We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveler rating
556
474
268
173
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
474
268
173
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionacross the streetthe busnew yorkomeletmade to order breakfastport authoritypancakesfree parkingliving roomtimes squareexpo centerfree breakfastinto nycnj transitpotatoesrestaurants within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
1,359 - 1,364 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We are a family of 5 - 3 teenage sons. The Embassy worked out extremely well for us. We arrived at 9 am and were able to check into our room. Parked in the convenient FREE parking, unloaded our luggage, got ready for a day of touring, got on the bus across the street from the hotel - $7.90 round trip for adults, $3.60 for kids. We had exact change but the driver could make change on the bus. The drivers were all extremely courteous and helpful. The trip into the city was extremely short - love the bus lanes! Port Authority is convenient and easy to navigate. No worries about trying to park or drive in the city. We were sightseeing by 10 am.

We looked for a hotel in Manhattan that would accomodate 5. Not easy to find for a reasonable price. This was a better alternative for us. This Embassy is typical. A little worn around the edges - there is no "old smell" here as someone else mentioned. Our room was quite clean, but it was worn. The beds were only doubles, but we all slept well - even the one on the pullout sofa - OK, so he is a 17 year old and probably could sleep propped up against a wall, but we got no complaints about the bed from him. The 2 rooms were great - more room to spread out and 2 TVs. The pool is small, but it is still wet which is really what matters. The breakfast buffet was very good - made to order omlette was yummy. We were there at 7:30 am and there were no crowds. The guest services book in the room clearly states that if you wait until 8:30, breakfast will be crowded. So go early. The managers reception was a nice prelude to dinner - lots of choices, not just wine and beer. One free alcoholic drink per adult guest - additional alcoholic beverages are $2. They had soda for the kids and snacks - hummus and pita chips, terrachips, salsa and tortilla chips, bagel chip snack mix. Not bad for free.

The second day we drove to Liberty State Park to catch the ferry to the Statue of Liberty. (get the crown tickets when they become available again!!) Again go early - NO crowds at all - walked up to the ticket window, walked through security, and walked onto the ferry. Your ticket time doesn't seem to matter.

We did request additional pillows and towels which were delivered promptly. We didn't have much contact with the front desk, but they were courteous when we checked in.

Very safe feeling area, lots of chain restaurant options- we ate at Bonefish Grill which was excellent, some shopping close by (Wal-Mart, etc.)

I think if you enjoy visiting the city, but don't mind escaping the madness at night, the Embassy would be a good choice. It isn't luxurious, but certainly comfortable. The only real negative for me was no free internet. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanibelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at our hotel during your visit to the New York City area.

We are pleased that you enjoyed all the benefits of staying at an Embassy Suites Hotels and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent a week at Embassy Suites, Secaucus NJ and loved it. The hotel is set up for families, with their suites well able to accomodate a family of four. We had two teenagers with us, the youngest took one of the two double beds and the eldest used the pull out bed in the suites "living room". It gave us the space that we needed to chill out after a hard days sightseeing in NYC. The inclusive breakfast is really good... don't complain about the long lines in the last 45 minutes of the breakfast time slot... the hotel is very up-front about the benefits of breakfasting earlier. They don't run out of food, just seating space (and you can take food back to your suite if you want). The bus into NYC (NJ Transit #320) leaves from right outisde the hotel and we never waited more than 5 minutes for one to arrive. It usually takes 15 minutes but can be 25 min in peak time on weekdays. Fare is reasonable $4 each way and it drops you in the Port Authority terminal on 42nd St, just 5 minutes walk from Times Square. There are some nice places to eat within 5 minutes walk in Harmon Meadow.. we liked Houlihans best. The area feels very safe, we certainly saw nothing to worry us in the week that we stayed there. There's a Wal-Mart a block away, but it's more convenient to shop for essentials in the stores in the Port Authority before taking the bus back to the hotel. If you fly in, Newark airport is the most convenient. La Guardia or JFK are OK if you don't mind a $100+ cab fare, unpredictable traffic or lugging big cases on and off buses / subway trains. (You can carry big bags on the NJ Transit bus, but construction work at PATH means the driver cannot access the undercarriage lockers and if it's a peak time the driver could refuse to accept it). The hotel pool is a bit small, but it does have one. All in all, it's a great hotel if you want to enjoy NYC and escape to peace and calm overnight. You will not find anything this good for anywhere near the same price on Manhattan Island. Don't forget the free glass of beer or wine every evening!
Only complaint... no free wireless internet.

Room Tip: Two double bed suites are good for families.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for the comments from your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your patronage and your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5+ nights and I would describe the experience as a mixed bag - some big positives offset by some big negatives. Overall, an average experience...but just barely.

Positives

-Location: (1) Getting a suite hotel so close to New York City for around $200 per night at the height of summer tourist season is quite incredible. Comparable NYC hotel rates would run $400 upwards (with smaller rooms, not suites). (2) The bus stop to Port Authority in NYC is right in front of the hotel and the buses run every 20 min, even on the weekends. Adult round-trip is $7.90 and kids can ride half rate or free, depending on the time of the week. It takes 20-25 min to get to NYC. (3) Good restaurants within 5-min walking distance, including Chipotle, Houlihans, Starbucks, Applebees, Burger King, etc. Walmart within walking distance as well.

-Breakfast: Included in the hotel price. Good spread and include made-to-order omelets, something even high-end hotels may not offer. However, it can get crowded, so you have to get there early.

-Staff: Staff is polite and helpful. Newspaper is delivered to your door.

Negatives

-The hotel is in serious need of a renovation. I have noticed that Hilton has let Embassy Suites in many other cities including Atlanta run down. This one has stained carpets, peeling wallpaper, worn linen, old curtains, and general odor of "oldness" permeating the hotel. The plastic handle of the eliptical exercise machine in the gym fell off when I grasped it firmly.

-Getting to and from NYC can get to be a drag. You have to go to Port Authority and from there get to your destination. My wife said that the next time we are staying in NYC, small rooms or not.

-The foldout sofa-bed was worthless. I overhead other guests complain as well. It's not that it was uncomfortable; after all, all sofa-beds are generally uncomfortable. These ones were not fit to sleep on. Springs jutting out; paper thin mattress. We had to ask for an extra mattress.

All in all, we will look for another hotel within NYC the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite; it is 30% larger than an ordinary suite.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgwode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your review and for selecting our hotel during your recent visit to the New York City area. We truly appreciate your comments and your patronage. It is feedback such as your which helps us improve ourselves.

We hope you will consider us again during any future travels to the area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for Family & Friends Weekend at my daughter's Manhattan College....Nice separate bedroom, clean room, plenty of extra towels/pillows when we asked & great buffet breakfast (complimentary) each day. The bus to Port Authority/NYC is convenient to travel back & forth to Manhattan & does not take long at all! We had one experience with a rude NJ Transit driver who almost drove off without us at Port Authority so get ready to be assertive! Its NYC! The indoor pool was a plus after a long day in the city:) The hotel does advertise a "free shuttle" to surrounding area (dining, shopping, etc.) although when we inquired about this, the man at the front desk said the shuttle was only for trips back & forth to the airport. We did walk to the Walmart and Sams...(not too far but couldn't carry much!) Stayed at the Hyatt Place in August & their shuttles would take you anywhere and pick you up when you were done shopping...however no pool there... Hope this review is helpful if you are flying in and need transportation. (If you are driving, you can't beat the free parking at many hotels in this area)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReallyRosieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for the review from your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad you selected the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands during your visit to the New York City area. I apologize that our shuttle was not available to take you to Walmart and Sams Club but am glad that you enjoyed our indoor pool during your visit.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed only at 1 other Embassy Suites which was awesome and was located n DC. So the whole time I was at this location I was comparing the 2. The lady at check in was not that friendly, and did not offer any details on anything. The room was nice but a bit worn. The managers reception seemed ok but we got there as it was about to end. The breakfast was not nearly as nice as the DC location. It was included though so I can't really complain about that. It did take quite a while for the elevator to make its way up to the 9th floor in the morning. The ladies working at the desk in the morning were very nice and helpful. The bus stop was right across the street from the hotel which was great. The area of the hotel is perfect and we felt very safe. It was a quick bus ride into the city and it dropped us off very close to Times Square. Overall, this hotel was average, nothing fancy and probably not worth the $269 that I payed. I can't wait to go back to visit NY. I would probably try out a different hotel next time...But definetly in the same area!!

Room Tip: 9th floor offers a nice view of NYC
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to completely satisfy your needs during your visit. We strive to provide clean comfortable accommodations. Please consider us again during any future visits to our area and please contact me personally so I can make certain that you have a pleasant experience.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews