We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Waits.”
Review of Bum Rogers

Bum Rogers
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Seaside Park
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bum Rogers, spanning five decades, has been a unique, specialty house restaurant and the communal, spirit-lifting watering hole of the indigenous and migrating young and young-at-heart.We, the Bum Rogers Family and staff, continue to be dedicated to the proposition that you came to this place to have a good time, eat heartily, and depart feeling better than before.
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Long Waits.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Don't get me wrong, I am a Jersey Girl and I don't mind waitng for a table, but I do mind waiting extra long for the food once it is ordered. The food was good, and abundant but two hours for appetizers and dinners to be served for three is too long to wait, after a 45 minute wait for a table. I cannot understand restaurants anymore, why they do not accept reservations, only for 5 or more, I will go back but after the summer season.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    77
    53
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lunch is not on the menu”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stopped by for lunch today only to find the lunch menu was the dinner menu.The prices have increased since my last visit. The lobster bisque was delicious, although the crab tasted as if it were canned. The crab cake was okay, I can make better. We were the only ones there for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still a good shore meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I haven't been here in 15 years and was happy to feel the same vibe. Sunday live music was good. The catch of the day with scallops was cooked just right. Don't order steak at a seafood place - surf and turf was way overcooked and expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Motel staff recommended this place & I was GLAD!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was in the mood for seafood & a beer.... desk clerk recommended going "over the bridge" to Bum Rogers. Lots of cars indicated a good choice from the outside. Inside, I sat at the bar because I was eating alone. People were friendly (I got an offer for free parking this weekend while visiting the shore from a local). Staff took their time getting my order (maybe because I was alone?)- but it was great once I got their attention! I had the steamed lobster, potatoes, corn & slaw (very little if any dressing on the slaw) which was an impressive choice! A great treat for this NC girl... along with an ice cold $3 Heinekin draft! YUM! I'll be back for more....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

When the kid approves it's worth it! Can't go wrong when an 8 yr old barrels through mussels and clams like crazy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bum Rogers also viewed

Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing