We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual high standard for the chain - great morning chef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is now our favorite place to stay when visiting family in the Jersey City area. Best part is watching the breakfast chef. We've stayed at many ES over the years. This cook ranks among the best. After our first morning, she knew our preferences; she missed us on the morning we didn't come for the usual fare; she remembered us the next time we visited 3 weeks later.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was one of our worst travel experiences. Hotel was "full". Requested rollaway bed as no room with 2 beds avail.We were with a flight crew and finally got the bed about 5:30 AM on the time we were on. Took 5 calls, and approx 8 hrs before we got one. Then it was in such bad shape--huge indentation in middle--that my dau could not sleep and got up to fill with blankets in the middle. Furniture was stained and old and appeared very dirty. Floor had stains all over. Very unclean room. Went to managers reception before trying to go to bed, food was all gone--long line for drinks so we skipped it. After a few hrs sleep, went down for bkf--no where to sit, again food all gone. Found a table and pulled over a few chairs, went to cooking line only to be told bkf ended at 9AM. Many families came down to find same thing. Very poor!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and choose a higher room for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgdrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for all of the inconveniences. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The room was sweltering, the furniture torn and stained, sitting room TV disconnected, breakfast not up to par. Staff friendly and polite, but couldn't help much in resolving issues. Large rooms, with standard suite accoutrements. I was traveling for business, but chose Embassy Suites because I'd brought my family. The space was useful, but it was not a comfortable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I go to NYC a couple of times a year and like to stay in Secaucus, primarily because its close to Teterboro and only a few minutes by bus to Manhattan (rush hour not withstanding).

On my last trip two weeks ago I decided to stay at the Embassy Suites (the only hotel in the area that I had not tried).
I am not sure what the suites deal was all about but my room was the size of a broom closet and so was my coworker's. Breakfast was a nightmare the lines were extremely long and it just became easier to go across the street and eat at the Starbucks.
The next day I got up at the crack of dawn to have a shot at the breakfast which wasn't very good, the eggs are the only decent part of the buffet everything is prestty unhealthy and low quality.

Overall it was a pretty disappointing stay, the front desk wasn't accommodating at all in changing rooms so effectively we paid suite prices only to get a room half the size of most other hotels - I felt like I was in a European hotel minus the service.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the corner rooms - they are the size of a brrom closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were here on a bus trip to NYC. This was obviously a luxury hotel "in its day." The furniture and carpeting show signs of many years of wear. However, it was neat and clean and VERY roomy! I especially liked the bedroom (with TV) being separated from the "sitting area" (with another TV) as I get up a few hours before my husband and could shower, etc. w/o disturbing him. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING...with omelets, etc. "made to order." With a little modernizing, I would rate it EXCELLENT! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Everyone in our group liked their room, so I guess any area would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel during your recent visit to the area. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Conveniently located near New York City and not too expensive for that region, this place is hard to beat with many restaurants nearby, a Walmart across the street, and a one seat bus ride into Manhattan at the door. The room was spacious and comfortable, the climate control was good, as was the water pressure, elevators were spacious and efficient, and the free breakfast, which includes an omelet bar was a highlight. Unfortunately, the staff weren't the nicest or smartest people around, and rooms on the lower floors are exposed to a lot of nice from the indoor courtyard at all hours; luckily you can drown it out by closing your bedroom door when you go to sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter; some higher floor rooms are set aside exclusively for Hilton Hhonors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent visit to the area. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel offerings as well as our convenient location. Our apologies for issues you encountered with our staff. I would like to know more specifics so we can address the concerns. Your input is greatly appreciated as this is how we can better ourselves.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We wanted to see 2 baseball games in NY but just couldn't find a hotel that was reasonable and fit our tastes. I searched for the closest Embassy Suites (our favorite chain) and found this one. A bus right across the street takes you to Port Authority in 15 minutes. Free parking and a fabulous hot breakfast and $200 a night suites makes this a great value. My only negative is that it's time for this hotel to get some new carpet. Great service, though.

Room Tip: Being a Hilton Honors member (free to join) gets you on the higher floors, which is less noisy and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shurwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel in Secaucus during your recent visit. With so many options, we are pleased you selected us and look forward to welcoming you back should you return for another baseball game.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: $141 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing