We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Two rooms on PL, rooms old, worn and not clean, checked the bed, next a.m found bug on bedspread took to front desk, YEP bedbugs, moved us to another room, then we went to another hotel. There were alot of people there, bus etc. Great Location, but Bedbugs, never again :(

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

Location is very good.Close to NYC and busstop just outside the hotel.Close to shopping and restaurants.
Other then that donot expect anything.
Rooms are dirty,bathrooms outdated and has a sliding door with a lock that never works.Only limited channels on TV.Bed is uncomfortable.Sheets dont look neat and crisp at all.All the furnitures are old and smelly.
No breakfast provided.Just coffee and juice are provided all day long.
Laundry room is decent.
Few staff members (front desk and cleaning crew) are good.
They failed to inform me that my lost baggage had arivved from the airport and i had to keep following with the airline,airline transportation company and i had to finally track it down to them.Even after that they didnt know where they had kept it and took more than a week after i vacated to get it back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

the rooms are not clean, some of them stink, no breakfast served in the morning, many of the staff members are rude.. house keeping misbehaved, only Rick was a sensible person here ... rest all the staff members threw attitude as if they were doing a favour ...

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitormysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed in a deluxe studio with 2 queen beds on the ground floor opposite the pool. Unfortunately, the pool was being painted while we were there so it was not in use.
The room was clean except for a whiff of urine emanating from the bathroom. It looked like the toilet had been leaking at one point and the old caulking had absorbed the smell. Easy fix for the hotel, just peel off the old caulk and recaulk it. Suggested it - whether they do it or not is another matter.
Being on the ground floor facing a major roadway, we thought the highway noises might be an issue but that was not the case. Room was quite quiet. The bed was very comfortable so I slept like a baby.
Location was fabulous for getting into Manhattan being two bus stops from Port Authority Bus Terminal. Bus fare was $6.10 return.
Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was very convenient to access.
There is a Starbucks and a Dunkin Donuts a short walk away from the hotel for those with a caffeine addiction.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guppy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and well presented. Needed items were in the kitchenette. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and had a very enthusiastic attitude. I was impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

This was a great hotel , with wonderful access to manhattan. The room was very spacious and had a great full kitchen. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly from the moment we checked in. I could not beleive how close it was to the city and how easy it was to get there i had never ridden the bus before and the front desk person suggested we not drive and just take the bus, she gave us a schedule and we walked out the front door of the hotel, caught the bus ,$3.15, the bus was very clean and suprisingly nice, it has a special lane into the city and 15 minutes later they dropped us off at Times Square, it was amazing how easy it was, went back to the same place and they dropped us off at the front door of the hotel. When we went to check out the next morning the front desk person told us we could leave our car for free while we stayed a couple of days in the city, for free!! This was the icicng on the cake, we usually drive to the city and get in late and stay in new jersey for one night and then stay in the city. We would definitely stay here again the next time we go and would recommend this to anyone, and honestly you could stay here for a fraction of the cost of staying in nyc and be just as convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rh1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-PWY, Manager - SEC at Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Homestead Secaucus - Meadowlands. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Additionally, you can always book the best rate on nearly 700 hotels across the U.S. and in Canada on our website. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Located in a nice area, easy commuting to the NY city as the Bus stop is right in front of the hotel and takes about 20 min to reach the city. The only one and the biggest problem we faced was lack of hygiene inside the room. The room was extremely dirty and the bath rooms....I really have no words to describe. The shower curtains and the tub had fungus building up. When we asked about housekeeping, we were told that housekeeping is done once a week and if we wanted to get it cleaned up immediately we had to pay for the service. I don't understand how can they not clean up the room before a new guest checks-in???

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freelance1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Secaucus - Meadowlands
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area

Address: 1 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3603 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Secaucus Meadowlands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range: $135 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Secaucus Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Homestead Secaucus
Homestead Suites Secaucus
Extended Stay America Secaucus
Secaucus Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing