We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer + Satisfaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowlands River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
PAUSA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Customer + Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Want to see NY City but not at the high cost for rooms? Want to stay in a quiet, clean and safe area on your visit? This is the place to stay ! Not only is this hotel clean, but its breakfast is beyond adequate, with constant cleaning by smiling employees. BUT the price is right, and the NJ Transit bus is across the street to take you into NY CITY in 20 minutes ! Senior fare one way is less than $2 ! Machine for tickets is at the bus stop! Such ease. The staff at this hotel were so helpful and professional ! Attention to ALL details ! Jennifer at check -in made certain all our needs were met , room was ready and bus, maps and hotel info was in our hand ! She was GREAT ! On day 2, one desk employee overheard me say they did not have my favorite tea bag out, and he went in the back and restocked it ! Had a problem printing boarding passes, they cheerfully did it for me ! Employees liked each other, the place is managed soooo well ! Thank you all for giving us more than customer satisfaction ! Great King beds too!

Room Tip: King bed is a good choice -Area is quiet so most all rooms would be AOK !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realitybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience with us.Your 5 star review will be shared with the staff. Jennifer will be applauded for her great service. I hope you come back and visit us again soon, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    258
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
283
155
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel offers many great features - among them are: outstanding service, clean rooms, free breakfast buffet and incredible proximity to the Lincoln Tunnel and NYC. The bus stop to catch the bus to go to NYC is a stone's throw from the hotel. It was wonderful to be able to leave our car for the duration of our visit and simply sit back in the comfort of the bus each day for the short ride (approx. 15 - 20 minutes) to get to the Port Authority Bus Terminal which is close to Times Square.
Having stayed at many Hamptons, our room at this one was slightly more dated and worn than some others, but the other many positive elements, including the affordable price, far outweigh this observation.
We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I wish to thank you for taking time from you busy schedule to review your stay at our hotel. I am very happy to see that you had such a great experience. As you have mentioned, providing outstanding service and a clean room is our main goal.I hope that you come back and visit us again soon. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The good is definitely the location to NYC and of course price. Although the hotel itself is a little dated our room was clean and the staff was really nice. And I mean everyone greeted us and that does score points with me.

With 4 small kids our King with a pullout was perfect. Location can't be beat with easy access to the Lincoln tunnel. Many family food options near by and parking is free. For budget minded people we stayed here for a couple of nights and then splurged in Manhattan for another.

On the downside their free breakfast was just okay. It is sufficient since it's free but was definitely anemic compared to other Hampton Inn's we've stayed at.

I would definitely come back for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gojadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay whether going to a football game or touring NYC. The bus stop is very close and a round trip to NYC is only $7.80. The trip to the city only takes about 15 minutes and then you are at times square. The hotel has a preferred vendor that they use as taxi service and a trip to the Meadowlands stadium is only $20.00. Although the hotel seemed to be of an older vintage it is kept clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, well staffed, free breakfast and affordable hotel minutes from NYC, the Hampton Inn Secaucus is for you and your family. Take the bus into Manhattan - no parking, no rental car, near Newark Airport - no driving necessary - public transportation is excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff were excellent and friendly. Maintenance was quick for the problem I had. Room carpet beginning to look worn and was a little sticky. Corporate got excellent rate for the area. Complimentary breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lnewman501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was pretty much perfect for my trip. I only have 2 complainents. The fox station did not work in my room and 1 day my bed and room was not cleaned at all. The area and the hotel itself is great. I love the free breakfast. The 320 is tight across the street to take you to New York. I will definitely come back and stay again. The employees were super nice. I will recommend this hotel to anybody going to New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Property: Meadowlands River Inn
Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing