We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Rooms are good, impressive facilities (microwave, kitchen and laundry). Location is a challenge...but you have cab connectivity to the train station...

If you have business in NY... but want to save money...this is the best place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
26
29
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Since I had previously stayed at another Candlewood Suites property that was just so-so, I didn't expect much from my stay at the Candlewood in Secaucus. However, I'm pleased to say I was pleasantly surprised. In comparison to the room at the Jersey City property, which was very dated, the decor at the Secaucus property is nicely updated with wood flooring at the entry way, modern appliances and countertops in the kitchen and bathroom and comfortable bedding. The studio unit wasn't very large, yet it was very comfortable. They did provide toiletries, which was unexpected and everything was very clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I can't believe it's only ~100$ per night. In Manhattan, it starts at 3 times that price and rooms aren't very clean. The hotel is new and clean. We went there to visit New York and it's only at 15 min from Time Square by train. They pay taxi to go to Secaucus Junction (train station) from 6 to 9 AM and from 5 to 8 PM. Taxi is 7$ if you're outside this range. Train is 8$ round trip to Penn Station. They clean the room once a week and there are even BBQ's outside. Room is fully equiped to make food. Really a great place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuffsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Room was ok, carpet was a little dirty, has a kitchen, free internet, free laundry, free parking.
Toilet didn't work properly. Everything was fine until we had to experience the ridiculous rudeness of the guy working/owning this property. We will NEVER go back there again. NEVER! Spending lots of money there just to be treated VERY rudely!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypreciouskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Good Afternoon,

I'm the General Manager for Candlewood Suites and recently came across your review. I would like to first sincerely apologize for your unsatisfied stay at our hotel and any inconvenience this may have caused you.I would like to speak with you , if possible, about your experience more in depth. This will allow me the opportunity to determine the cause and correct the situation. We strive for our guests 100% satisfaction so I'm not only shocked but highly concerned about your entire experience with us.

Again, my sincere apologies and I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My best friend and I took a 7 day trip of a lifetime to New York City but on the day we were due to return home to UK the Icelandic Volcano ash caused the airports to close. The Hotel we had booked in New York (which we were not happy with as unclean and unfriendly) charged an extortionate price for us to remain there and my friend and I took a chance on moving to New Jersey Candlewood Suites in Secaucus for the remaining 6 days until we could fly home.

I can not praise the staff (thank you especially to Jarrett) who could not help us enough, my friend has multiple sclerosis and was struggling we were both exhausted and the cleanliness, the praticalities, the peace and quiet and amenites available helped us to feel much more safe and secure. We were given great guidance by the hotel team.

The shuttle to the train station was simple - the train journey (one stop) to NYC simple, taxi drivers and people of New Jersey wereall really helpful and lovely to us.

We would thorougly recommend a stay at this hotel - in fact if we return to New York City again we will opt to stay out of the City and in this hotel, it states it is like a home from home and we would totally agree, that is how it felt to us.

Thank you Candlewood - it is an excellent hotel and team.

Sally Hall and Mandy Wiggins.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Our room was absolutely spotless! We opted to stay at this hotel whilst visiting New York to get away from the busy city and restaurant food for 4 days - the hotel is self-catering. Great stay if you intend to do some shopping, as there are shopping outlets which are approximately a 15 minute brisk walk/less than 5 minute drive. We had some problems with hot water on the first day and this issue was resolved within 12 hours. If using public transport, the hotel is quite secluded from local amenities and its morning shuttle only operates 6-9am between the hotel and Seacaucus station. The laundry facility and bbq area are a plus. The manager is so friendly and staff very promt in addressing any requirements we had. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We are currently 1 week into a month+ long stay at the hotel and our experience has been wonderful so far. The gym and free laundry were a big plus, especially knowing we would have a long stay, compared to other facilities we looked at. We were also happy to be able to bring our pet. The front desk staff, especially Jarrett, have been knowledgable about the area and the property and always eager to help and make our stay as pleasant as possible. We were advised that the furniture (except the desk) is moveable- which really went a long way to allowing us to make the room work better for long-term needs. We are also very happy with the cleanliness of our room and of the facility as a whole. Overall, we would definately recommend Candlewood, especially for a long-term stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huds0nc0unty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
1.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Property: Candlewood Suites Secaucus
Address: 279 Secaucus Rd, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing