We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Penthouse rooms by the beach side!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Motor Lodge

Island Beach Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Beach Motor Lodge
Save
You added Island Beach Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Penthouse rooms by the beach side!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just before rates got raised for the summer season. We had the PH suite on the side of the building but still had a wonderful view of the ocean! The rooms here are a bit outdated and could use some renovation but we were fine and comfortable. Our PH had a full kitchen and refrigerator so we had two other families come over one morning and we made full breakfasts for 6 adults and 6 kids and there was enough room for everyone to relax and enjoy the view from our "living room" and balcony over looking the ocean.

Our kids and friends' kids enjoyed the pool which was heated ( a little too heated, but not complaining!). The place is only 5-10 min drive to the boardwalk with all the riff-raff but this place is a quiet place from all that but close enough if you want to go. Our kids love going to the boardwalk for the arcade games. We went to Bum Rodgers Crab Shack for dinner twice and though the service was SUPER slow to get our food, the food was very yummy and satisfying. The crabs dinner was huge and I'm craving it now.

We stayed in a regular room a couple of seasons ago and I would recommend upgrading to the PH rooms for sure. Living room, dining area, kitchen, bath and a full bedroom. There a pull out couch as well in the living room (though really thin mattress and not very comfortable). Our 2 little kids ended up taking the bedroom since they sleep earlier than we do and we got the pull-out! (Oh my back!). There's also a single recliner chair in front of the tv which looked more comfortable than it was. Super itchy fabric on the recliner and who knows how many skins cells are embedded in that scratchy fabric!

The floors in the living room are tile so it was easy to sweep up and no icky carpet to feel grossed out about.

The easy access to the beach is wonderful! Such a gorgeous weekend and we could easily go back to the room to get cold snacks and drinks from our refrigerator!

Would absolutely go back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flipinflix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I can't tell you how old the mattresses are, so old my daughter refused to sleep on it without a beach towel on top, they were very dirty and disgusting. It is sad that this could be a top rate motel but they refuse to pay for any renovations. the carpets are filthy, the bathroom had hair all over it and the vents are filled with hair. I wish I could love this place but they don't ever renovate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjcat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaside park, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago. It was last minute so we could not get top floor suite with balcony. Even though it is not a luxury hotel, it was one of our favorite trips ever. Steps from private beach, next to island beach state park. Bars and restaurants right across the street. If you want to stay in seaside park, stay here. Book early so you can get bigger room. Great staff. Friendly and clean. Very reasonably priced. Wish I were going again this year!

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for second floor efficiency with private balcony. Even if you are just a couple. Sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonger_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I are fans of visiting the shore in the off season. Less crowded. Prices are much better. We've stayed at this hotel many times, and will continue to do so. It is clean, the people who run are are extremely friendly and accommodating, and they have a private beach. Dawn works in the office and is very friendly and pleasant. She is a pleasure to speak with whether you are calling to make a reservation, or in person. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There are two restaurants / bars right across the street that we love to frequent. If you are looking for a simple weekend getaway in the off season, this is definitely the place to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danidee716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was ok! Room was clean and comfortable! Parking and access to the rooms is not the best, if it were busy it would be a real mess. It was said it was a private beach but every time I tried to go fishing there were so many locals parked on the street end and on the beach fishing I had to pay to go into the Park to find a place to fish. They may enforce it for swimming but definitely not for fishing. Except for the people at Betty and Nicks Bait and Tackle most of the locals were not very friendly. You got the feeling they would like to see you leave!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed at this motel many times. If you're looking for a 4 star motel, this isn't the one. However, consider these points:
1. This motel is right on the beach - a few steps to a private beach with an unobstructed view of Island Beach State Park.
2. This motel is clean. You never get the usual damp and musty smell at most shore motels.
3. You can walk to several great bars and restaurants (Ebby's for breakfast and lunch; Bum Rogers (most improved in the last few years), Berkeley Fish Market.
4. But most of all - the ladies who work in the office are terrific. They try to help you with all your requests. They are terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband (Mike) & I (Barbara) have traveled from North Jersey to stay at this motor lodge for many years. We enjoy the beach, atmosphere and staff here. As a matter of fact, there is one person that always makes my day when we get there. Her name is Dawn she is the receptionist at the motel. She is a pleasure to speak with on the phone & in person. She is informative on local events, restaurants or just local place to hang out. She takes the time to speak with you as she's answering the phone, making reservations and making you feel welcomed as she attends to it all.. Take time to meet Dawn I'm sure you'll feel the same way. It's the people (Dawn) that makes you want to come back....Can't say enough about 'er....:) C U Soon.... The Kelly's

Room Tip: I always want the 2nd story rooms b/c balconys face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 555none
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
12.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#3 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Motor Lodge

Property: Island Beach Motor Lodge
Address: 24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Island Beach Motor Hotel Seaside Park
Island Beach Hotel
Island Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing