We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Meadowlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Centennial co
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good choice in Meadowlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We're upper-mid range experienced travellers - expect comfort, clean, some extras - but don't need fancy extras. Meadowlands Plaza worked well for us. At first taken aback by the exterior where they were resurfacing - but soon realized it was the painting contractor equipment and masking. For older full service hotels in the NJ/NY area - at affordable (<200) prices, this was a good find. On location bar, restaurant, workout room. Good access to Newark Airport, Secacus Junction rail station (to Manhatten), Lincoln Harbor, and highways to everything. Liquor store, Dunkin Donuts, Wendys and several other restaurants are very close walk (less than a block). Clean, beds a bit stiff, rooms good but not updated to the latest "business traveller" standards, pretty good full breakfast included. The hotel bar was especially fun - unique architecture for a hotel, great Halloween decorations, friendly staff, good beers on tap at decent prices, great entertainment on Fri, Sat. Had a singer with perfect pitch and did a fantastic channel of Sinatra, Dean Martin and Tony Bennet - including their own unique nuances.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenwave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    105
    59
    23
    19
See reviews for
91
64
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our room at this hotel was very clean and well maintained. The bed and pillows were both very firm and difficult to sleep on for both myself and my husband so that neither one of us slept very well. The pillows especially were thick and firm/hard with very little "give" in them which caused me to wake up with a sore neck. The staff was helpful and courteous. The insulation is very good as we never heard any noise at all from the hallway or other rooms.
There's a Dunkin Donuts right across the street as well as a couple quick serve restaurants. Close to highway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in thr hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are big but with no fridge or microwave. Just a bed, tv and bathroom. The room was clean, the bathroom not as clean.

The staff were not that helpfull and not always very eager to help you, it seems as if they just want to do their job amd not do anything extra for you, but atleast they did their job.

Getting to NY was easy. The shuttle, which should leave every 30 min, but doesn't, takes you to the train station, about 10 min drive. From the station it is one stop to Penn Station NY. To get back you can also take the train and call the hotel to send you the shuttle, only before 10pm. I would it easier to take the 129 bus from Port Authority Bus Terminal and it stopped about 100m fro the hotel, so that worked very good.

The buffet breakfast is tasteless but it is better than no breakfast.

Overall a good expierence and I would recommend it as an alternative to NY self which can get expensive. The train and bus tickets cost me about $20 which saved me a lot when compared to NY hotel prices.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The best part about this hotel is it's proximity to NYC. The hotel offers shuttle service to the local bus stop and train station for two easy ways of getting into Manhattan. The only drawback is that the shuttle does not run late at night. If you stay in Manhattan for a evening show or other entertainment, you have to take a taxi or walk 6 blocks through quiet neighbourhood to get back to the hotel from the bus stop.
The hotel was clean and service was acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel, we went to the room the concierge had assigned us and there were guests already in the room! The keys worked on this room. We went back downstairs, got another room key and the same thing happened again!! The third room they put us in had ONE bed not the two we requested. Finally on the 4th attempt, we received a room with 2 beds that was unoccupied. When we asked the concierge why there were people in rooms that were supposed to be empty, they were unsure why. I dont know if homeless people sneak into these rooms or if the concierge is just incompetent. I think it's a little bit of both. Anyway the room itself wasn't that great. The sinks looked they had remnants of hair dye staining them. The hotel smells of cigarettes when you first walk in, the staff is rude and if you have an extra overnight guest they'll charge you $15 extra. Plan your trip better and stay at one of the many nearby hotels. I suggest the Crowne Plaza or Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borderpatrol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My room was well maintained and clean. There were nice amenities in the bathroom. This hotel had numerous bus tours and students on school trips to the city and managment assigned non tours to a separate floor, I found this very thoughtful.

The lobby and parking areas were not as well maintained as the room. Consequently, at first impression , I was a bit concerned about my choice. It was just fine for a good night's sleep and an early departure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice with large groups of teenagers visiting NYC, and been pleased both times. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff has dealt with us efficiently. The buffet breakfast they have provided has been very good. With the hotel's close proximity to the Lincoln Tunnel and NYC, and its very economical price (for that area) I plan to stay there again next year, and have already reserved rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMABand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus

Property: Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus
Address: 40 Wood Ave, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2907
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus Hotel Secaucus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing