We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Stay for New York work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The USP of this extended Stay hotel is that the location is not amidst any great attraction or amenities and thus the price is reasonable compared to standards around NYC. There is a bus service which operates (from) right in front of the hotel and terminates at the NYC Bus Terminus. Quite a relief from changing over bus / trains and ferries to reach Manhattan from other budget places.

I was there on a month long business trip and liked the quaint atmosphere of the hotel especially the river that flows by in the backyard. There is also a Subway and a few utility shops near by (walking distance).

Please note that if you have missed the last bus from NYC to reach this hotel then you might have your taxi backup plans ready as there are quite a few cabs who would not want to come to this far in odd hours and the nearest train station is quite far away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earn2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 268 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I spent a night here when we went to Times Square for New Years. We booked this hotel because of the price and location. It would have cost us much more if we got a hotel in NYC for New Years so we booked here. It was a pretty short train ride from this hotel to NYC. The area of the hotel is industrial so it isn't that nice on the eyes but there was places to eat and a movie theatre not far away. The hotel was average but clean which was important. No gym or pool but it had kitchenette since it's meant for extended stays. The staff was helpful to give directions on how to get to NYC and places to eat near by. If I need to go to NYC again I would use this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was working in NYC and had my parents stay there for 3 weeks. it was nice .. easy to commute and pleasent stay. Will recommend if you need a decent place near NYC

Room Tip: Good one for family and those who need to commute to NYC.. transit options are plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vivekjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I visited this place in Dec 09 - Feb 10 sadly the drop down is not allowing me to select that!

To start with - this was my first trip to US and I will suggest people like me to choose a more hospitable place. The idea of paying upfront before entering the rooms was not a very comfortable option to me especially when I booked for two long months. So let me put the pros and cons first:

Pros:
1. Some (just some) of the staff can be really helpful.
2. They can give you wonderful deals if you stay for a long time.
3. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can catch buses to New York on weekdays.
4. The view of the river at the back of the hotel is fantastic.
5. There is a wine shop and Burger King awfully close by.

Cons:
1. Staff is mostly rude and impolite.
2. No ATM in walking distance - don't know how much it matters to you it did matter a lot to me.
3. Very far from the nearest Wal Mart which I needed to frequent for grocery supplies.
4. Pretty far from the city center.
5. You will get buses only in working days - on weekend and holidays its a 10 mins walk.
6. No option of a gym/exercise studio.

Despite of all these I loved the desolation and the walks to the bus stand or city centre. Some of the staff were really helpful whom I managed to talk/chat till my heart's content. Its definitely one of the cheapest places to stay and if saving money is your top priority - look no further.

Room Tip: Please book in advance and mention the duration you will be staying for the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinakiRDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Best Place to stay, easy to commute to NYC ...Midtown is only 15 minutes from here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vrsuresh2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have stayied in this hotel in several occasions since 2004 (2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011). One or two weeks everytime.

I like the possibility of cooking a late evening meal, the existance of a refrigerator, toaster, coffe machine.

The rooms have space for all my needs and comfort.

Also there is a bus stop in front of the hotel and the 129 bus can take you to Manhattan Port Authority in about 15 minutes.

Plenty parking space for the ones that like to have a car to explore the several places and shoppings in New Jersey - like me.

Also close buy ( 7 minute driving) there is a Best Buy, Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Walmart, Home Depot, etc.

Secaucus Juction train station requires a 5 minute driving, there is parking and a ticket to Manhattan will cost you US$16 round trip.

Walking distance to Dunkin Donughts, liquor store, etc.

The hotel soroundings are not very pleasant, mostly undevelopped area, but not disgusting either.

Front desk clerk Carmen is an outstanding and helpful person.

In all, AN EXCELENTE CHOICE !
.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmagalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The price could have been right if: The bed had a matress pad instead of a pad. The dishes had to be washed before we were able to use them. The carpet was very stained and dirty. I asked for decaf coffee, they didn't have any. But didn't tell me I could get it in the vending machine. Help was very inexperienced. Was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
cdomin4291@aol.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9grandchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
1.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 1 Meadowlands Pkwy, Secaucus, NJ 07094-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range: $109 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Extended Stay America-Secaucus, you will be checking into a clean and quiet hotel. A room that has a well-equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, microwave, 2 stove top burner, coffee maker, utensils, pot and pan. We do offer FREE Wi-Fi internet and a coin operated laundry facility located on site. We also offer FREE Grab n Go breakfast. In the back of the hotel there is a bbq grill, walk way, a great river view, and right across from the river the view of Met-Life (Home of the NY Giants and NY Jets). Conveniently across the street there is a Italian Restaurant, Subways, Dunkin Donuts, and Amazon Cafe. Less than half a mile down the road there are outlet malls ranging from Burlington Coat Factory, Gucci, Kenneth Cole, Sunglass Outlet, and more. Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Extended Stayamerica Secaucus Meadowlands
Extended Stay Secaucus
Secaucus Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing