expect if you are looking for a newer Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! We are renovating our bathrooms in December to your point and we appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel is great for a visit to NY city. The rooms are new, clean, very spacious and comfortable and reasonably priced for being so close to NY. We are a family of 6 and we were able to sleep comfortably. The continental breakfast is very basic; cereal, bagels, toast, donuts, coffee, milk & juice, good enough to hold you for a while. There is a bus that stops in from of the hotel that for $ 7.90 round trip takes you right into Times Square (Port Authority) in about 20 minutes depending on the traffic, from there you can take the subway, $2.50 single ride to anywhere in the city. The area of the hotel is very nice and safe. There is a walmart & Sam's club within walking distance and other restaurants and movie Theater. There is also complimentary parking, something very rare in this city. We loved our stay and will return here for sure in our next visit to NYC.
If you are a Cake Boss fan, Carlos Bakery is about 15 min. from the hotel in Hoboken, NJ be prepared to wait a long time outside to get in & inside the bakery to be served. It's also very expensive, to me it was not worth the wait or the money that we spent ($57.00), but my
daughters loved it.

Room Tip: Book early, specially in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzyS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Hyatt place was Excellent, rooms were great, plenty of room, excellent 42" flat screen TV.
Location was close to shopping, restaurants, NY city. Staff was excellent, aim to please.
Only thing missing, is microwave in room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just returned from 3 nights with my husband and 3 children 12,9,7. Staff very friendly. Rooms great size. Obviously an older hotel but rooms upgraded to excellent condition. 2 large double beds and double sofa bed in partitioned lounge area. Coffee/tea making facilities, desk and chair and lockable safe. Large lcd tv with cable and hair dryer. Breakfast was taken in open plan area much like the Holiday Inn Express. Good range of free items including toast, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, juices, coffee, tea. There are also items to buy. We took the 320 bus (outside rear of hotel) into NYC. Never hit any traffic and arrived at Port Authority 15 mins later. It did cost 26$ per day return for the 5 of us but this was cheaper than staying in the city. (difficult to find a room for 5 anyway). Hotels surrounded by loads of chain restaurants and shops but we never really had time to try anything out. All in all an excellent choice for the budget traveller wanting to see NYC. I spend ages looking for a good deal and was delighted with my choice - highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I had meetings in the area and just needed a place to sleep and this place was perfect for that. There was free wifi and the staff were really helpful which were definite pluses. The room was clean with modern decor and a really large flat screen tv. There was no lounge or restaurant onsite which I would have liked, although they did offer breakfast and there were restaurants in walking distance. The bed could have been comfier (it wasn't horrible, mind you) but overall I had a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#3 of 15 in Secaucus
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Property: Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Address: 575 Park Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3655
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt place Secaucus/Meadowlands is located just 3 miles out of New York City. We are also in close proximity to plenty of shopping malls, local restaurant's and Met life Stadium. The Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands offers complimentary breakfast every morning. Other amenities of the hotel include a lounge serving Starbucks coffee/wine/beer/distilled spirits. We also have a fitness center available 24 hours a day and complimentary shuttle service to anywhere within a 3 mile radius! The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free wifi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing