We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Checked in late at night and nobody at the front desk. Someone doing the laundry eventually showed up after I had to call the front desk. I get the keys after the longest check-in ever and go to the room to find it stinks of cigarettes. I reserved a non-smoking room but did not get it. Of course it was the only room available, so I left and had to find a new hotel at 3:30 in the morning. Do not stay at this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ernesto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our hotel. Given Extended Stay's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your experience wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.
I do appreciate the opportunity to reply to your concern. Unlike traditional hotels, many of our guests leave their departure date open or extend their stay at the last minute. Although we manage our hotel in such a way that is intended to account for these contingencies, in very rare cases it becomes difficult to ensure room availability. For that reason, we list your bed/smoking preference on your reservation but are unable to guarantee it. I can assure you that we do make every effort to honor your request and in almost every case we are able to do just that.
Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 259 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Overall, a very disappointing stay.

Began with arriving early at the hotel (11AM). The room was ready but hotel policy dictates that you cannot check in before 3PM unless you pay early check-in fee of $50. Of course, I did not pay (who would) and waited until 3PM to get the room (which again, was just sitting there empty and ready).

Once in the room, couldn't help but be disappointed from the renovation. If this is how the room looks after renovation, I'm feel sorry for those who stayed there before the renovation. Not that the room wasn't clean, but just felt cheap.

Bottom line, if you're in town for just a night or two, pay the few extra bucks (which unfortunately I did not) and stay in a more classy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.
While I get the impression from reading your survey that your room was, in fact, clean, I was sorry to read that you were not pleased with the improvements we recently made to our facility.
Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed from 17/08/2012, check in was a breeze, staff was friendly and welcoming. AS we opening the door to the room, the smelled stale and the bathroom smelled worse. The sheets looked as if they had not been changed as they had stains on them as well as the pillows. Asked for others sheets and we were advised of the extra sheets in the room that were not any different from the ones on bed

Day two: getting up to make our breakfast, The micro wave in the room did not work and one side of stove top was not functionally and to make it worse if you had the AC on, the other one as well was not functional, called the front desk more than 3 times, the third time they advised us that they would send someone to look into the matter, but no one came to check on anything. I went down to the front desk 6 hours later and was advised the same thing

Day three: all the problems from day two were still the same, at which point we decided to leave the hotel and checked into another hotel

My overall experience, totally disappointed and would never stay at the hotel ever again

Only pro about staying at the hotel was the drive to NY, so close, other than that not worth the money at all

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.
The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.
We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.
Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed in this location 3 times in the recent past and the staff there has been professional and courteous. The location is convenient and the price is extremely competitive versus the rest of the places in the area. The stadium, the outlet malls and restaurants are all easy to get to from this location. The rooms are clean and have all of your essentials. They accomodated my early check in request with no issue at all and were extremely flexible with my schedule. I will stay again for sure. ...Trev

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TVSilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so very much for your loyalty to Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands, and for taking time out of your schedule to write such wonderful things about your experience at our hotel. We are committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, and getting feedback like yours tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I am so glad that you were pleased with the service we provided, as well as the cleanliness of our hotel, as we take a great deal of pride in both.
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Helpful Staff. Nice Room with a kitchen. I missed the breakfast buffett which was free. Room temparature was a slight problem. They accomodated my late checkout request. Has a dunkin, wendys, italian place and a subway near by(walkable). I would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSoaringEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write a review of your experience at Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands. I am so glad to read that you found our staff helpful. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was the worst night ever for me and my family. When we came for our reservation she didnt want to give us a double bed. She was so rude and discusting and actually harassed me when I asked her for the wifi password. It seemed it was a personal problem with just us. I told her that im going to corportate to complain on you and she says in exact words DO WHATEVER THE HELL YOU WANT! Unbeliviable I cant believe that people like that are hired to deal with guests. Her name was Deokee. It doesnt end there when I went to front desk I showed her the sign Free WIFI cause she wanted to charge me for wifi, she throws the sign towards me cause she was so angry. Got it all video taped on my cell phone. This is going to corporate for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashk1146290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.
I do appreciate the opportunity to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described. I truly understand your aggravation and the inconvenience you experienced. The circumstances you have detailed are, of course, unacceptable and highly regrettable. It is our goal to provide a pleasant and relaxing environment where our guests can feel at home when they’re away from home. And we recognize that in order to achieve that goal, we must provide outstanding service.
It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Love the new rooms great beds counters tv most of all the high new matresses clean comfortable I will stay here again good location has new bbq grill in the back of hotel which is great for summer pet friendly love it because I have a dog all the homestead and extended stay hotels should look like this one

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotgirl916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish a review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Secaucus – Meadowlands. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our recent renovations were yet another example of this investment, and I am thrilled to know that you liked them so much.
It would, of course, be our pleasure to host you and your dog again in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
725 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 1 Meadowlands Pkwy, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range: $115 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Extended Stay America-Secaucus, you will be checking into a clean and quiet hotel. A room that has a well-equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, microwave, 2 stove top burner, coffee maker, utensils, pot and pan. We do offer FREE Wi-Fi internet and a coin operated laundry facility located on site. We also offer FREE Grab n Go breakfast. In the back of the hotel there is a bbq grill, walk way, a great river view, and right across from the river the view of Met-Life (Home of the NY Giants and NY Jets). Conveniently across the street there is a Italian Restaurant, Subways, Dunkin Donuts, and Amazon Cafe. Less than half a mile down the road there are outlet malls ranging from Burlington Coat Factory, Gucci, Kenneth Cole, Sunglass Outlet, and more. Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Extended Stayamerica Secaucus Meadowlands
Extended Stay Secaucus
Secaucus Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing