We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for visiting New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Great place to stay for visiting New York”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Very nice hotel. Good service. Good full breakfast. We are 2 adults and 3 kids. The price for a stay in Manhattan Embassy Hotel is 370 $ plus parking. Embassy Secaucus is 140$ with free parking. We took the bus (NJTransit 320) across the hotel for a 20$ all around trip for the whole family. 15 minutes to Times Square. It is the perfect hotel to stay for visiting New York for the best value. Recommende it Highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parent17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    403
    229
    135
    72
See reviews for
603
186
23
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I chose Embassy Suites because of its location and rates and also based on reviews I read here. We were very happy with our stay there and would stay again. We were a family of 6( My husband and I our 3 kids(10,12,25) and my mother in law in our room and my neice and her family of 4 in the next room. Our room was fine, it was kept clean and the towels were always stocked. We would leave the hotel after a great breakfast each morning and not return until late at night. We had no problem at all with the bus, it stopped frequently in front of the hotel and return was no problem. We did find it easier to get a return ticket on the way over rather than buying them at the Port Authority after the first day,. Parking was great, we felt our vehicle very safe in the garage which had security. The children enjoyed the pool, although were disapointed the first night when they tried to use it at 10:00 and were told it was adults only. Our first day we arrived at 8:30 am their time and were exhausted after driving all night but they did not have any rooms available for us to rent until our room was ready, but they were very sympathetic and had our room ready for us at 12:00 instead of the usual 4:00 check in. I think some of us sleeping in their lobby may have been an incentive,lol.
The only negative thing I can think of is the charge for WIFI this is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where it wasnt free.
The only time we drove our vehicle during the week was to go shopping at Jersey Gardens Outlet Stores. We got lots of great deals and it was only a 15 or 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We have stayed at the Embassy Suite in Secaucus almost every year for the past several years. The location is great to get to NYC. Unfortunately, the property appears to have gone downhill in our eyes. The room was not as clean as hoped. The furniture somewhat rundown and the carpet needed to be replaced in our room. With the variety of other options in the area including the Courtyard, Hyatt Place etc., - we will probably not stay at this Embassy Suites in the future. The staff is OK but not as helpful as other Embassy Suites. The business center is good but the computers are old and the access program prevents one from accessing things like Facebook which is now part of the social media that we use in business. The worst was the cost for wireless internet access. Paying over $200/night for the room and then being asked to pay $14.95 for 24 hour internet service is ridiculous when most properties provide it at no cost. This alone is a showstopper in today's world. It is sad that we will not be staying at this hotel in the future which we have enjoyed in the past.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We enjoyed 4 nights at ES in Secaucus. The bus ride to NYC was very convenient (be sure you have a ticket in hand for the return from the city!) and quick -- except for rush hour in the afternoon. The breakfast was fine. We didn't have much chance to try the afternoon cocktail party. The room was nice and large, like other ES at which we've stayed. The wireless internet should be included, but all in all, a good stay at the big apple.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We chose to stay in Secaucus based on others' reviews saying it worked well to stay in NJ and take the bus into NYC, you can get a better hotel room for much less $$, etc. And the Embassy delivered with no "major" issues, so I'm giving 4 stars. But that 4th star is a bit weak, because of a few small problems.

The sound-proofing is not great, and if (like us) mom and dad decide to take the sofa-bed and give the kids the bedroom, you may be awakened by nighttime noises from people in the atrium, or by early morning Muzak as they start up the breakfast.

Other Embassy Suites offer free Internet, but here when I brought up my laptop I saw a message saying "we are charging your card" as I connected. Maybe there was some fine print that I missed, but I thought it was a bit sneaky and cheap for them to take $14.95 per day just for an Internet connection. I think they should join the 21st century and provide this as a free service, like most hotels do now.

On the plus side, the breakfast is good, with eggs or pancakes made to order (but stale pastries).

If you find yourself at this hotel at lunch time, take the easy walk under the parking garage across the street to the shopping center nearby, you will find a good selection of decent, fast lunch options including a new-looking Cosi's that I would give 5 stars, but it doesn't show up on TripAdvisor yet.

The bus ride to NYC really is convenient, but if you're returning from the city at about 10PM, beware that the departure gate for the 320 bus shifts silently from one floor to another, and (in typical NY/NJ fashion) there is no announcement of this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We hopped a NJ Transit bus right outside the hotel which took us in 20 minutes to the Port Authority, a short walk from Times Square. On our return, the bus dropped us right back in front of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a room upgrade at no extra charge. We got two huge bedrooms with king sized beds and two full baths in addition to the living area. It was great for five girls doing Broadway. The one thing I didn't like was the location of the parking garage. It was behind the hotel. If I had had to walk from the garage to the door of the hotel by myself at night, I would have felt unsafe. The pool is small.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBiobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel twice already, In May 2008 and Aug 2009. The best hotel if you want to visit NYC, close enough to Manhattan. We love the fact that we can drive from Toronto to Secaucus and leave our car in the free hotel parkade for the duration of our stay and take bus each day to visit NYC. Perfect! Bus stop is across the street from the hotel entrance, cheap, efficient and fast. You are in Port Authority in no time, in the middle of all attractions of wonderful NY. Hotel is clean, suites are spacious, beds are comfortable. There are two TV sets in each suite, microwave, fridge and safe. Breakfast is excellent, cooked to order, lots of variety, keeps you going till lunch time, no problem. We did not use the hotel pool, have not been in the hotel during happy hour either. We strongly recommend this hotel. We will come back again, possibly even this year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing