We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicy's Mexican Cantina

Spicy's Mexican Cantina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had been here a few years before and thought it was overpriced and average food. We had a gift certificate we have been holding for over 1 year, so we decided to give it a try again. The renovations since the storm hit are very nice. We sat upstairs near the balcony. My table was wobbly and the air conditioner or some type of vent above was periodically dripping down fluid right next to me and sometimes on me if the wind was right. The food is still average. Dry rice and super salty food. The drinks were good. I wish this place didn't take for granted that they will always have business because of their location, and spent a little time on quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    49
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willingboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hot & Spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Second story restaurant with a balcony overlooking the boardwalk. Fast service with friendly servers. Fresh ingredients, flavorful food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gfaperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Service was great and clean. The food was served quickly regardless of the amount of people inside. Reasonable prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok for quick eats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Prices are ok and the food is okay. We ate at the bar, there is a Mex food restaurant upstairs. We ate upstairs last time and it was good but seemed pricey. Good service at the bar

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VV140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level Contributor
142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“much better -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I usually dislike this restaurant - but the kids were off at the beach and my husband said lets try it - since the hurricane. Well i was pleasantly surprised. The menu has changed a bit - and I enjoyed the spicy wings and nacho platter. I had a lovely sangria that was just right. This place has greatly improved - and now I would go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mishy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy's Mexican Cantina also viewed

Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Spicy's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing