We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, But Hotel Needs Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5+ nights and I would describe the experience as a mixed bag - some big positives offset by some big negatives. Overall, an average experience...but just barely.

Positives

-Location: (1) Getting a suite hotel so close to New York City for around $200 per night at the height of summer tourist season is quite incredible. Comparable NYC hotel rates would run $400 upwards (with smaller rooms, not suites). (2) The bus stop to Port Authority in NYC is right in front of the hotel and the buses run every 20 min, even on the weekends. Adult round-trip is $7.90 and kids can ride half rate or free, depending on the time of the week. It takes 20-25 min to get to NYC. (3) Good restaurants within 5-min walking distance, including Chipotle, Houlihans, Starbucks, Applebees, Burger King, etc. Walmart within walking distance as well.

-Breakfast: Included in the hotel price. Good spread and include made-to-order omelets, something even high-end hotels may not offer. However, it can get crowded, so you have to get there early.

-Staff: Staff is polite and helpful. Newspaper is delivered to your door.

Negatives

-The hotel is in serious need of a renovation. I have noticed that Hilton has let Embassy Suites in many other cities including Atlanta run down. This one has stained carpets, peeling wallpaper, worn linen, old curtains, and general odor of "oldness" permeating the hotel. The plastic handle of the eliptical exercise machine in the gym fell off when I grasped it firmly.

-Getting to and from NYC can get to be a drag. You have to go to Port Authority and from there get to your destination. My wife said that the next time we are staying in NYC, small rooms or not.

-The foldout sofa-bed was worthless. I overhead other guests complain as well. It's not that it was uncomfortable; after all, all sofa-beds are generally uncomfortable. These ones were not fit to sleep on. Springs jutting out; paper thin mattress. We had to ask for an extra mattress.

All in all, we will look for another hotel within NYC the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite; it is 30% larger than an ordinary suite.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgwode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your review and for selecting our hotel during your recent visit to the New York City area. We truly appreciate your comments and your patronage. It is feedback such as your which helps us improve ourselves.

We hope you will consider us again during any future travels to the area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for Family & Friends Weekend at my daughter's Manhattan College....Nice separate bedroom, clean room, plenty of extra towels/pillows when we asked & great buffet breakfast (complimentary) each day. The bus to Port Authority/NYC is convenient to travel back & forth to Manhattan & does not take long at all! We had one experience with a rude NJ Transit driver who almost drove off without us at Port Authority so get ready to be assertive! Its NYC! The indoor pool was a plus after a long day in the city:) The hotel does advertise a "free shuttle" to surrounding area (dining, shopping, etc.) although when we inquired about this, the man at the front desk said the shuttle was only for trips back & forth to the airport. We did walk to the Walmart and Sams...(not too far but couldn't carry much!) Stayed at the Hyatt Place in August & their shuttles would take you anywhere and pick you up when you were done shopping...however no pool there... Hope this review is helpful if you are flying in and need transportation. (If you are driving, you can't beat the free parking at many hotels in this area)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReallyRosieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for the review from your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad you selected the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands during your visit to the New York City area. I apologize that our shuttle was not available to take you to Walmart and Sams Club but am glad that you enjoyed our indoor pool during your visit.

Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed only at 1 other Embassy Suites which was awesome and was located n DC. So the whole time I was at this location I was comparing the 2. The lady at check in was not that friendly, and did not offer any details on anything. The room was nice but a bit worn. The managers reception seemed ok but we got there as it was about to end. The breakfast was not nearly as nice as the DC location. It was included though so I can't really complain about that. It did take quite a while for the elevator to make its way up to the 9th floor in the morning. The ladies working at the desk in the morning were very nice and helpful. The bus stop was right across the street from the hotel which was great. The area of the hotel is perfect and we felt very safe. It was a quick bus ride into the city and it dropped us off very close to Times Square. Overall, this hotel was average, nothing fancy and probably not worth the $269 that I payed. I can't wait to go back to visit NY. I would probably try out a different hotel next time...But definetly in the same area!!

Room Tip: 9th floor offers a nice view of NYC
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to completely satisfy your needs during your visit. We strive to provide clean comfortable accommodations. Please consider us again during any future visits to our area and please contact me personally so I can make certain that you have a pleasant experience.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We chose this hotel because it is literally just down the street from the NJ Transit line, and for the restaurants immediately in front of the hotel. The hotel wasn't hard to find at all; we took I-95 North all the way and never had to use the GPS! The staff at check-in was wonderful, the two gentlemen both made conversation and the young woman was dealing with a large family but was very courteous and polite. We encountered two suitekeepers, who were both very friendly as well as the bartender who gave us plates for the cake we bought from Carlo's Bakery in Hoboken. The room was awesome, and the level of cleanliness was outstanding!

We spent most of our time in Manhattan, but the Manager's Reception did look very inviting and cozy while we were passing through, and breakfast looked delicious!

My family plans on making this trip a tradition, and we have definitely found our hotel of choice for years to come.

Keep up the good wood Embassy Suites Secaucus.

~S.Pillow

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spillow804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel, particularly those regarding our staff which provided friendly service. We realize there are many choices when it comes to accommodations and we appreciate you selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel as your hotel of choice during your travels to our area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here one night before catching a cruise out of NYC. It's the typical Embassy Suites - large rooms, weeknight receptions, full breakfast etc, but, even by area standards, we found it to be quite pricey.
We had problems with getting the credit card keys to work. The mattress was far too soft.
It was adequate but not above average.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. Your input is greatly appreciated as it is feedback from our valued guests which helps us better ourselves. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We're a family of 6,(4 teenagers) and this was a great hotel for our first time to NYC. We stayed in an Executive Suite which had a bedroom with 2 double beds and a large living room area with a pullout couch and room for an inflatable mattress. Plenty of room for everyone with room to spread out and unwind at the end of the day. Great breakfast. Also a NJ Transit bus stop across the street that takes you to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in the heart of Manhattan. Lots of restaraunts neaby and a Walmart if you forgot something. Very safe area. Will definately stay there again if we go back.

Room Tip: For large families (6 or more) ask for an executive suite. They'll sleep up to 8.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparsons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you selected the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus-Meadowlands during your recent visit to the New York City area. Your patronage is greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We've used Embassy Suites before so we knew what to expect. While the suite was nice, not great, the amenities were excellent. The full complementary breakfast to the convenience of the bus stop to Manhattan across the street to the free parking made this a enjoyable and very affordable visit to NYC. We had an 8th-floor room with a great view of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadeeqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your comments and your patronage. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: $161 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing