We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were needing to get to NYC pretty quickly and wanted to stay at a place that had easy access to the train station and was priced at a value. I found a deal on hotels and priceline that listed the rooms at 79 per night so we decided to give the Meadowlands Plaza a try. Here were the Pros and Cons about this hotel:

Location: This hotel is about 5 minutes away from the Secaucus Juntion Train Station: It is about a 5-6 minute ride into Penn Station which takes you to 7th and 32nd street. The price per ticket was $4.00. Also, there is a subway, wendys, Dunkin Donuts and Baskin Robbins within walking distance of the hotel.

- Complimentary Shuttle to train station as well as other places" The shuttle was very convenient and runs till 11pm. We had no problems with the shuttle being late to pick us up from the train station when we arrived back from NYC. We waited no longer than 8 minutes to be picked up.

- Free breakfast buffet: The breakfast buffet had hot scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, potatoes, cereal, toast, fruit, orange juice, croissants, and a little more. It was an okay breakfast overall, but nothing spectacular.

- Nice large and clean room! The rooms also had a nice flat screen television as well as complimentary Wi-Fi.

- Free Parking


Cons: We stayed on the 9th floor and was given a two queen room. There was not a microwave or fridge in the room, but this was not such a big deal to us.

- The Beds were really hard in my opinion

- The heating unit did not work very well in our room.

- The staff was not as friendly as I am used to when staying in hotels.

Overall, I was pleased with this hotel and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladyinjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 277 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pre Christmas Holiday trip / family of 4. Rooms were clean but the bathroom sink and tub had drainage issues. Extra person room charges of $15.00 per child made this stay as pricy as some more upscale hotels in the area so beware of this fact. The hotel sits smack dab in the middle of NJ State Hwy Route 3 so the highway noise from both East and Westbound traffic is constant and there is no escaping it on either side of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was terrible and cold ! The dining hall staff was more concerned about watching their tip jar then they were about keeping the food warm and clearing / cleaning the tables as guests tried to find a place to sit for breakfast. Shuttle service to train station and outlet malls was also a joke and really unreliable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

3rd time staying at this hotel and rate it as Average, the rooms were clean, although maid service was slow, 2 days in a row our room was not serviced until 2:45pm, This was the 2nd time in a row where we have been there and they had College kids staying at the weekend for some kind of sports thing nearby, sadly both times had them running the halls, and slamming doors until 1am, asked front desk to sort it and was told "We'll send someone to check it out".....it still continued.

Staff were friendly enough but collegues of mine that stayed were charged $40 on their bill as well as $35 for an Ipad they rented that day, the member of staff messed up when doing the transaction and had to ask a collegue to help her, when the extra charge was noticed two days later front desk was asked what the $40 was for they did not know even though it was them that charged it and said "maybe it was something to do with expedia" ? ....yea helpful, not wanting to cause a fuss they let it slide but check your bills if staying

Complimentary Breakfast was great and the free shuttle helped massively with getting to the station and local stores although did not like the on site bar at night as it looked like a set off the Sopranos and it was full of local drinkers, local pub maybe ?

Finally I was not too keen on the occasional glares from the Security guard sat on the couch watching football whenever leaving the building to smoke outside, try smiling fgs!

Room Tip: Ask them if they have any large groups staying during your time or partys taking place and pick anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We arrived at The Meadowlands Plaza immediatly after the infamous October snow storm; the front desk gave me instructions on getting to the Secaucus train station and had the shuttle meet me on a night when there were NO cabs or shuttles running. The driver even took anothe couple to the Crowne Plaza because they had been waiting 2 hours and thats the way to treat people! The breakfast was good and available right until 10:30 and La Reggia was as good as the restaurants in Manhatten. The room was older bu large with a fridge and microwave - housekeeping was great! Easy to get into Manhatten 10 minutes to station and about 10 minutes to Penn Station. They even advised me (correctly) on how to get Giants tickets. Well Done Meadowlands Plaza!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bigasabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We're upper-mid range experienced travellers - expect comfort, clean, some extras - but don't need fancy extras. Meadowlands Plaza worked well for us. At first taken aback by the exterior where they were resurfacing - but soon realized it was the painting contractor equipment and masking. For older full service hotels in the NJ/NY area - at affordable (<200) prices, this was a good find. On location bar, restaurant, workout room. Good access to Newark Airport, Secacus Junction rail station (to Manhatten), Lincoln Harbor, and highways to everything. Liquor store, Dunkin Donuts, Wendys and several other restaurants are very close walk (less than a block). Clean, beds a bit stiff, rooms good but not updated to the latest "business traveller" standards, pretty good full breakfast included. The hotel bar was especially fun - unique architecture for a hotel, great Halloween decorations, friendly staff, good beers on tap at decent prices, great entertainment on Fri, Sat. Had a singer with perfect pitch and did a fantastic channel of Sinatra, Dean Martin and Tony Bennet - including their own unique nuances.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenwave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our room at this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The bed and pillows were both very firm and difficult to sleep on for both myself and my husband so that neither one of us slept very well. The pillows especially were thick and firm/hard with very little "give" in them which caused me to wake up with a sore neck. The staff was helpful and courteous. The insulation is very good as we never heard any noise at all from the hallway or other rooms.
There's a Dunkin Donuts right across the street as well as a couple quick serve restaurants. Close to highway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in thr hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are big but with no fridge or microwave. Just a bed, tv and bathroom. The room was clean, the bathroom not as clean.

The staff were not that helpfull and not always very eager to help you, it seems as if they just want to do their job amd not do anything extra for you, but atleast they did their job.

Getting to NY was easy. The shuttle, which should leave every 30 min, but doesn't, takes you to the train station, about 10 min drive. From the station it is one stop to Penn Station NY. To get back you can also take the train and call the hotel to send you the shuttle, only before 10pm. I would it easier to take the 129 bus from Port Authority Bus Terminal and it stopped about 100m fro the hotel, so that worked very good.

The buffet breakfast is tasteless but it is better than no breakfast.

Overall a good expierence and I would recommend it as an alternative to NY self which can get expensive. The train and bus tickets cost me about $20 which saved me a lot when compared to NY hotel prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tsvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus

Address: 40 Wood Ave, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2907
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range: $122 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus Hotel Secaucus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing