We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great less expensive option than Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great less expensive option than Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived and was pleasantly greeted by front desk mgr. Jolsen (first name). He assigned me a room on the 2nd floor. Upon inspection, my wife and I could tell that carpet had been shampooed too many times because of the mildew odor in the air. Back to Jolsen we went and he immediately rectified the situation by placing us in a better room on the 8th floor. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet(especially after you close the door that seperate the 1st room from the second room), the bathroom nicely done. The furniture in the rooms are severely dated and way past due for an upgrade I felt like I was in a time warp back to the 70's but as long as the bed was comfortable I didn't care about chairs/ sofa I didn't spent too much time sitting on them since I was in town to visit family and see the Big East Championship tourney anyway. I had never stayed at an Embassy Suites before and I liked that Breakfast was included. It was more than just cold cereals and pastries, they had an grill station where you could get made to order eggs (omelet,scrambled etc). Fresh pancakes were available from the same grill lady. Home fries, bacon and or sausage buffet style. The hotel also offered to the guests happy hour in the evening from 5-7 free snacks and discounted drinks. I did not have time to take advantage of that but I thought it was a nice idea. I gave hotel a very good because of the location and the great service. If the rooms had better decor, I would have considered 5 stars but I would characterize it as a good business travelers hotel.

Room Tip: It seems like the rooms on the second floor get a great deal of usage ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giacobbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased you selected our hotel for your visit and hope you will consider us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    400
    222
    134
    69
See reviews for
593
183
23
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great option for someone who wants to visit New York but prefers to stay just out of the city. This hotel situated in New Jersey is just that, with the 320 bus which stops right in front of the hotel you can get to downtown Manhattan in less than 15 minutes, it's great and cost you less than 8 US Dollars return. The hotel is good, not the newest but beds are comfortable and the staff is outstanding, the will go the extra mile for you. Special thanks to David Incze who helped us to get to the hotel and guided a completely lost NY taxi driver straight to the 455 Plaza Drive. Right next to the hotal there's a number of great restaurants from steak to lobster to Mexico, as well as a Starbucks, all in walking distance. All in all a great alternative.

Room Tip: Bus 320 straight into New York downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Secaucus. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our location which is convenient to NYC as well as many area restaurants and shop. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future should you return to our area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed her 12 times so far. staff are lovely. rooms are spacious & clean. beds are by far the most comfortable I've stayed in in any hotel. breakfast is great so much to choose from. only downside is drinks in bar are very expensive & although food is lovely waiting time is too long. very understaffed. bus to Manhattan pick up is right outside the hotel & its only a 15-20 min ride to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarsheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to the NYC area. We truly appreciate your input on the areas which can be improved upon.

We looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the picture of the indoor pool we saw online. The room was fine, nice and clean and equipped with a mini-frig and microwave, which we found handy. We were traveling with our two grand-kids, and they had a ball with the scenic elevator, buffet breakfast, and "happy hour" during which we ordered some very reasonably priced selections.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter it seemed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel in Secaucus during your recent trip to our area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with your grandchildren. I know how difficult it is to find hotels with an indoor pool in this area, and are glad you found us.

We hope you will stay with us again should you return to the area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversink, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel multiple times when we want to take in Manhattan without feeling rushed. We stayed there when we went to see The Rocky Horror Show in Chelsea as well as taking a trip to see The Statue of Liberty. It is such a quick drive into the city and a lot more affordable than staying in Manhattan. The hotel itself is very pretty when you walk in and the rooms are all small apartments with 2 TV's and a little coffee station and fridge so it's so ideal for families. On one stay the pool was closed for renovations and the hotel didn't inform us when we booked,(not nice) instead they gave us a free movie that night. I think they should have given us a choice to stay or not at booking...however.....The hotel has it's own restaurant that's nice and the morning breakfast has plenty of choices and room to sit. The elevators are glass so the kids got a kick out of them. I would stay again.

Room Tip: they're all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tialisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to the NYC area. We truly appreciate your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the issue you encountered with our pool not being open. Sometimes we have to conduct routine maintenance on the pool to provide a clean and safe place for our guests. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place was very nice. The rooms were large and very clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The parking garage was a little daunting for a woman traveling alone at night. The free drink should have included the $4.00 San Pelgrino bottled water that they charged me for at the bar. I would stay here again. Very convenient to Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Secaucus. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I arrived here last year when the nor'easter hit NJ. Even with all the chaos the staff were awesome. The rooms are clean and fairly new, even better there is a Starbucks IN-HOUSE!! The single serve coffee's in the room are also Starbucks. Little details make it that much more luxurious...or comfortable how ever you see it.
The parking is good but pickings are slim for restaurants unless you have car. The breakfast is tasty and always hot! The prices are fair for what is offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing