We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Manhattan hotel is in New Jersey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best Manhattan hotel is in New Jersey.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are a family of 2 parents and one teenage son. In previous visits to NY we always used hotels in Manhattan . Some were OK, some mediocre, but they were all expensive.
This time we tried to stay in NJ, in order to get a better hotel at a reasonable cost, and we were glad we did that.
We noticed the friendly staff from the moment we checked in, they let us feel like good friends trying to help us make the best out of our trip, giving us directions, timetable of the bus to NY, and guiding us to local shops and restaurants.
Room was large with two queen beds. Bathroom equipped with eveything we needed, from shower gel to mouth wash.
Breakfast was very good with hot items like scrambled eggs, omlets and Wafles. During the breakfast time a whole team was there to help the guests. Even the General Manager was there, greeting people, and personally helping them. While doing so he listened to any guest request. I thought this was a good example for leadership and it shhowed well on the attitude of the entire team.
Our main concern when we booked the hotel was transportation to Manhattan and availability of restaurants near the hotel. We found the transportation very easy with a bus leaving the station across the street every 10-20 minutes and arriving Port Authority bus station in 20 minutes. We also found a selection of more than eight restaurants in the plaza across the street. We tried the Outback steak house, Red Lobster, Houlihan's and Cheeseburger In Paradise and they were all very good. The Walmart which is less than 15 minutes walk from the hotel is open 24 hours.
Overall we had a great experience at this hotel and we recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ori_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review. We appreciate it when our guests take time out of their busy schedules to let us know what they think of our property. Thanks also for the compliments. We look forward to serving you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    271
    76
    19
    13
See reviews for
294
169
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hampton Inn is my family's #1 choice for hotel stays. We stay there frequently, because they are clean, friendly, comfortable and their high standards are normally consistent across the board. I know what I can expect when I book with them. We stayed at the Secaucus location recently during a long family driving vacation and were surprised to find this location did not meet our expectations for a Hampton Inn. Overall, it is still a very good hotel, but it needs a little work to get to where it needs to be.

My number one shock when arriving here was -- no pool. What? ALL the Hampton Inns I've ever stayed in have pools. I was so sure of this, I never even checked while booking the room. You should have seen the look on my kids' faces when they heard that at check in. They'd been talking about the pool for hours in the car.

Beyond that, the room needed some TLC. It was well decorated, and clean, as expected for a Hampton Inn, but the ceilings had water damage, there was some mildew in the shower caulk, and the walls were dinged.

Otherwise, as always, the breakfast was wonderful and the staff was friendly. I also used the laundry, and they conveniently provided free detergent, which was a nice plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We are in the process of addressing some of the challenges you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel after a day visit to NYC. The price of the hotels in Times Square was more than I could pay since I needed 2 rooms. This area of NJ was suggested to me due to its location. We spent the day in NYC and reached the hotel around 11pm to check in. The drive over from NYC was 10 min. The lobby was loaded with families checking in but the process moved along quickly. Cleeve who was the manager on duty assisted with my check-in process. He was very friendly and worked to ensure I was completely satisfied with the check-in process and provided details regarding going to NYC the next day.

The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel interior could use a little updating but overall everything was great. In the morning we opened our curtains to see the skyline of NYC. Beautiful view!!!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMD412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your review. Cleeve and all the other staff appreciate your comments. Keep us in mind when planning your next trip to this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Great place for getting in and out of NYC. The management goes to great lengths to make you comfortable. My only complaint is the room and common areas. Our bathroom had a leaky faucet. The hotel could use a little detailing fixing dirty walls and peeling wallpaper, etc. The breakfast was very good, and overall it was a good place and not too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy78739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for writing a review on our property. You feedback is very important and we take every step to improve the areas you pointed out, while contininuing to do well in the ones you applauded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff at this Hampton Inn were very friendly and accomodating. My travel companion is elderly and needed assistance and the staff were quick to help out providing alternate seating for breakfast away from the crown where his wheelchair would maneuver better. Also, it was the only Hampton Inn where they make the waffles for you. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your review. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us in future, and we will still be here making your waffles.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We used Tripadvisor.com to select this hotel and we were very pleased. The trip was to see mostly Manhattan. We travelled from Wisconisn by car, family of 4 including 2 boys. Here are the pros and cons of the place.

Pros:
1. Excellent position, the stop for NJ Bus 320 about Block away across the street with easy transfer to Port Authority Bus terminal in Manhattan (Time Square)
2. Walmart superstore and Sam's Club walking distance from the hotel.
3. Walking distance away from a strip mall, including movie theaters.
4. Excellent warm breakfast
5. Extremely courteous staff
6. Very clean and appeared to be above its class
7. Free ample self parking

Cons:
1. No swimming pool (my error in not knowing that before)

Overall an excellent choice for someone on a budget and wanting to see Manhattan in an easy way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aamir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your taking the time. Keep in mind that we are always here to serve you whenever you plan to visit again from WI.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I cannot believe this is rated as the number 1 hotel in Secaucus Meadowlands. The Embassy Suites is far superior, and is where we normally stay. We stayed here because we required two rooms, and we requested interconnecting rooms when we booked - this didn't happen and the staff member checking us in told us this was due to preference being given to guests already in the hotel... If this was the case he didn't try to rectify over the three nights of our stay.

The same staff member who checked us in was difficult to deal with, was rude to my wife, and completely unhelpful with any issues. The rooms would be close together he advised, when in actual fact that were halfway down the hallway from each other. The whole check in process took 45 mins (and we arrived at 3pm). When we finally got the second room, the keys they provided didn't work either. We also requested bedding for the sofa bed, prior to heading into NYC. Returning 5 hours later it had not been delivered to the room, so we then had to wait another 20 mins before we could put our 3 year old to bed.

The welcome letter from the manager doesn't provide any contact details, and the first two nights the same rude staff member was on duty, so pointless trying to complain. I would not recommend this hotel, and will be writing to the Hilton chain to complain as it falls well short of the Hilton Brand's standard or service and facilities. One of the two rooms we had smelt, which was not enoyable for two members of our party.

The worst part of all is that the elevators and the hallways around the elevators smell like public toilets in the subway system; it makes you gag every time you get into them.

Tip: Pay the slighty higher price and stay over the road at the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bambooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hello,
I am so very sorry about the experience you had at our hotel. I would like to address these concerns at time convenient to you - if not for you and your family, at least for other guests who wish to stay with us in future. Please feel free to contact me, as I would sincerely like to address those mishaps and the bad experience. uriel.baker@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Property: Meadowlands River Inn
Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3620
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing