We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Summer family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Motor Inn

Windjammer Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windjammer Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Summer family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My famiy and I have spent a few wonderful weeks in Seaside, the Windjammer is a lock from the Ocean, you cannot eat the location. The family who owns it are very nice and willing to help you with whatever you need. Whle the Motel is old and the rooms are old, they are clean, which for me is most important.

This year we are just trying to get over Hurricane Sandy. I hope and pray, that the Windjammer is still there, as well as other businesses are in good shape.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our family has enjoyed staying here for the last 30 years for our yearly family vacation to Seaside Park, NJ. This family owned and operated business will make your family feel like you are a part of their family. The one block walk to the beach is one of the wonderful things about the Windjammer. Walking distance of one or two blocks from restaurants, liquor stores, clothing stores and the bakery. A five minute drive to the boardwalk. Morning breakfast is always good on the second floor of the motel. You will also enjoy happy hour or lunch on the outdoor deck overlooking the outdoor, always clean, large pool. The pool has plenty of lounge and upright chairs. The rooms are a nice size for a family of four and always clean. The housekeeping staff is friendly and does a good job cleaning your room. The Windjammer is a great place for the young, old, parents with children or business travelers. The staff will make you feel welcome and will do whatever it takes to make you want to come back. Rooms have refrigerators which is a plus. Great place that will make your shore trip memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You cannot beat the prices or the location. But that is only a part of what makes the Windjammer a great place to stay. It all starts with the owners, Joe and Frank., They could not be more hospitable. if you need it, and they can get it, than you've got it. I had a great conversation with Joe (over a couple of drinks) his brother Frank, who is much more sedate, waited until 3 AM to check myself and my family in..He stayed up to make sure that I was greeted before I went to my room. Somebody, anybody tell me when that have had that experience.!!!
The bar was a great combination of locals and vacationers, everyone blended together, talking, drinking and singing.Kenny the bartender, kept his eyes moving and the service flowing entertaining everyone..
The bedrooms are older, but clean and comfortable, I am sure if you are willing to spend 5 times what the Windjammer charges you would probably get a more modern room.;I hardly think its worth it.
The breakfast was plentiful and reasonable, served with a smile. The staff must have learned from, or are related to the owners.
Vacation at the Jersey shore is a special and nostalgic trip for me(and many others) The Windjammer understands that and provides a memorable and caring experience, Go there, you won't be sorry.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I visited this hotel last weekend and even though we had a great time Im not sure if we would ever go back. Our rooms were so old looking, the drawers would fall if you pulled them too far, the handles kept falling, I found old toys that didn't belong to my daughter when checking under the bed before we left. The carpet was old and dirty but to their credit the beds were really comfortable, our fridge worked great and the water pressure in the shower was good. I also have to say we had a great time at the pool, the bar on the second floor was fun, but we went to the restaurant for breakfast and after 20 minutes waiting we had to leave because no one even approached us to let us know why they weren't sitting people even though the dining room was half empty.
This hotel is just plain average and really need a make over, but is also a lot cheaper than other very bad hotels around the area, so after all I guess is best to stay here than to spend double at another place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Family owned and operarted for years. Great people and excellent staff trough out the lodge. Food is EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!!!! One block from the beach is perfect too. Right in the perfect location for any and all entertainment and fun. They really make you feel at home and won't be going anywhere else for years to come.

Room Tip: Just bring the family and the rest will fall in place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagneymathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is old and very worn out. The beds need to be updated because they were extremely uncomfortable. I would rather sleep in a tent on the ground. The pool was ok, not very clean though . I think they need to update the beds and revamp the furniture maybe I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjcat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Windjammer is a great place to stay. My family has been coming here for years. The rooms are clean with friendly and accommodating staff. It has a fun atmosphere. It is in a great location. Walking distance to stores and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powerhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Park
10.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
0.9 mi away
Charlroy Motel
Charlroy Motel
#4 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Desert Palm Inn
Desert Palm Inn
#7 of 7 in Seaside Park
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna-Mar Motel
Luna-Mar Motel
#5 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Motor Inn

Property: Windjammer Motor Inn
Address: 100 SE Central Ave, 1st & Central Ave, Seaside Park, NJ 08752-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windjammer Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Windjammer Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing