We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meadowlands River Inn(Secaucus)(Great Value!)
$143
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Secaucus(Secaucus)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$107
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands(Secaucus)(Great Value!)
$126
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$130
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
548
470
264
172
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
470
264
172
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionacross the streetthe busnew yorkomeletmade to order breakfastport authoritypancakesfree parkingliving roomtimes squareexpo centerfree breakfastinto nycnj transitpotatoesrestaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
1,447 - 1,452 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We took our 11 & 13 year old grandchildren to visit New York City and stayed at this hotel. It was most enjoyable because of the very friendly and helpful staff, and comfortable, spacious rooms. The complimentary breakfast each morning was very good, especially the made to order omelets. We had the most contact with Joel and Ange, two of the attendants at the desk. They were always courteous, helpful, and friendly. We had made two separate reservations because the same room was not available for all of the nights of our stay when we initially made the reservations. Ange stored our luggage for us so we could be on our way for the day. When we returned that night, our luggage was waiting in our new room.
The NJ Transit bus to Port Authority worked out very well. The good price of our room made the bus trip worthwhile. The swimming pool is small, but our grandkids loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank twotogo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

The Embassy Suites in Secaucus is ideally located for trips to NYC.

The hotel is typical of what you expect out of an Embassy Suites. That is to say high quality and good value. (Nice new tv's, super comfortable bed)

If you forget to buy your I love NY t-shirts downtown, you can get them in the gift shop (along with some nice other items) at a fair price.

The rooms have refrigerators in them.

There is a Wal-Mart and a Sams Club down the street. Along with a handful of chain restaurants and a sports bar and a movie theater.

The only reason I don't give this a 5 star review is the breakfast. The breakfast cooks at this hotel were below average. The sausage, bacon and potatoes were cold. Admittedly...this is a nit because the breakfast is free.

Having said that...we got spoiled at the breakfast at the Embassy Suites Las Vegas where the breakfast cooks there were awesome.

So...after my little nit pickiness about the breakfast, everything else I have to say is all high praise.

I will be staying at this hotel again.

A good tip (if you're driving) is to take the GW Bridge into the city rather than the Lincoln Tunnel. The toll is the same but the traffic was consistently lighter throughout our trip. Otherwise, take the bus. It's right around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MikeinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We booked a five night stay at the Embassy Suites, Secaucus and it was absolutely the right decision to stay slightly outside the centre of the city. We were given a great two roomed suite on the 9th floor with views towards Manhatten including the Empire State Building. Great huge comfortable bed, very comfortable sitting area and a spacious bathroom. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation! Admittedly, it isn't a five start luxury hotel but it was so relaxing and perfect for a great stay. The complimentary breakfast was OK, reasonable choice and if you choose your time right the Atrium for eating was not too busy. You can take the breakfast to your room if you prefer but I liked the idea that I could go down at 6.30am for coffee to take to the room and then go for breakfast with my wife later. The bar was fine and the manager's reception with one free drink, free light snacks and additional drinks at 1 dollar 50 cents between 5.30pm and 7.30pm was great if you happened to be in the hotel at the time - not something to rush back for however. Transport into the centre (Port Authority Bus Terminal) just one block from Times Squre was convenient and cheap. The 320 bus stops outside the hotel and runs frequently. A few must dos in the city are Ellen's Starburst Diner just off Times Square which was great for an hour of fun with OK food. Dinner in 'The View' (Lounge not restaurant) at the Marriott Marquis on Times Square was good value at less than 30 dollars for a quality eat all you want buffet revolving 48 blocks above Times Square was fabulous as dusk set in and the skyscrapers lit up. One tip is to go at 5.30pm as soon as it opens if you want a window seat as it fills up quickly. We bought a 7 day subway pass at 25 dollars each and this was value for money and enabled us to pack in a huge amount of sightseeing - much better value than the open deck tour buses which were twice the price and were frequently stuck in the traffic. All in all, the Embassy Suites, Secaucus proved to be the perfect choice for us and if we were to return to New York we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed at Embassy Suites, Secaucus for 3 nights and loved its close location to Manhattan. The bus to Port Authority (one block away from Times Square) stopped just across the street every 15 minutes and it took quick 15-20 minutes to get to Manhattan. It cost $3.20 each way for the ticket and kids are free on holidays and weekends. I recommend for you to buy tickets both ways on the way there so you don't have to fiddle around with the money on the way back. It was extremely convenient and the hotel staff was very helpful with directions and also provided us with the bus schedule.
The parking is in the covered garage and is free to all guests. There is plenty of parking for everyone, so finding a spot even late at night was not a problem. We had two school aged kids with us and they loved having their own TV and a fold out couch in the den. We loved the privacy of our room, having the safe as well as a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. Breakfast was pretty decent and I highly recomment the cappuccino in the morning.
All in all this was a great pick for seeing the sites of Manhattan and the surrounding subburbs. If you want to see the Statue of Liberty up close, take the ferry from Liberty Park, NJ. It took us 20 minutes to get there by car. If you did not get a chance to get the tickets for inside the Statue of Liberty monument, ask at the information office right on the island and they may be able to help you out with tickets. We got 4 just by simply asking. Ellis Island museum is not worth the trip in my opinion, but is good to see so you can say that you've been there. If you are going there from NJ side, be sure to see the Ellis Island first and then move on to the Liberty island, otherwise, you will have to come back to the Statue on the way back. I also recommend Gray Line double decker busses. We purchased a 4 loop ticket on their website and were able to cover a lot of ground in 48 hours. If you have kids, this is a cool way to see the city and it cuts down on transportation expenses. We got a "buy one get one free" special and only paid $90 for 48 hours of 4 loop service. That was a great deal!!!!
Enjoy yourself and don't be affraid to book this hotel, it will be well worth it and far less expensive than Manhattan!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank turist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I use trip advisor alot to see what other consumers say & I love pictures from others when I can see them. This helped with my decision to stay here as well as their reputation & location.
It worked out great!

There was one hotel guy who helped a huge amount & was very pleasant. A couple of others were a little disturbed by our asking questions or whatever, but I chalk it up to them being very busy. The other guy even gave me his cell # if we had problems when we out & about & got lost or what have you. Didn't need it but was nice of him to offer. We are from Oregon & never have been to NY area.

Great stay. The woman who runs the Breakfast was a problem in that she had everything even the coffee put away exactly at the closing time. So if you are late- too bad - can't even get a refill!

We were too late for the evening managers thing except for 2 times. Was good though, cheese, veges, chips, salsa, dip, 1 free drink.

Pool small but I didn't use. Too busy in NY. Bus stop right across street. Wifi in lobby - pay for in your room. I just used 1 of 3 computers in the lobby.

Room was clean & nice. A friend went with us & they gave us a roll away to use instead of couch which was better. When they made our room up they kept taking her sheets & just leaving new ones folded on bed. Had to tell them to make the bed not strip. What traveler wants to make it every day??

Need better air conditioning - could have been cooler for us. Was unseasonably warm when we went.

I took hundreds of pics all over NY but I can't find my hotel pics on this one. Very nice room, clean & bathroom was nice size. So worth it! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KCBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews