We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, comfortable, but deceptive booking and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland, VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, comfortable, but deceptive booking and poor service”
Reviewed January 1, 2007

A good location for visiting Manhattan at half the cost of a room in the city. We booked two rooms by phone and were assured that a rollaway bed could be provided in a room with two queen beds. I called to confirm the night before, however, on arrival we were told the rollaway could not be provided due to fire regulations. I regard this as a deception by Courtyard - other hotels I had called were more honest about the number of beds their rooms could take - in future I will be calling them first.

Also part of our reservation was a request for a crib. This was not provided when we asked at check in nor when we called later in the evening.

The bus (NJ Transit line 320) stops right outside and costs $5.70 round trip to the Port Authority bus terminal a few blocks from Times Square. The Amerisuites, Embassy Suites and Holiday Inn are served by the same bus, have similar rates and are slightly closer to the city.

The area is well developed and seems safe.

  • Disliked — Deceptive booking practice, poor service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VTPikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    104
    44
    9
    21
See reviews for
70
46
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

My wife and I are frequent travellers to NYC. We discovered the Secaucus Courtyard as an excellent alternative to the much higher priced hotels in NYC. A comparable room in Manhattan would easily be twice the cost or more. The bus ride into Port Authority is about 20 minutes, the bus stop is just outside the hotel, and bus service is reliable and inexpensive. A nice comfortable place to stay with good conveniences and services!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Not in the heart of NYC
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

This hotel was excellent choice for $109 / night + tax. I have stayed there for expo taking place in Jacob Javits. Bus stop right outside the hotel takes 15-20 mins (5.70 return trip) to Port Authority Bus Terminal (PABT). Then it was 10 min walk to Jacob Javits. Surprisingly, bus was more on time during weekday morning peak hours as it has special lane through the tunnel. I had to wait about an hour inside PABT for delayed bus on Sunday afternoon because buses got stocked in high traffic coming to PABT. However, the bus driver said that it does not happen too often.

Hotel is clean, 100% smoke free, beds comfy, nice bathrooms, free wifi - just what I was expecting from courtyard. Good thing is that there are plenty of restaurants near hotel, two in the building and plenty in 5-10 mins distance. The area itself around the hotel is also quite ok, though it got somewhat crowded before the Jets-Patriots game one day. If you fly in and out, you do not need a car. I had one but only used for transportation from and to the airport (would be too much hassle to return it early), otherwise, it was parked in the lot. I had friends staying in different hotel right next to Madison Square Garden for $250/night, but seeing their room, I am glad I have stayed in Courtyard.

Only hassle can be if you are into late night drinking in the city, as I had to rush once to catch the last bus to avoid $45 cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Honzeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Nice hotel. We stayed here to see New York City. The hotel provided a free shuttle to the trains, which we took from Secaucus to Penn Station in New York City (from which point we walked or took the New York subway from place to place). At the end of the day, we called ahead from Penn Station, and the shuttle was waiting for us on the Secaucus side to bring us back to the hotel.

The area around the hotel was safe with a lot of restaurants in walking distance. Free parking in a lot with security was nice.

Hotel staff were very helpful, although we spent minimal time in the hotel. We didn't try the restaurant. The queen sized beds were nice. Room size was average.

Price of the hotel was higher than other cities we visited, but in line with other hotels in the New York area.

I'd stay there again if going back to NYC. Great experience.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank IntermittentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2006

We stayed here from 06/306 to 06/05/06.

Pros:
Check-in was fast and easy.
Free covered parking adjacent to hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Free Hi-speed wireless internet in rooms.
Close to restaurants/shopping/mall
NJ Transit #320 Bus to NYC stops right outside hotel and whisks you right to the NYC Port Authority Bus Terminal in Times Square!


Cons:
Room seemed clean but was musty smelling
Uncomfortable beds/pillows
No in-room safe

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

After researching until I couldn't take it anymore, I settled on the Secaucus Courtyard Marriott. We were going to a NJ Nets games, after reading over a dozen reviews about various hotels in the Meadowland/Secaucus area, I picked this one and I’m glad that I did.

I didn't encounter a single problem other then the low water pressure when I took my shower. The bed and bedding was immaculate, the bathroom was clean and even had a floor mat. I reserved a King room with a sleeper sofa, this room also included a huge workstation and Internet hook-up all set up to go.

Even though they didn’t have any smoking rooms available, I was pleased to arrive at my non-smoking room to find two ashtrays and matches. Overall I would defiantly stay at this hotel again, when I’m in Jersey.

If you are looking for something in your price range and you want what you pay for. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands

Property: Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands
Address: 455 Harmon Meadow Boulevard, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands is conveniently located near many popular area destinations, including the MetLife Stadium (formerly Meadowlands Stadium) and the Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). As one of the top hotels in Secaucus, NJ, our lobby offers multifunctional common areas, complimentary high-speed Internet and more for guests to easily flow from work to relaxation. Unique among Secaucus hotels, our GoBoard(R) enables guests to stay current with the latest in news, entertainment, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves freshly-prepared meals in a café environment where guests can wine and dine with friends, family, or colleagues. Our Meadowlands hotel offers spacious rooms with luxury bedding, large work desks, free Wi-Fi, and well-lit bathroom vanities featuring Paul Mitchell(R) products. From arrival to departure, the hardworking staff at our hotel in Secaucus works to ensure guests enjoy all of the comforts of home and quality of a Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Courtyard
Secaucus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing