We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I will definitely go there again, hotel is spotless ,the room was huge and very cozy, hotel was close to the city and the service was amazing . The staff were all wonderful !!!Excellent hotel, modern environment and automated systems

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursek27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
NurseK27,

I love sharing these reviews with the staff. It shows that everyone from housekeeping, to maintenance, and front desk are all working together. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated rooms. Please contact us if you need any future accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    175
    116
    44
    46
See reviews for
184
132
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were there for Super Bowl weekend. Even though we didn't go to it. This motel is conveniently located across the street from a couple of restaurants, dunkin donuts,wendys subway and a few more. Bus stop to NY about 8 min walk. We checked in at night time and Ashant was very helpful with directions. This being our first trip away from home we were nervous, but everything turned out fine. The room was clean and comfortable. We will come back in the summer and RRI will be our choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing river nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Jazzy S,

I want to thank you for filling out such a wonderful review about our property. As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located across the street from places to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Thank you for mentioning the front desk staff member. I will make sure she see's your review. We look forward to seeing you in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Did a stay here and have to say lobby was nice. Checking ad and out was easy (they charge 1.50 for a safe so make sure you tell them you did not use it) enough parking and the rooms we great ! Nice and clean. Food right across the street and a few minute drive to a mall and 30 min the the city. And they take pets !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEKDES-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Jekdes,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I am glad you had such a wonderful experience with us. The staff here tries to make every guests stay memorable and comfortable. We are lucky to have such a large parking lot where we even fit tour buses. The location is prime as you stated for traveling to malls and even NYC. Red Roof has the "Pets Stay Free" policy and so many of our guests love it. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff was pleasant and accomodating. Very easy access to NYC. Ms Peavy was very helpful and kind. The hotel was very close to New York city which was very good being we were on a small family vacation to see the city. Thank you again for such good service

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Megan,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a response. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Having the NJ Transit bus in front of the hotel is very convenient for our guests. I will share your feedback with the staff. It is great to hear that they treated you well. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked a hotel but turns out it was a motel. Still nice but not a hotel. Heavy truck coming and going early in the morning. No biggie but. We had 2 rooms as we were travelling with 2 adults and 3 children 9 12 13. Nice location not too far from NYC once you have a car. My wife wouldnt stay in a motel again. Didnt like the idea of opening hotel room door to outside. Good value and nice with no problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenruledriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Goldenruledriving,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am saddened to hear that you and your family would not return to our hotel. Some hotels are an exterior property. I do understand how it may be uncomfortable for certain people. I do appreciate the fact that you filled out a review and gave us a good score. If there is anything that you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Red Roof Inn for our New York trip last year (21st April). At the time, we decided this location would be best as we were trying to plan our holiday on a budget - although we didn't realise that access to the city from New Jersey was so difficult! We arrived on the 1st night and checked in with the receptionist (who didn't have much to say to us at all), and after much effort to find our room (was like being in a maze) we discovered that our key didn't work. My boyfriend had to go back down to sort out the key and to be honest, because of the atmosphere and (very violent) arguments I could hear from the other rooms - I didn't feel very safe at being by myself! After awaking on our first day (which actually was a very nice and comfortable sleep) we could take in our surroundings and see our room in daylight, it was actually not too shabby but very basic, which was only to be expected for the price we paid for it. The room was at a comfortable temperature and it was very clean. We also had free wifi and a television with a good selection of channels. We went across the street to the small selection of cafes/restaurants for breakfast - best place was dunkin donuts! Later on we started to plan our first journey into the city, we noticed that there wasn't very clear directions (on both the highway or the bus stops) on how to get there so we asked the receptionist if they knew the best way around. The receptionist told us to "get the bus on the other side of the road, it'll be a good few minutes walk". We walked for about half hour, there was no sign of a bus stop and the footpath for pedestrians just suddenly ended - had no choice but to walk on side of a very busy highway. We eventually found the bus stop but after waiting for 45 mins the driver for the bus that turned up said that we had been waiting on the wrong side!! (There are no timetables, directions or maps at any bus stops in New Jersey)! The next day we actually discovered that there was a bus stop - on the correct side of the road and literally right outside the hotel! Throughout our stay at Red Roof, we couldn't help but notice a very strange smell on the premises - couldn't work out what it was but it was very unpleasant. Once we got familiar with our way around and knew what buses to get (we ended up picking up maps and timetables at the information centre at the Port Authority which is the bus station in the city that connects the routes to New Jersey) it was a lot easier to get around and could plan our week much better. We actually ended up going to the Walmart in Secaucus on one of our days and it was a only about a half hour walk from Red Roof! Overall, I wouldn't recommend Red Roof Inn if you were planning to frequently visit New York City as it is too far away and the bus journey isn't ideal because you wasting precious holiday time! I would only recommend this hotel if you are specifically wanting to stay in Secaucus!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Lindsey D,

I first off want to thank you for your review of our hotel. Since April, we have maps and bus schedules located at the front desk. The NJ Transit bus stops in front of the hotel. If you happen to miss that bus, there is another bus stop 2 traffic lights down the road. We are a renovated hotel with new mattresses, light fixtures, and painting. I do hope next time you come to the area you will come back to Red Roof Inn and see the great changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my sister inlaw and her mother inlaw stayed on the 12th of December to the 15th had a great stay staff were lovely very helpfull the rooms were clean and comfortable. We are from liverpool in the uk and they made us feel very welcome thanks for a great stay would stay there again if I come back to usa xxx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyshazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoel C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
sexyshazz,
It is wonderful to hear that yourself and your family had a great stay with us. I am happy you had a great stay in the U.S. I am glad that the staff took great care of you and your family. Thank you for choosing Red Roof and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
1.3 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
#13 of 15 in Secaucus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Address: 15 Meadowlands Pkwy, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
#1 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#6 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Red Roof Inns Secaucus
Red Roof Inn Secaucus
Secaucus Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing