We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As near as you can be to New York without the NY prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“As near as you can be to New York without the NY prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a really a practical location. I am hesitant to share my review as I am afraid that too many people might find this property and I won’t be able to get a good rate and reservation. But I did promise the Manger a good review.

Some people think Secaucus and the meadowlands and question the safety of the area. These concerns should be more addressed to Bergen and Union. The town of Secaucus is very nice and appears safe at all hours. However this property, while sharing the Secaucus name, is actually in a virtual island called Harmon Meadows. It really is a upscale safe island not connected with any community. It has its own private 24 hour security.

This is a recently updated Holiday inn. The lobby is the modern but also warm. The color scheme is more pleasant than other recently updated Holiday Inns. The rooms are updated but more traditional. Everything is clean and functional. Money was spent in the bath on the vanity and in the room on the large flat screen TV. Beds are high quality as are the linens.

The most remarkable feature is that this property is served by the New Jersey Transit 320 bus line. This bus leave to NYC every 30 minutes from a bus stop just 75 yards (meters) from the hotel.. During off peak this is a 15 minute ride. It costs about $3.20 one way (1/2 price for seniors, children and military). The bus operates from 6:45 am 12:30 am (2430) inbound to the port authority bus terminal (42nd and 8th) and 6:30 am to 1:15 am (0115) outbound back to the hotel. During peak traffic inbound in the morning and outbound in the evening, you might want to take the free hotel shuttle to the Secaucus Junction train station about 15 minutes away. New Jersey transit trains run every 30 minutes for the quick 10 minutes in to Penn Station (34th & 8th) in NYC. The fares are about the same as the bus. The train is not subject to the traffic delays. If you are a night owl, the NJT 190 bus runs all night form port authority to within ½ mile of the hotel. It’s a easy and safe walk at all times form the stop to the hotel. Make sure you walk over the bridge, some people try to cut across highway 3 and that can be very dangerous at anytime.

The property is in the middle of a office entertainment complex. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance across a pedestrian plaza. As is a multiplex movie theater. Several sandwich and sundry shops right next door. There is convenient shopping at a Walmart also just a 5 minute walk. The restaurants are fine, but nothing special, except there are over 15 of them. If you want great food or shopping take the bus to NYC.

The bell, desk, room service and maids are all very friendly. The bar staff is ok, not the warmest people. I stayed three weeks at the property and every time I went to the bar I felt somehow I was less of a customer then an intrusion. Food is acceptable, some of the specials are very good. I would rate it as good as any of the other restaurants in the plaza.

Another feature of this hotel is free parking, yes I said it free parking about 100 yards (meters) away. I spend a lot of time in the area and I can tell you this is very unusual. Also there is laundry machine on the fourth floor. This location is very easy for an extended stay. I think this is known by many since there are a large number of people here on business from overseas.

If you want easy access to the turnpike, NYC and a nice place to stay. This is the best bet in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side from the 7th and 8th floor have views of midtown Manhatten. They are bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazoo_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Kazoo Bruce

Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback about our property, the staff and the area. I saw your comment about our associates and I appreciate the sincere feedback, I will bring it to the attention of our Bartenders. It’s important for us to have a warm friendly atmosphere for all our guests, however I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and the service from the rest of our team members.

Miguel Kuan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    143
    44
    24
    20
See reviews for
99
54
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.We do not travel to the NY area for pleasure...not our style. But the daughter of a good friend was being married in NYC and we gladly came for that occasion. The wedding party and guests had a special rate at this hotel, which we appreciated.
Our room was great...roomy, clean, great bed...just very good digs.
That being said, one of the best things about this HI is the location. When you walk out the back door of the lobby you meet a courtyard that has numerous wonderful restaurants, (Tokyo Buffet..Yay!) anything you like, services such as AAA, post office, B of A, cleaners, shopping of all kinds...no transportation needed other than your feet. WalMart and Sams are a short walk up the street if you need anything there.
Also...there is a bus stop right in front of this hotel. Take the 320 to NYC...easy breezy. Just a very convenient location with a very good hotel.
One last thing...the staff at this hotel is the absolute best. Everyone at "the desk" was personable, friendly, and soooo helpful. They helped us figure out where to go and how to get there. Never impatient or condescending..always friendly and helpful.We were greeted when we "came home" in the evening. When we used the hotel shuttle our driver was friendly and helpful if we had any questions. (hey...shout out to Mustafah! ..great guy).
We would not hesitate to recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone traveling to NYC. Stay in NJ, save money, and take the 320 to NYC. It's a no-brainer!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Amac88

Our location is very convenient for many of our guests, we have multiple shopping options and restaurants that you can choose from, including the Urban Plumb Restaurant which features 50 different types of beers; accompanied by a menu that has creative affordable comfort food. I will personally share your comments with the staff, thanks for taking the time to give us positive feedback

Miguel Kuan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Tablas, Panama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel: clean, quiet and has a great location. It's near the 320 bus stop that takes you to manhattan/Times Square. We had a rental car so it was perfect for us because if the parking space. You'll think that it is not a good idea to take a car in Manhattan specially if you are a tourist, well, you are wrong, this was our second time in NYC. The Hotel was only 15 mins from Times Square and we found street parking in 45 and Park Ave. We had a great time. Besides the Hotel is a small plaza that has several good restaurants including a Chili's. You won't be disappointed with this location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My cousin and and I visited Secaucus last year June for a weekend.

Location was excellent, it was one 15 minute bus ride away from Port Authority in NYC. We loved the surrounding location of the hotel, there were a number of restaurants within walking distance. We fell in love with this Japanese ayce place that was in the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The food was EXCELLENT. I forget the name but its the only japanese ayce in the courtyard. There wasn't any shopping in the immediate area besides a Wal-Mart which was disappointing.

The staff were all helpful. Rooms were clean and modern, the facilities looked brand new. At the time we stayed we opted for valet parking which was $17 for the entire weekend, i thought that was a steal. Nevertheless the location and proximity to NYC made this a great deal and we are planning a trip back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Amac88

Am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the efforts of our associates to make you feel welcomed. They will be happy to know that you took the time to post positive feedback, we appreciate your business and we look forward to servicing you again in the future when you are in the Secaucus area.

Miguel Kuan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

My company sent me there for business trip, and I was pretty impressed. I heard that it was recently remodeled, but besides that, other things made me think of higher level hotels. The only thing I didn't like was the TV menu. It was not set up in a convenient way. Many of my friends who stayed there at the same time as I did said that they didn't have a thermostat, so they had to manually adjust the AC by the window, but I didn't have that issue.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasukoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Yasukok

We sincerely appreciate your comments, many of our guests have the same experience when they arrive to our property; since the decor is very modern and updated. We do provide manual channel guides, and we are also researching the issue with our cable provider so it can be rectified. Thank you for your business and we hope to service you in the future.

Miguel Kuan
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay, staff was welcoming and warm. Noticed an issue upon check-in and it was corrected within minutes. Shuttle drivers Mustafa and Nail were delightful. Made me feel at home, recognized me by name and were always cheerful. They willingly provided information and chatted while taking me to destinations - excellent, excellent gentlemen. I'll be spending a lot of time in Secaucus, glad to know that I truly have a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Connie464

It means a lot to us that you recognize the efforts put forward by our associates. Nelze and Mustafa are some of our best associates at making guests feel welcomed. We post positive comments like yours on our “Rising Star Board” so that all associates can read and recognize the efforts from their peers. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to servicing you again in the future.

Miguel Kuan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I work in one of the office buildings next to the Holiday Inn. Cafe Press is one of our stops in the morning for a great Seattle Best coffee. Each day there was a 1/2 off special on Lates, Mocaccinnos, Capuccinos, etc. The taste and the price was unbeatable. The muffins were always fresh and delicions, bakery style. About a week or so ago, the coffee stand turned into Starbucks and the prices went up by about a double. Would be great if Press Cafe offered some kind of frequest user stamp card option to those that stop by there often. Want to add that the service at the coffee stand is just amazing, the servers are always quick, make excellent coffee and are extremely friendly and polite. Also, would be great if Press restaurant was open for lunch with some healthy options, as those who work in the complex quickly get tired of the options available (Chillis, Houlihans (which by the way is absolutely terrible), and Cheesburger paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Sheefox

Thank you for noticing the friendliness of our staff, we did upgrade our product to "We Proudly Brew by Starbucks", but we haven’t double our prices in coffee, we reduced the small cup of coffee to $1.00, which is very competitive, some of the other signature items are priced accordingly; which are signature items by Starbucks. We will be distributing a loyalty card that will give customers the 10 non-alcoholic beverage for free!! and we will be issuing especial discounts for the corporate offices that are within our complex in the upcoming weeks.

Miguel Kuan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands

Property: Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Address: 300 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Business Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located four miles from Times Square and in the heart of The Plaza at Harmon Meadow, the Holiday Inn(R) Secaucus Meadowlands hotel's staff delivers an unrivaled level of convenience and service. You'll love being within walking distance to the shops and the 28 dining establishments in The Plaza, adjacent to our hotel's location near NYC. The wonders of New York City, Manhattan, Time Square and The Meadowlands Sports Complex are just a short NJ Transit bus ride from the hotel's location. Enjoy PRESS Coffee bar located in the hotel lobby serving all your Starbuck favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing