We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a few minutes from NYC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, a few minutes from NYC.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Good price for the value, standard Hampton breakfast. Bus stop across the street only 20 minutes from NYC via the Lincoln Tunnel.
Lots of places to dine across the street even a movie theater. Lots of shopping close by and 15 minutes from Hoboken for great night life.
Good spot for a NYC visit with out the high prices and crazy traffic, if you use the bus of course :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to assist you in working around the higher prices and busy traffic of our neighboring city. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    265
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
288
164
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this location on a business trip to Hoboken. I was very impressed with the location of this hotel. It is a stone's throw from NYC, with a bus station located directly across the street to take you wherever you need to go. There is also a large plaza directly across the street with restaurants, shopping, and a movie theater. The hotel also offers free parking, free wifi, and an above average breakfast. The hotel staff was also very professional and courteous. Rooms and beds were comfortable, with the exception of the desk chair. The chair was quite awkward, not a standard desk chair on wheels, but an occasional chair that sat pretty low to the ground. I am going back again in a couple of weeks and will definitely stay here again. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckcmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Please feel free to contact me prior to your next trip, so we can address the concerns you mentioned. I can be reached by email: uriel.baker@hilton.com. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I liked this hotel very much. It offers the service, level of comfort, and cleanliness typical for the Hampton Inn brand, plus it is only a short bus ride from Manhattan, which makes it a great bargain. When I will visit New York again, I will consider staying at this hotel if I could not find a good bargain for a hotel in Manhattan.

I stayed in many Hampton Inns, and this hotel lives up very well to the brand image. The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are very comfortable, WiFi works great, and you can even make your own wafers for breakfast, in addition to plenty of other food choices. The only downside about the room was the noisy heater and A/C unit.

But the best feature of this hotel is its location. It offers free parking, and it is just off New Jersey Turnpike. There is a NJ Transit bus stop across the street from the hotel, from where you can take an express bus (#320) to Port Authority Bus Terminal (PABT) in Manhattan, right on 42nd street and just a few blocks away from Times Sqare. It costs about $4 one way, takes about 25-30 minutes, although the time depends on traffic in the Lincoln Tunnel. You can buy tickets from the vending machine at the bus stop. The busses run every 15-30 minutes during the day on weekends, and even more frequently on weekdays. You can ask for a schedule at the reception of the hotel or look it up on NJ Transit website.

On your way back to the hotel, if you are not familiar with PABT, do arrive with plenty of extra time to buy tickets from the wending machines, find the gate to board your bus, and take a place in the boarding line. There is an information desk inside PABT right next to the 8th avenue entrance if you need help. The stops are by request, you need to get off at Harman Meadow Boulevard and Plaza Drive.

There is another NJ Transit bus, which number I do not remember, that goes from the same bus stop across the street from the hotel to Hoboken Terminal, where you can transfer to the PATH trains and therefore avoid going through Lincoln Tunnel.

There are also several places to eat right across the street from the hotel - I have noticed Starbucks and Chipotle, but there are a few more. The area looks very safe, even after dark.

The only other downside to the hotel is that one side of the building faces New Jersey Turnpike. I did not stay in one of those rooms, and the hotel does have modern windows, but noise could potentially be an issue there.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel faces New Jersey Turnpike. It has modern windows throughout, but noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGreatBear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Excelent price, great breakfast included, free wifi, free parking. There's a bus station right across the street and those buses takes you directly to port authority one way or round trip. There's also a few shops around

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Homero A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We enjoy having you stay with us and looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been having great breakfast for the last 2 months I have been staying here at this hotel…it was never about the delicious food that was served ,or about those amazing pancakes …it was all about the great smile of the manger who use to smile at me and say : how are you today?
It was about the amazing catering staff, who always did their best to get the breakfast ready on time; no matter what situation we were having (sandy super storm or a snow day).
Also it was about the great reception staff who offer you there help from the first day you check in - what malls to go, where to have your diner, where to do your shopping from - and provide you with maps, details, events list and every other details you might ask for or forgot to pack. (And lets never underestimate there delicious cookies they back daily and serve at the front desk...)
And behind that great staff there is an amazing management; who knows how to keep their guests happy and satisfied; by keeping everything under control day and night, ether in good days, or in those bad stormy days.
Lets never forget the great team of maintenance, who always know how to fix everything you need, and who is also ready to provide there service immediately without hesitating or delays.
Finely; the thing which made my mother very happy and satisfied was the cleaning team. Those cleaning ladies who do their job very well with a big bright smiles and great deal of joy and happiness.
Maybe when you read this, you will think: ohhhh another long review …but let me say one thing in the end….this place had become a second family to me.
Whenever you stay here, you will never miss your home. Because you will feel you’re at home.


O. FAMILY

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
It was our pleasure having you stay with us as long as you did. Your family became part of ours, and we enjoyed serving you. Feel free to call or stop in to say hello if the opportunity presents itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I found the Hampton Inn Secaucus filtering the Hotels close Manhattan, with easy access to public transportation and free parking. The area of the Hotel is not the best for leisure purpose as there is nothing to do walking, however if you don't wanna end up in Manhattan driving this is a good location. The bus to Manhattan stops right next to the Hotel and runs every 20 minutes, or something like that, during the day, and once in awhile later during the night. It is next to a convention centre and few other good hotels. The Hotel is also close to restaurants, Walmart, Best Buy, TJ Maxx, Marshals, Sports Authority, Kohl's a Theater and much more, so it is not bad for shopping at all.
The rooms are quite descent and clean, the service is excellent however the breakfast is the is the weakest point of the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give a review of our hotel. I am happy that you found our location convenient for your travel. The team here will continue to do all we can to improve our guests' ecxperience, which includes ways to improve all our services (including breakfast). Looking forward to your stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I checked into this hotel, after checking out of another hotel where we had a bad experience, they not only took us right in with no reservation, but went the extra mile to help us out.

You can't beat free internet and a free breakfast.

Great place, and only 5 miles from NY City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We really appreciate your staying with us and are glad that we were able to help you overcome the experience you had elsewhere. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Property: Meadowlands River Inn
Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3620
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing